We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic, unpretentious..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montecito Sequoia Lodge

Save Saved
You added Montecito Sequoia Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   63410 General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633   |  
Hotel amenities
Oceanside
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Rustic, unpretentious..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Staff extremely friendly, food very good, hearty, with different menu each night, buffet style. 3 meals/day included in room rate! I don't see how they can do that. Also, they prepare bag lunches if you're on the road the next day. I took advantage of that several times.

Communal dining with big fireplace great for meeting people and enjoying conversation with fellow travelers from all over, families, singles, etc. Ping Pong, other games in game room, along with a very small wet bar, large flatscreen, addl dining tables.

Sun deck has great views of mountains, rest of compound's cabins, pool, etc. My main Lodge room was clean, private bathroom - walls are thin, so earplugs would be recommended which I always take on trips. Weren't too many guests in Oct, but I would imagine it could be a bit noisy with a lot of guests coming and going in the hallway. There is a landline available to all guests off lobby area. No phones in rooms.

It's in a good location near Kings Canyon and not too awfully far from Sequoia.

It's not luxurious, so don't expect that, rustic all the way! But, I would definitely return, it's a great deal and a very friendly experience.

Room Tip: If you choose a cabin, make sure to ask about heating - have to use firewood, wall heater, is bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    84
    24
    18
    25
See reviews for
131
84
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed at Montecito Lodge in late October this year. You could not ask for a better location for exploring Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks. We had three generations in our group- grandparents, parents and four young children. Everything from check-in to food to activities was professional, friendly and accommodating. The breakfast and dinner buffets were excellent; the salad bar was fresh and varied. The staff packed lunch for us daily which really helped in caring for the children. The two-bedroom Lakeview cottage was perfect for the young family, while the grandparents stayed in the main lodge. The whole experience was wonderful. During our stay we had a sudden and unexpected snowstorm. We weren't prepared insofar as clothing was concerned, and had to leave early. Management could not have been nicer about the situation. I most heartily recommend Montecito Lodge for visitors to Sequoia.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We accidently found the Montecito Lodge as we were driving through Sequoia National Park. It was late in the evening and we saw the sign for the lodge. We were surprised, but pleased that they had a room available. The second surprise was the lodge itself. If you want a 5star resort, keep driving. The check-in is located in a corner of the main dining area. The person that checked us in was very welcoming and advised us to eat immediately since they would quit serving in a few minutes. The food is served buffet style with most tables accommodating 8 to 12 people, very much “family style. The food was OK and you could get a nice glass of wine and good coffee. After eating, we finished checking in and went to our room. The room was basic but the bath had been recently renovated. The room was clean and comfortable.
We awoke the next morning to a couple of inches of snow. The buffer breakfast had a good variety and was very good for a complimentary breakfast. The room and meals were a great value. This lodge seems like a great place to bring your family for a vacation. For us, two people and one night, it was still an enjoyable experience in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I only wish we could have stayed longer. If people have a problem with this lodge, it is because they were expecting a hotel. For what it is, it was perfect ( well almost). When we checked in, there was a surprise awaiting us in the toilet (which made my wife curious whether the bathroom had been cleaned at all). The room was nothing special, but it had comfortable beds, and enough room for our family of 5 (2 in the bunk, and our 5 year old with us in the huge king-sized bed). There is no TV in the room- if you need a TV in your room, you shouldn't be going to a national park. There were lots of opportunities for good family time- we had smores around the campfire and played games in the common room downstairs, as did several other families that we saw there. The food was very good, plentiful, and included in the room charge. My kids eat cereal between almost every meal, and there were 8 varieties available 24 hours. I thought the rooms were clean, although a little spartan, but again I didn't expect to spend too much time in the room anyway. We also received excellent service form Rufio and another gentleman on Saturday morning (I didn't catch his name) They were very helpful with hiking routes as well as general information. If we get the chance to go back to the park, we'll definitely stay here the entire time we're in the park. The location is great and the views are amazing!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We had a very bad experience at Montecito Sequoia Lodge last summer.
First, it is very very expensive ($200 per night) for a very very basic room. No decoration, no nice atmosphere, outdated furniture, no maintenance (e.g. a broken electrical outlet with wires hanging out of the wall).
The service is really bad too. The dinner, which was included in the price, is served from 5.30 to 7 pm. We arrived at 7.30pm because nobody had told us that it was only until 7 when we made our reservation… There is no shop and no restaurant around, you cannot buy food anywhere… So we ended up with no solution, eating some chips we had bought the day before… Seriously, in a national park’s resort, dinner is served until 7 pm only??? I suppose many European tourists stay in this resort and we do not have dinner before 8-8.30pm in Europe! Even the Americans I know (I live in the US) do not have dinner so early!!!
The staff was not even helpful… Besides, we could hear from our room somebody in the staff room making really weird noises (Was he throwing up? Or evacuating mucus? I do not want to know but it was disgusting!!!).
The atmosphere of the hotel is not very nice, basically a backpackers hostel feeling (and yet, I have stayed in many backpackers hostel that were far nicer than this lodge!)
Seriously, this is the worst experience I have ever had in the US. We were so upset about having spent so much money for this! It almost ruined our week-end in this beautiful national park…

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I was totally excited to find that the price we paid was half off the week we visited! The room was spacious and clean. The water pressure was medium, but the water was hot. The meals were quite good and they fixed a brown bag lunch if you weren't there during lunchtime which was a nice surprise. We met some very fun people and had a fantastic time. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, California
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Just like others have written this is a great location to stay while in the park. We stayed on a Friday night. Made the reservation on line for a king bed room in the lodge. Check in is at 4:00 and we arrived at 3:40. We were told it would be a few minutes, then told it would be 10 minutes. About 45 minutes later we were told that the people in the room we were assigned to wanted to stay another night so they were still in the room and we would have to stay in an outer building with a queen bed, with no price adjustment for the room change. It wouldn't have been such a big deal if they(the two gals at the desk) would have been up front with us when we arrived but to drag it out and then tell us they gave our room away, just a little odd. Next, four people check in for lodge rooms and one couple get assigned to room 113. No way will she stay in a room with a 13 in the room number. So you guessed it,,,,we got the room 113.
This is a very casual place. The rooms could use some work, the shower head was either clogged or just in need of replacement. It took a while to rinse off and get the soap out of the hair.
Food was good,not for a week but for a few days. Breakfast is from 8:00-9:00 and everyone was waiting for it to brought out. Some people looked like they were just out of bed.
Wifi is off and on,there are no blow dryers in the bathrooms but it is nice to start the day out inside the park.

Room Tip: End rooms or rooms with King size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Montecito Sequoia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montecito Sequoia Lodge

Also Known As:
Montecito Sequoia Hotel
Montecito Sequoia Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Address: 63410 General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Montecito Sequoia Lodge 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Rustic Mountain Lodge & Summer Family Camp located in Sequoia & Kings Canyon National Parks, California. Spectacular view of the Great Western Divide of the Sierra Nevada Mountains. Buffet Meals and seasonal activities included in room rate. All Lodge Rooms have private bath. Cabins have shared bathhouse. Open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo and Priceline so you can book your Montecito Sequoia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montecito Sequoia Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.