We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is the best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montecito Sequoia Lodge

Save Saved
You added Montecito Sequoia Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   63410 General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633   |  
Hotel amenities
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“This place is the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I recently stayed at Montecito sequoia lodge with my husband and three children. We loved our stay! The room was comfortable and clean with a view of the mountains. There was plenty of food and it had a wide variety. Several members of our family are vegetarians and they also felt they had plenty to choose from. The staff were sweet and helpful without being too invasive. The kids loved the childrens activities. The setting was fabulous. I was able to walk several miles through the forest before breakfast, then we could easily drive to all the sequoia attractions for day trips. I can't wait to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    98
    29
    20
    27
See reviews for
160
105
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

My wife made the reservation over the web and was worried the whole way there. When we arrived her concerns evaporated. Beautiful brand new "cabin" that was quiet and relaxing. It is more like a summer camp environment which means, wonderful for children, families. Their staff was wonderful and very accommodating. Only thing they may want to improve is how to get your luggage to the room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in our recent visit to USA from Melbourne, Australia. It was end of March 2013, chilly spring but beautiful blue skies. There were remnance of snow on the ground which adds to the dramatic scenery. We had a room overlooking the lake. What a beautiful lake. The room was rather small but it holds a queen size bed and two bunk beds although the bathroom was rather big in comparison. The decor was rustic country which was what I expect from a country lodge. What my wife and I loved about this place was the common room where we had breaky and dinner. There were lots of parents with children. It was a great place to bring children and most the kids were not staring at their ipads or iphones during meal times. They were toasting mashmallows at the fireplace. You can only get internet in the common room. The rate for the room includes all meals. The buffet meals were better than what I had in most hotels. There is a good chef working there. Although we did stay in many 5 star hotels in cities, I must say that we enjoyed staying here. From what I observed, it is best to book early. The place was full when we were there. By the way, both Google and Apple maps showed the wrong location. The difference is like 45 mins drive. It s best to come from the north which is the shorter distance.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The only good thing I can say, is mother nature rocks! The lake and surrounding area is beautiful. Our room had leak rot in the ceiling and walls. The lights in the hallway were out. The door at the top of the stairs was torn from it's hinges. The smoke alarm in the next room was chirping from low battery. The single heater made it impossible to close the door to any room, less you freeze that room. ZERO amenities. No mini fridge or TV, hair dryer... The food was beyond my belief. The meal for the night was room temperature chicken, with uncooked rice. You would think they could at least make coffee. Oh no. INSTANT COFFEE!!! This place is an absolute drive by only. No consideration should be given to stay here, EVER.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We have visited the lodge twice and are already planning our third visit. We have only stayed here in the winter and so cannot comment on what it is like in any other season. This place is a bit rustic, family friendly and a lot of fun! There was over five feet of snow on the ground during our first visit. We actually had to exit the park and drive all the way around to the north entrance in order to get here as the park roads were closed. We were told to check in with the park service at Grant Grove Village and wait for an escort to the lodge (only available twice a day when we were there in 2010).

The lodge was a winter wonderland when we arrived! The summer cabins were half buried in snow and everything was glistening white and beautiful! We stayed in the main lodge in a big room with bunk beds for the kids. Most of the rooms are big enough for families and all their stuff. Meals are included and are served cafeteria-style. the food is basic, plentiful and filling. Nothing fancy, but not bad (and with plenty of options for various diets and tastes). They have juice, water, coffee, tea and simple snacks like cookies and cereals out 24/7.

The main lodge has two massive rooms downstairs. One has the dining area, some comfy couches and a big fire place. The other has some additional tables for dining, more comfy couches and another big fire place as well as a foozball table and shelves filled with games and activities for kids.

Best of all, they have plenty of outdoor activities available free or at a very low cost. Sleds are free while cross country skis, snowboards and snow shoes can be rented for approx $15/day. They have counselors on staff who take the little kids out every day for sledding and hikes and then bring them back for games and snacks .. all free!

We had so much fun the first time, we came back the next winter with four other families. There was hardly any snow on the ground for the second trip, which was upsetting to us, but the new families had a great time. We are all planning on going back this winter (and hope to find snow on the ground once again).

From what I understand, they have even more activities in the summer, but beware as the prices go up dramatically that time of the year. Perhaps three times as much as in the winter.

Room Tip: Check the weather before visiting in the winter time. When the snow comes, it comes hard and road ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Just returned on Saturday, April 6. Our extended family--grandparents, parents and kids had a great time. Stayed in the main lodge in king bed rooms with bunk beds. Everything was comfortable, clean and well managed. Staff in the lodge and out around the camp were excellent, helpful, friendly and always willing to help make this a marvelous trip for all ages. Food was abundant and plentiful. Lots of choices for vegetarians and meat eaters alike. Great season to visit Sequoia and Kings Canyon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Make sure to enter the lodge from the northern route 180, this way you miss the multiple switch backs that may cause you gastric distress! The lodge is rustic and they really mean it that there is no TVs or phone service. It can be a little scary if someone needs to get in touch with you! Buffet style meals are served at designated times, you can get tea & coffee @ any time. Breakfast was much better than dinner, so bring snacks to munch on! Do not plan on purchasing wine or beer,they do not sell any, so bring it with you.
This is really a family spot, so it can get very noisy, they do have quiet time starting @ 10PM. There are many activities for the family.
The staff were extremely helpful in getting out of the park with an impending snow storm! They were a saving grace in getting out as the brochure the park guards give you say the road could be closed for a long time due to snow storms!!! Did not know this when making a reservation.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Montecito Sequoia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montecito Sequoia Lodge

Address: 63410 General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Montecito Sequoia Lodge 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Rustic Mountain Lodge & Summer Family Camp located in Sequoia & Kings Canyon National Parks, California. Spectacular view of the Great Western Divide of the Sierra Nevada Mountains. Buffet Meals and seasonal activities included in room rate. All Lodge Rooms have private bath. Cabins have shared bathhouse. Open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Montecito Sequoia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montecito Sequoia Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montecito Sequoia Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.