We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good value and nice staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montecito Sequoia Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Montecito Sequoia Lodge to your Saves list
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   63410 General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633   |  
Hotel amenities
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good location, good value and nice staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We spent two nights here and when I booked it i was worried that it was a little too good to be true. Two night here, including ALL meals, cost less than one night in Yosemite! I am pleased to say that I was pleasantly surprised to find the location was great, the food really nice and the staff friendly.

We stayed in the main lodge and had a room overlooking the pool. As it was October that was closed but the hot tub was still open!! In the dining room there was information regarding the various walks that you could take from the lodge. We took a gentle trek up to sunrise bowl and it was lovely. We didn't see one other person on the trail!

The food is good. It is buffet style and there isn't masses of choice but what they do they do quite well. Drinks come from the various self service machines and there is a little bar serving a few drinks for the weary traveller. I managed to get a bottle of Californian Champagne for $5!! it wasn't too bad either, pretty easy to drink!

This is a good base to use to explore the local are and is great value. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    100
    29
    21
    27
See reviews for
163
109
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

This Lodge was a good value if you want to stay in the park and not drive 50 miles back and forth. We started out in Tulare and spent the day touring in Sequoia and stayed here for one night. We weren't put in the main lodge, but were in another building a short distance from the main lodge--called SugarLoaf (a four unit building). It wasn't fancy (no TV or radio) but it served our needs for one night. The meals were included in the price of the room--all served buffet style in the main lodge--all very good. They had a heated pool and hot tub outside and very nice after a long day in the park. The next day we toured Kings Canyon and then left the park around 4:30 for Fresno. For a two day, one night stay in the park this Lodge was very adequate.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

3rd year here for Sunday until Thurs AM Thanksgiving (we have turkey on Friday)! $159.00 for a family of 5- with meals included!! Definitely rustic, they don't claim to be 5 star. This year they replaced the carpets, they put in new wooden tables in the dinning area. Kids can roam the lodge (ping pong, fuseball, etc), parents can hike with them or just chill with a book. Food is good (not great) and there is plenty of it. Already booked for our 4th year. If there is now and you are shut (road closes) there are lots of sleds and hills, cross country skiing and snowshoe trails, if not, there are great trails (and free guides twice daily) to take you out, and/or Sherman and the Senators is a 20 min drive away. Love this place.

Room Tip: you want to stay in 'the lodge' vs one of the outlying buildings (in winter you need to bund...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Hills, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

