We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a treat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montecito Sequoia Lodge

Save Saved
You added Montecito Sequoia Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   63410 General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633   |  
Hotel amenities
Ithaca, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“what a treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We spent three days at the Montecito Sequoia Lodge and loved every minute. Beautiful vistas, great activities, wonderful food (and all you can eat...) I thought it would be rustic so I brought shampoo and hair dryer - but no need. These are provided. Comfortable bed, plush bath towels. A great vacation spot for the active hiker or someone who likes to just take lovely walks in God's country.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    84
    24
    18
    25
See reviews for
131
84
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Very basic wooden lodges with very squeeky floorboards.
I don't know which was more surprised or frightened by the mouse hiding in the corner of our room.
Ignoring (if you can) the mouse the room and bedding was clean.
The price was inclusive of evening meal and breakfast, the food was buffet style and perfectly adequate and wholesome.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yarmouth, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

My husband and I spent one night here at the lodge. I'm not sure what I expected, but the lodge itself is old and very casual. The common areas, dining room and fireplaced activities room had a very casual feel, there were books on the shelves that you could borrow, board games, ping pong and foozeball. Everything was help yourself. We walked around outside and felt the grounds needed some attention. There was lots of debris and odd items scattered around, a general lack of organization. In all fairness, it was early spring and perhaps they hadn't done the spring clean-up yet. It had the feel of a camp with a variety of water craft and activities for the guests. There is an outdoor pool which was not open when we were there. The view from the front deck was amazing. Our room was upstairs in the main lodge. It had a king size bed and a bunk bed. The beds were covered with plaid quilts, a nice touch. The bed was comfortable and had nice bedding. Although the place is old, it was clean. I was surprised by the excellent quality of the toiletries! The food was included in the price. It was set up buffet style with self clean-up. The food was good with plenty of choices for both meat eaters and vegetarians. There was an hour set aside for each meal and as soon as the hour ended, they started to clear away any remaining food from the buffet. Sorry was the person who showed up late for a meal! Overall, it was well worth the price we paid, but I feel it is more suited to families.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Wonderful lodge, plenty of delicious food & drinks, friendly staff, lots of activities, convenient location for both Kings Canyon & Sequoia Park.

Strongly recommend, especially for families with kids!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

We had great fun at Motecito Sequoia! Plenty of activities (like sports, water activities, hiking, games...), beautiful lake, good food (3 meals included), very friendly stuff.
The rooms are OK, much or less what we expected.
Staying there was the best choice we made. Exceeded our expectations.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Very international crowd (surprising !) - Met people from Alaska to Israel, UK to Australia...Great place for families... Comfortable rooms... with king size bed and bunk bed; Lots of food choices and 24x7 availabilty of food and drinks (cereal, various types of bread, milk, coffee, etc). Lots of activities for kids including ping pong, train sets, fooseball, fun 2 hour camps; Lots of books and board games to borrow/check out. There is also a beautiful lake nearby and you can go boating with kids (just make sure you tell the front desk before you go and you put on life jackets!). The only small issue was the water pressure in the shower was not that great and the toilets did not seem to be cleaned 100% - usable, no odor, etc but not 100% clean. Also great smores and campfire in the evenings - friendly crowd!

Room Tip: Room 101 is the best - no question! Also 102 is an option if you don't get 101. Hard to locate h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I recently stayed at Montecito sequoia lodge with my husband and three children. We loved our stay! The room was comfortable and clean with a view of the mountains. There was plenty of food and it had a wide variety. Several members of our family are vegetarians and they also felt they had plenty to choose from. The staff were sweet and helpful without being too invasive. The kids loved the childrens activities. The setting was fabulous. I was able to walk several miles through the forest before breakfast, then we could easily drive to all the sequoia attractions for day trips. I can't wait to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Montecito Sequoia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montecito Sequoia Lodge

Also Known As:
Montecito Sequoia Hotel
Montecito Sequoia Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Address: 63410 General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Montecito Sequoia Lodge 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Rustic Mountain Lodge & Summer Family Camp located in Sequoia & Kings Canyon National Parks, California. Spectacular view of the Great Western Divide of the Sierra Nevada Mountains. Buffet Meals and seasonal activities included in room rate. All Lodge Rooms have private bath. Cabins have shared bathhouse. Open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo and Priceline so you can book your Montecito Sequoia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montecito Sequoia Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.