We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome for families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montecito Sequoia Lodge

Save Saved
You added Montecito Sequoia Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   63410 General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633   |  
Hotel amenities
Reno, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“awesome for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I only wish we could have stayed longer. If people have a problem with this lodge, it is because they were expecting a hotel. For what it is, it was perfect ( well almost). When we checked in, there was a surprise awaiting us in the toilet (which made my wife curious whether the bathroom had been cleaned at all). The room was nothing special, but it had comfortable beds, and enough room for our family of 5 (2 in the bunk, and our 5 year old with us in the huge king-sized bed). There is no TV in the room- if you need a TV in your room, you shouldn't be going to a national park. There were lots of opportunities for good family time- we had smores around the campfire and played games in the common room downstairs, as did several other families that we saw there. The food was very good, plentiful, and included in the room charge. My kids eat cereal between almost every meal, and there were 8 varieties available 24 hours. I thought the rooms were clean, although a little spartan, but again I didn't expect to spend too much time in the room anyway. We also received excellent service form Rufio and another gentleman on Saturday morning (I didn't catch his name) They were very helpful with hiking routes as well as general information. If we get the chance to go back to the park, we'll definitely stay here the entire time we're in the park. The location is great and the views are amazing!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    143
    94
    26
    20
    27
See reviews for
149
99
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We had a very bad experience at Montecito Sequoia Lodge last summer.
First, it is very very expensive ($200 per night) for a very very basic room. No decoration, no nice atmosphere, outdated furniture, no maintenance (e.g. a broken electrical outlet with wires hanging out of the wall).
The service is really bad too. The dinner, which was included in the price, is served from 5.30 to 7 pm. We arrived at 7.30pm because nobody had told us that it was only until 7 when we made our reservation… There is no shop and no restaurant around, you cannot buy food anywhere… So we ended up with no solution, eating some chips we had bought the day before… Seriously, in a national park’s resort, dinner is served until 7 pm only??? I suppose many European tourists stay in this resort and we do not have dinner before 8-8.30pm in Europe! Even the Americans I know (I live in the US) do not have dinner so early!!!
The staff was not even helpful… Besides, we could hear from our room somebody in the staff room making really weird noises (Was he throwing up? Or evacuating mucus? I do not want to know but it was disgusting!!!).
The atmosphere of the hotel is not very nice, basically a backpackers hostel feeling (and yet, I have stayed in many backpackers hostel that were far nicer than this lodge!)
Seriously, this is the worst experience I have ever had in the US. We were so upset about having spent so much money for this! It almost ruined our week-end in this beautiful national park…

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I was totally excited to find that the price we paid was half off the week we visited! The room was spacious and clean. The water pressure was medium, but the water was hot. The meals were quite good and they fixed a brown bag lunch if you weren't there during lunchtime which was a nice surprise. We met some very fun people and had a fantastic time. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, California
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Just like others have written this is a great location to stay while in the park. We stayed on a Friday night. Made the reservation on line for a king bed room in the lodge. Check in is at 4:00 and we arrived at 3:40. We were told it would be a few minutes, then told it would be 10 minutes. About 45 minutes later we were told that the people in the room we were assigned to wanted to stay another night so they were still in the room and we would have to stay in an outer building with a queen bed, with no price adjustment for the room change. It wouldn't have been such a big deal if they(the two gals at the desk) would have been up front with us when we arrived but to drag it out and then tell us they gave our room away, just a little odd. Next, four people check in for lodge rooms and one couple get assigned to room 113. No way will she stay in a room with a 13 in the room number. So you guessed it,,,,we got the room 113.
This is a very casual place. The rooms could use some work, the shower head was either clogged or just in need of replacement. It took a while to rinse off and get the soap out of the hair.
Food was good,not for a week but for a few days. Breakfast is from 8:00-9:00 and everyone was waiting for it to brought out. Some people looked like they were just out of bed.
Wifi is off and on,there are no blow dryers in the bathrooms but it is nice to start the day out inside the park.

Room Tip: End rooms or rooms with King size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is an Lodge/Camp setting. We made a last minute side trip to Sequoia National Park. Called and made a reservation that afternoon. The room rate was very good and she said thet would include our dinner and breakfast...wow...We were happy with the room, simple be comfortable (camp style room, we had a knig bed) no TV which was really kinda nice. Internet did not really work and cell phone service is spotty at best, but they do have a phone guests can use (not a pay phone) which was nice. The food was really good, what a nice surprise. The staff was very friendly. If you don't mind a camp style setting this is a great place to stay. Will stay there again when we go back the the area. Recommened this place to my daughter for a family vacation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in October. Great value with all meals included. We stayed in main lodge in an end room overlooking the "lake" and parking lot. I would recommend asking for rooms 101 or 102 as those rooms are on the opposite side of the lodge with great views overlooking the mountains. Employees are all very nice. Great opportunity to meet and talk with fellow travelers but you can also keep to yourself if you like. Off season so no kids and mostly older guests, I imagine it is much different in summer and on holidays. We enjoy hiking and took advantage of their sack lunch everyday to take on the trail.

Room Tip: Rooms 101 and 102 have great views of mountains. We asked special for rooms on lake end of lodge on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at Montecito Sequoia for two nights while visiting the Sequoia forest. We had a really good stay here and it felt like a typical Dirty Dancing family vacation resort, which was pretty cool. The buildings and facilities are admittably quite basic and a bit dated, however it fits in nicely with the environment and provides for everything you need. It is really great value for money, as it includes ALL your meals. They also have soup and snacks available all afternoon, in case you miss lunch. Coffee, tea and soft drinks are also available throughout the day.

The staff were really friendly and the setting really nice by a small lake.

We travelled there as a couple and it should be noted that this is definitely a family resort so there are lots of kids - just be prepared. So it was not the quietest place we stayed at, as the walls were quite thin and guests were not all equally considerate in the passages.

Despite this, we still had a great stay and I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Montecito Sequoia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montecito Sequoia Lodge

Address: 63410 General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Montecito Sequoia Lodge 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Rustic Mountain Lodge & Summer Family Camp located in Sequoia & Kings Canyon National Parks, California. Spectacular view of the Great Western Divide of the Sierra Nevada Mountains. Buffet Meals and seasonal activities included in room rate. All Lodge Rooms have private bath. Cabins have shared bathhouse. Open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Montecito Sequoia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montecito Sequoia Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montecito Sequoia Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.