The prices seemed so cheap compared to the other lodging we were worried it might be terrible, but we really enjoyed our stay. And included in the price you also get all of your meals included and activities! We were only planning to stay one night but liked it so much we canceled our stay at John Muir Lodge (which is owned by the same people so there was no penalty) and stayed the extra 2 days at Montecito. The food is buffet style and there are vegetation options at every meal. Again we were concerned it would be like eating at Golden Corral or Home Town Buffett, but it really was restaurant quality food for the most part. You also have 24 hour access to cereal, bread, oatmeal and drinks. If you are not going to be at the lodge around lunch time you can request a trail lunch the night before to pick up at breakfast, it was great (sandwich, juice, trail mix, apple, chips…it is like mom packed you a brown bag lunch for school). While there we met some lovely families, we played Connect 4, Sorry, Jenga, Ping Pong, made smores around a camp fire and did archery. There is a common room in the main building full of games. As for the less desirable parts about the Lodge: there is no tv or phone in the rooms, but you get wifi and there is a communal tv you can watch. We also got some cell service here which we could not say for our other lodgings. We stayed in room 140 and room 141 which are not located in the main lodge building. Our rooms were pretty quiet. Furnishings are sparse, but the beds were comfy. The water pressure left a lot to be desired. But overall, for the price, we would totally stay there again. We were also worried as a couple in our 30s that the place would be overrun by annoying children, but it was not too bad, sure if you go there in the summer during family camp it is probably crazy, but they told us that almost all the rooms in the lodge were full while we were there and it did not feel too crowded or out of control to us. The staff was friendly and helpful. Overall it was a great value and probably even more fun for kids than it was for us.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for couple of days at the end of September 2011. We were delighted with the service we received and with its convenient location. This lodge is located in Sequoia National Forest, between Grant Grove/Kings Canyon National Park and Giant Forest/Sequoia National Park. Our stay happened to be on a weekday so the place was not as crowded as it gets on the weekends. What we enjoyed most was the room came with meals. They have a full kitchen and they prepare breakfast, lunch and dinner for all of the guests. Even on the day we wanted to go hiking, they prepared a sack lunch for us. All you do is ask for it at the front desk the night before and it will be ready after breakfast the following day. This place provides a lot of activities for families with kids and for adults too. We had the opportunity to take archery lessons in the morning and shooting lessons in the afternoon. Don't worry the instructors are all very well trained and the shooting was at target cards not wildlife although hunting is permitted in the national forest. We had lots of fun!. This place also has activities in the lake during the summer but we did not have the time to do that. There is also a swimming pool. This place is somewhat rustic and has no maid service. However, location was great and so convenient. Not having to drive for thirty minutes in either directions to find a place to eat, is a plus! Because the building is made of wood if a child is crying you will hear the sounds even if it is on the other side of the hall. The manager is pretty good about telling people to keep the noise down to a minimum, they even have posted signs in the hallway. There are also cabins but they did not have private bathrooms so we chose not to stay there. I recommend this place and we will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: There are no elevators. Be prepared to carry your own suitcases up the stairs and down the stairs be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

I stayed at the Montecito Lake Resort (formerly Montecito Sequoia Lodge) for four nights in mid-October and I had a great experience. This is unlike any place I've stayed before in that the price of a room includes three meals a day. And, if you plan to be away during the afternoon as I did, you can request to have a lunch packed and ready to go in the morning. The in-house meals are served buffet style and they were quite good. I was traveling alone, so the common dining area allowed me to talk with, and get to know, some other guests at the resort.

The overall feel of the place is certainly not fancy or luxurious by any means. This is the only reason I didn't give it a 5 rating (I thought that would be misleading). If I was just comparing it to other park lodges it would definitely get a rating of 5 from me. My room was in the main lodge, it was very clean and bright. I don't know if all the rooms are the same, but mine did not have a television. I was a bit alarmed by this at first, but I quickly adapted to reading and going out to the back deck and looking at the stars and surrounding mountains.

I think the best feature of this property is the locations. It's ideally situated between Sequoia and Kings Canyon Parks. You can get to all the major park sites in a short amount of time (relatively speaking as the park is huge and the roads are very curving with low speed limits).

The grounds of the resort are very nice. The lake is beautiful and there are trails very nearby. I also thought the staff was incredible. Everyone was very friendly and helpful when asked for assistance.

I'm happy I chose to stay at Montecito Lake Resort for my first visit to Sequoia/Kings Canyon, and I'll be happy to stay there when I return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

We went on a quick vacation to Seqouia National Park, and this lodge was more than we expected. It had an amazing view of the mountains, and also included a dining area, a swimming pool and jacuzzi, and a climbing wall, and also a games room. Across from the lodge was a lake, good for canoeing. We beame friends with a group of adorable ducks that followed us, quacking. At night there are campfires and people serving s'mores. An amazing lodge-the best lodge I've ever visited and beter than most hotels.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Montecito Sequoia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montecito Sequoia Lodge

Address: 63410 General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Montecito Sequoia Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Rustic Mountain Lodge & Summer Family Camp located in Sequoia & Kings Canyon National Parks, California. Spectacular view of the Great Western Divide of the Sierra Nevada Mountains. Buffet Meals and seasonal activities included in room rate. All Lodge Rooms have private bath. Cabins have shared bathhouse. Open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Montecito Sequoia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montecito Sequoia Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montecito Sequoia Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.