We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique property and great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montecito Sequoia Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Montecito Sequoia Lodge to your Saves list
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   63410 General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633   |  
Hotel amenities
Peotone, Illinois
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Unique property and great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in October. Great value with all meals included. We stayed in main lodge in an end room overlooking the "lake" and parking lot. I would recommend asking for rooms 101 or 102 as those rooms are on the opposite side of the lodge with great views overlooking the mountains. Employees are all very nice. Great opportunity to meet and talk with fellow travelers but you can also keep to yourself if you like. Off season so no kids and mostly older guests, I imagine it is much different in summer and on holidays. We enjoy hiking and took advantage of their sack lunch everyday to take on the trail.

Room Tip: Rooms 101 and 102 have great views of mountains. We asked special for rooms on lake end of lodge on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    111
    30
    23
    27
See reviews for
178
122
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at Montecito Sequoia for two nights while visiting the Sequoia forest. We had a really good stay here and it felt like a typical Dirty Dancing family vacation resort, which was pretty cool. The buildings and facilities are admittably quite basic and a bit dated, however it fits in nicely with the environment and provides for everything you need. It is really great value for money, as it includes ALL your meals. They also have soup and snacks available all afternoon, in case you miss lunch. Coffee, tea and soft drinks are also available throughout the day.

The staff were really friendly and the setting really nice by a small lake.

We travelled there as a couple and it should be noted that this is definitely a family resort so there are lots of kids - just be prepared. So it was not the quietest place we stayed at, as the walls were quite thin and guests were not all equally considerate in the passages.

Despite this, we still had a great stay and I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We booked last year in October and were hit by a sudden snow storm, so all activities were indoors. This year, same time, warm weather and a lot of fun!!! We have 2 teenagers and 2 toddlers. Little ones LOVED LOVED LOVED canoeing,playing tennis, ping pong, hiking, climbing rocks, add in instructors for archery and rock climbing along with board games and smores around the outdoor campfire and the 2 teens were having a blast. This may not be a 3 star hotel but it was clean and food was good for everyone. Would like to see them update though and make some minor room repairs.

Room Tip: Lodge rooms have ensuite bathrooms and there is no one above or below you..great if you have kids ru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is not a typical motel. This is not a typical resort. This is not a typical lodge-within-a-national-park. This is a summer camp as you might remember it from the '50s....only with campers of all ages. It's reminicent of family resorts in the Catskills in byegone eras. The overall effect is wonderfully warm and nostalgic, but if you really wanted a hotel, you will not be happy here.
We stayed in a 4 unit cabin. Definitely dated, and somewhat worn, although the bathroom was nicely upgraded. Beds were comfortable and the unit was clean. Lighting was dim, and a personal flashlight is a must. Finding enough power outlets was a challenge.
Meals are served all-you-can-eat buffet style in the dining hall, and there is 24 hour availabililty of beverages and snacks. These are all included in the lodging price. The food is simple, but very good, and lots of it. A small bar sells beer, wine, and mixed drinks for reasonable charges.
Since we were leaving before lunch, we opted to purchase box lunches to go. These were not up to the standard of the dining hall meals.
There is a large deck with a breathtaking view of mountain sunsets and more stars than you can see anywhere else. Lots of activities for kids, but the deck and the indoor fireplace lounge keep the adults happy in the evenings.
Wi-Fi is available only in the dining hall and is extremely slow. (maybe that's a hint to slow down and relax?)
We were happy campers and found this an excellent value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, Ca.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We were going to visit the Sequoia and Kings Canyon National parks. There are a smattering of facilities inside the park, but many were closed by October. The places outside the park are a really long drive (especially those in Three Rivers, because of the road construction at the south entrance). We booked this place with low expectations, and were pleasantly surprised.

Not fancy, but a great value for families with children. A lake with canoes, archery, riflery, s'mores at the campfire. The staff were very helpful. 3 meals included per day. If you're going hiking (and in the summer most folks are), they will make you a sack lunch for your hike. We came in late the first night (dinner was from 7-8 PM, and we arrived closer to 9:30), and the staff was willing to whip up some dinner for us anyway. The food was not gourmet, but generally well prepared and tasty, and lots of quantity if you're hungry. They make a space available in one of their coolers for lodgers. The dry goods part of the kitchen (and drinks dispensers) are on all the time.

Game room for the kids.

Pretty centrally located in the park, so you can get to Moro rock, or Grant's grove easily enough.

Not Ahwahnee fancy, but our room was clean, if a little tight.

Surprisingly enjoyable. Would go back.

Again, if you have younger children, this place would be great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We were not expecting luxury because of the location (which was convenient), but it was down-hill from the beginning. We had asked for two rooms close together in Feb....when we arrived, one room was in the lodge and the other in a cabin. The room was VERY dirty as was the bathroom. There was very little light by which to read, etc. I would say that the service was not bad,....there was NO service. There were no glasses or ice buckets in the room When I asked for ice they said that would be $1. The food could have been nice since there was a good selection, but the meats, etc. were poorly prepared. The lunch they packed for us was very good and helpful. The staff's reply to everything was "you don' t understand." The people I observed enjoying themselves were families who could let their children have the run of the place. There seemed to be activities for the kids.All in all I would say that it was the worst place I have ever stayed.

Room Tip: After making reservations in Feb. we were surprised that our request for two room close together was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raleigh, nc
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This was my second stop on my 4 day ride thru California. I found this place on the internet and booked a single queen sized bed and bath room for my overnighter. Got there just in time for dinner which is INCLUDED and very nice. It was a small salad and hot food buffet with deserts and drinks. Was nice to sit at large tables and listen to or join in table conversation with other visitors. This is a rustic place in a rustic place and an excellent value family oriented resort. Breakfast in the morning was much the same as dinner the night before with plenty of solid comfort food that would stick to you for a day of hiking, biking or motorcycling. The staff were all very friendly and made me feel welcome. They went out of their way to help a fellow biker perform a minor repair to his bike before riding on. The views are captivating and sunrise was awesome. Picturesque lake for canoeing or fishing. For the value this was really hard to pass up and to have 2 full meals included sealed the deal and you are so close to other points in the park. Hope you enjoy it as much as I did. Peace2U.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Marmot Lodge, had my own bath, think the cabins may share a bath house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Montecito Sequoia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montecito Sequoia Lodge

Address: 63410 General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Montecito Sequoia Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Meals and seasonal activities included in the room rate: A Rustic Mountain Lodge & Summer Family Camp located in Sequoia & Kings Canyon National Parks, California. Spectacular view of the Great Western Divide of the Sierra Nevada Mountains. All Lodge Rooms have private bath. Cabins have shared bathhouse. Open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Montecito Sequoia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montecito Sequoia Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montecito Sequoia Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.