We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Area-Poor Check-in” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Montecito Sequoia Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Montecito Sequoia Lodge to your Saves list
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   63410 General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633   |  
Hotel amenities
California
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Beautiful Area-Poor Check-in”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Just like others have written this is a great location to stay while in the park. We stayed on a Friday night. Made the reservation on line for a king bed room in the lodge. Check in is at 4:00 and we arrived at 3:40. We were told it would be a few minutes, then told it would be 10 minutes. About 45 minutes later we were told that the people in the room we were assigned to wanted to stay another night so they were still in the room and we would have to stay in an outer building with a queen bed, with no price adjustment for the room change. It wouldn't have been such a big deal if they(the two gals at the desk) would have been up front with us when we arrived but to drag it out and then tell us they gave our room away, just a little odd. Next, four people check in for lodge rooms and one couple get assigned to room 113. No way will she stay in a room with a 13 in the room number. So you guessed it,,,,we got the room 113.
This is a very casual place. The rooms could use some work, the shower head was either clogged or just in need of replacement. It took a while to rinse off and get the soap out of the hair.
Food was good,not for a week but for a few days. Breakfast is from 8:00-9:00 and everyone was waiting for it to brought out. Some people looked like they were just out of bed.
Wifi is off and on,there are no blow dryers in the bathrooms but it is nice to start the day out inside the park.

Room Tip: End rooms or rooms with King size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    106
    30
    23
    27
See reviews for
175
117
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is an Lodge/Camp setting. We made a last minute side trip to Sequoia National Park. Called and made a reservation that afternoon. The room rate was very good and she said thet would include our dinner and breakfast...wow...We were happy with the room, simple be comfortable (camp style room, we had a knig bed) no TV which was really kinda nice. Internet did not really work and cell phone service is spotty at best, but they do have a phone guests can use (not a pay phone) which was nice. The food was really good, what a nice surprise. The staff was very friendly. If you don't mind a camp style setting this is a great place to stay. Will stay there again when we go back the the area. Recommened this place to my daughter for a family vacation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peotone, Illinois
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in October. Great value with all meals included. We stayed in main lodge in an end room overlooking the "lake" and parking lot. I would recommend asking for rooms 101 or 102 as those rooms are on the opposite side of the lodge with great views overlooking the mountains. Employees are all very nice. Great opportunity to meet and talk with fellow travelers but you can also keep to yourself if you like. Off season so no kids and mostly older guests, I imagine it is much different in summer and on holidays. We enjoy hiking and took advantage of their sack lunch everyday to take on the trail.

Room Tip: Rooms 101 and 102 have great views of mountains. We asked special for rooms on lake end of lodge on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at Montecito Sequoia for two nights while visiting the Sequoia forest. We had a really good stay here and it felt like a typical Dirty Dancing family vacation resort, which was pretty cool. The buildings and facilities are admittably quite basic and a bit dated, however it fits in nicely with the environment and provides for everything you need. It is really great value for money, as it includes ALL your meals. They also have soup and snacks available all afternoon, in case you miss lunch. Coffee, tea and soft drinks are also available throughout the day.

The staff were really friendly and the setting really nice by a small lake.

We travelled there as a couple and it should be noted that this is definitely a family resort so there are lots of kids - just be prepared. So it was not the quietest place we stayed at, as the walls were quite thin and guests were not all equally considerate in the passages.

Despite this, we still had a great stay and I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We booked last year in October and were hit by a sudden snow storm, so all activities were indoors. This year, same time, warm weather and a lot of fun!!! We have 2 teenagers and 2 toddlers. Little ones LOVED LOVED LOVED canoeing,playing tennis, ping pong, hiking, climbing rocks, add in instructors for archery and rock climbing along with board games and smores around the outdoor campfire and the 2 teens were having a blast. This may not be a 3 star hotel but it was clean and food was good for everyone. Would like to see them update though and make some minor room repairs.

Room Tip: Lodge rooms have ensuite bathrooms and there is no one above or below you..great if you have kids ru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is not a typical motel. This is not a typical resort. This is not a typical lodge-within-a-national-park. This is a summer camp as you might remember it from the '50s....only with campers of all ages. It's reminicent of family resorts in the Catskills in byegone eras. The overall effect is wonderfully warm and nostalgic, but if you really wanted a hotel, you will not be happy here.
We stayed in a 4 unit cabin. Definitely dated, and somewhat worn, although the bathroom was nicely upgraded. Beds were comfortable and the unit was clean. Lighting was dim, and a personal flashlight is a must. Finding enough power outlets was a challenge.
Meals are served all-you-can-eat buffet style in the dining hall, and there is 24 hour availabililty of beverages and snacks. These are all included in the lodging price. The food is simple, but very good, and lots of it. A small bar sells beer, wine, and mixed drinks for reasonable charges.
Since we were leaving before lunch, we opted to purchase box lunches to go. These were not up to the standard of the dining hall meals.
There is a large deck with a breathtaking view of mountain sunsets and more stars than you can see anywhere else. Lots of activities for kids, but the deck and the indoor fireplace lounge keep the adults happy in the evenings.
Wi-Fi is available only in the dining hall and is extremely slow. (maybe that's a hint to slow down and relax?)
We were happy campers and found this an excellent value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, Ca.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We were going to visit the Sequoia and Kings Canyon National parks. There are a smattering of facilities inside the park, but many were closed by October. The places outside the park are a really long drive (especially those in Three Rivers, because of the road construction at the south entrance). We booked this place with low expectations, and were pleasantly surprised.

Not fancy, but a great value for families with children. A lake with canoes, archery, riflery, s'mores at the campfire. The staff were very helpful. 3 meals included per day. If you're going hiking (and in the summer most folks are), they will make you a sack lunch for your hike. We came in late the first night (dinner was from 7-8 PM, and we arrived closer to 9:30), and the staff was willing to whip up some dinner for us anyway. The food was not gourmet, but generally well prepared and tasty, and lots of quantity if you're hungry. They make a space available in one of their coolers for lodgers. The dry goods part of the kitchen (and drinks dispensers) are on all the time.

Game room for the kids.

Pretty centrally located in the park, so you can get to Moro rock, or Grant's grove easily enough.

Not Ahwahnee fancy, but our room was clean, if a little tight.

Surprisingly enjoyable. Would go back.

Again, if you have younger children, this place would be great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Montecito Sequoia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montecito Sequoia Lodge

Address: 63410 General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Montecito Sequoia Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Rustic Mountain Lodge & Summer Family Camp located in Sequoia & Kings Canyon National Parks, California. Spectacular view of the Great Western Divide of the Sierra Nevada Mountains. Buffet Meals and seasonal activities included in room rate. All Lodge Rooms have private bath. Cabins have shared bathhouse. Open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Montecito Sequoia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montecito Sequoia Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montecito Sequoia Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.