We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motorcycle Tour of The Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montecito Sequoia Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Montecito Sequoia Lodge to your Saves list
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   63410 General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633   |  
Hotel amenities
raleigh, nc
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Motorcycle Tour of The Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This was my second stop on my 4 day ride thru California. I found this place on the internet and booked a single queen sized bed and bath room for my overnighter. Got there just in time for dinner which is INCLUDED and very nice. It was a small salad and hot food buffet with deserts and drinks. Was nice to sit at large tables and listen to or join in table conversation with other visitors. This is a rustic place in a rustic place and an excellent value family oriented resort. Breakfast in the morning was much the same as dinner the night before with plenty of solid comfort food that would stick to you for a day of hiking, biking or motorcycling. The staff were all very friendly and made me feel welcome. They went out of their way to help a fellow biker perform a minor repair to his bike before riding on. The views are captivating and sunrise was awesome. Picturesque lake for canoeing or fishing. For the value this was really hard to pass up and to have 2 full meals included sealed the deal and you are so close to other points in the park. Hope you enjoy it as much as I did. Peace2U.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Marmot Lodge, had my own bath, think the cabins may share a bath house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    106
    30
    23
    27
See reviews for
175
117
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marshall, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed at the Montecito Sequoia Lodge in Sequoia & Kings Canyon Parks. The rooms were clean even though showing some wear. The staff was so friendly and helpful. Meals were buffet style and the food was plentiful and nutritious with fresh fruits and salads. They even fixed us a lunch for our day hiking so we wouldn't miss a meal. While the meals were pretty standard, where else can you sit and share a meal with people literally from all over the world? The kitchen was open to view and CLEAN! If you are going and expecting luxury, stay somewhere else. If you are looking for clean and affordable with an outstanding setting, then this is the place for you. The beds were reasonable comfortable, but the sleeping experience was not the best due to noise level from other rooms, but there was a fan in our room that provided some "white noise." The lodge is attempting to upgrade its image and I have a few suggestions: walls in the rooms are extremely thin and sound-proofing would be a major improvement. The door to our room literally had daylight showing underneath it so this would be an area for improvement. No ice machine available while lots of other things like coffee, tea were available 24/7. Our shower had so little water pressure that it was difficult to rinse off. A shower head that is made for low water pressure would have made such a difference. These are relatively small improvements, except for the sound-proofing that would have made a huge improvement in our overall experience. We would stay here again though as the location was AWESOME!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockaway, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Who-ever is planning to visit Sequoia NP - this is absolutely the place to stay. Conveniently located just in the middle of Sequoia and Kings Canyon NP, this place is a gem! Beautiful setting on the quite crystal clear lake, surrounded by forest and mountain view behind - the place is breathtaking as you just arrive. And the it is getting better - as you just move in - you realize what you are here for - just to enjoy all this beauty around - the room has no TV, set up like a cabin, but very nice, clean and cozy. There is hour-around activities going on - the group of stuff of young and energetic guys and girls are ready to entertain you and your kids whole day long! SO much stuff going on, so much fun, I don't even know where to start - our only regret was that we didn't come there with kids! Food is all included and it is nice and various food, simple but pretty decent and again it all served in their absolutely nice place with huge fireplace! so again, it is nice for everyone, but if you come with family, kids, it is just MUST to stay there, I've NEVER seen anything that family friendly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Yes, a lot of trip advisors like this lodge because it is family oriented and geared for the summer vacationer. However, this review is based on a middle aged couple touring the parks in the fall. There are not a lot of hotels to choose from in Sequoia or Kings Canyon National Parks. Most are more expensive than this one. The Montecito Sequoia Lodge has location working for it because it is conveniently located between the two parks. Our room rate was $119 for a King bed and it included dinner and breakfast- which actually were decent considering they were served buffet style. . What warrants my rating is the lodging itself. The rooms are rustic to say the least, but clean. If TV and phones are your thing- the rooms don't have them. They do have Wifi in the lodge. You cannot park right next to your room. The lodge served its purpose for one night. The staff was friendly. A tip- wine and beer in the lodge is not cheap. You can bring in your own bottle during the evening meal and nobody will hassle you. Just don't have them open it or a corkage fee will be applied.

Room Tip: There is a lake on the property- ask for a room that faces the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

This hotel is in a good location in the Sequoia national park countryside. The rooms are not luxurious (no tv) but are comfortable given you are out in the wild and the toiletries were nice. We stayed in a queen room with ensuite overlooking the lake which was nice. There are also cabins with communal showers/toilets which you could choose if you have a big group. However, you need to think whether you are happy to stay somewhere where there is a strong likelihood of lots of teenagers/ children doing summer camp trips - we came on the same day 100 odd 14 year olds came to stay and it was very lively, to say the least. The dining area is communal and buffet style, but the food is actually pretty good and it is eat as much as you can. We enjoyed the food - although basic it was quite refreshing from eating out in nice restaurants as we have done during most of our trip. There was also a good selection of tea and coffee/ water and fresh fruit throughout the day.
You can also use the pool and jacuzzi. The latter is open until 11pm and we took advantage of it - the place is perfect for looking at the stars under a clear sky with the odd bats flying about and deer roaming near the cabins.
The camp also has a bonfire in the evenings and one of the guides/ mentors working there gave guests marshmellows/ smores while chatting and telling stories.
You can also sign up for one of the group activities the night before and ask for a packed lunch. The lodge also has leaflets on good trails to follow and we took a few.
We enjoyed our stay and would recommend coming here if you want a real campy feel (without having to stay in a tent). One thing to note is that we came in the first week of September and it was beautiful weather and very hot. However, we were informed snow has fallen on or immediately after Labour Day weekend so be prepared to bring snow tyres if you come to Sequoia during this time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey, uk
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

This place is in a very convenient location and the setting is also nice. There are canoes you can use for free if you want to.

The food is very basic and served buffet style to be eaten at large tables. I felt the place lacked care, for example a broken plastic chair had been left by the lake.

The views from the deck are stunning though and the lodge room we stayed in was certainly spacious.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

The location is perfect, situated in beautiful countryside between Kings Canyon and Sequoia National Parks.

Staff are friendly and helpful, and there are free hot and cold drinks available 24/7. The breakfast and evening meals are good.

Do not book if you are looking for a luxury resort, this is more of a hostel. Rooms are very clean but also quite tired and ours had a damp smell.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Montecito Sequoia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montecito Sequoia Lodge

Address: 63410 General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Montecito Sequoia Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Rustic Mountain Lodge & Summer Family Camp located in Sequoia & Kings Canyon National Parks, California. Spectacular view of the Great Western Divide of the Sierra Nevada Mountains. Buffet Meals and seasonal activities included in room rate. All Lodge Rooms have private bath. Cabins have shared bathhouse. Open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Montecito Sequoia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montecito Sequoia Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montecito Sequoia Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.