We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best lodges ever! Amazing view!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montecito Sequoia Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Montecito Sequoia Lodge to your Saves list
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   63410 General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of the best lodges ever! Amazing view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

We went on a quick vacation to Seqouia National Park, and this lodge was more than we expected. It had an amazing view of the mountains, and also included a dining area, a swimming pool and jacuzzi, and a climbing wall, and also a games room. Across from the lodge was a lake, good for canoeing. We beame friends with a group of adorable ducks that followed us, quacking. At night there are campfires and people serving s'mores. An amazing lodge-the best lodge I've ever visited and beter than most hotels.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    134
    35
    24
    31
See reviews for
214
135
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

My mom and brother spontaneously stayed here, primarily based on the other 5 and 4 star reviews here, and we found them to be very accurate.
Let me start by saying that for sure this place is NOT the Hyatt, nor is it even a Holiday Inn - if you are expecting that, you will likely be disappointed (yes, there is no extra plug on the lamp for your laptop - but there is wifi; no phones or coffee makers in the room, but free beverages and snacks 24 hours/day in the main lodge). It was very much a place for families, and international travellers; It is rustic, it is aging, but we found it to be very clean, comfortable and a great value for what they provide. It is out in middle of a national park - an upscale hostel like lodge might be a good description.
We opted to stay in a simple lodge room with a private bath (king bed and bunk): very clean, found the beds/mattresses very supportive and confortable, gas heat; clean private bath. It was a very small room, but we only bathed and slept here -- if you are not out exploring the amazing sequoiaa, there is tons of comfortable space to lounge in the main lodge.
Even for being "off season" there seemed to be many travellers, and all we talked to, seemed to love it and were surprised at what good value it was, especially since they include meals (lunch only if you stay 2 nights, since check in is 4pm and check out is 11am). We thought all the meals were delicious, hearty and good soul food; beverages were free, and they sell beer, wine and sodas; bagels, cereals, fruit is available 24hours. (again, if you are expecting a fine dining experience, you might be disappointed)
The place did seem deserted during the day, with most people opting for a bag lunch; we enjoyed the main lodge experience in the evenings -- folks surfing the net on laptops on comfy couches in front of the fire, or playing cards on the dining tables; families and kids of all ages seemed to be enjoying the attached "recreation room" area, which had a zillion board games, books, ping pong table, fuze ball, yamaha piano, to name a few.
We also found all the staff hardworking and friendly.
We will definitely return and encouraging our other family members to join us there!

Room Tip: Sugar pine lodge rooms - seem since they are not in the main lodge, but are only a short walk to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

This place was described as a resort and a lodge but should have been called a "camp". If you are used to camping then this place would work for you. It had a decent bed and hot water but be careful since some rooms have a shared bath. We had a room with a king bed and two bunks since that was available. This "lodge" may have been 1st class in its day but now it should be condemed because it is so run down. We could see daylight under the door and the cold air poured in, so we used pillows to block it at night. There was no TV, phone, or coffee pot in the room. Ice was available for $2. There is no cell phone service but we were able to get a good internet connection. To plug in our laptop we ran our extension cord to the only outlet in the room which was behind the king bed. Having the cord draped across the room was inconvenient to say the least. The thermostat for the heater was behind the set of bunk beds which blocked the only window in the room. The beautiful lake was actually a pond and it was not beautiful. The included meals were buffet style and a mixed bag. The salad and fresh fruit at dinner were very good but the corn was canned and the stringbeans tasteless. The curried chicken was okay and the fish was drowned in a white sauce. Breakast had nice fresh fruit and yogurt but the eggs were very runny. Bacon was crispy and excellent. Coffee was by the cup from a machine like you find at a Circle K, not great. This would be an okay place for a family that was used to camping as they seemed to cater to the "camp fire" crowd. There was a lot a room for the kids to run around and they actually had a camp fire ring at night. Sleeping was not a problem once your neighbors went to bed, but you could hear every footstep before they did. Sort of like sleeping in a bowling alley but the guy at the front desk said "they had not had any complaints about noise" when we expressed our concern about being downstairs. We should have read the reviews more carefully. Most of the reviews were very positive but on closer reading this place definitely should be be for families only and the term "lodge" means a hunting or fishing type of accomodation, not a resort. Stay in Fresno and drive up for the day or pay the extra and stay in a nicer lodge.

Room Tip: Upstairs would be quieter. Make sure you have a private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

We really enjoyed the Montecito Sequoia Lodge. If you are prepared for the hostel like camp environment, it is a great place for families. Our kids didn't want to leave. In the summer, this is a full fledged family camp, but in the off season it is hotel like. Meals are included and served buffet style in the dining hall. The food was mediocre but plentiful. There were always fresh fruit and salad options. There is a game room and various activities according to the time of year. We enjoyed the archery range. The views from our room in the main lodge were spectacular. The room had a king bed and a bunk set. The bathroom was small, but everything was clean. As we pretty much only slept there, it was fine for us. One thing to know is that in the fall there are only two activities planned for each day. These are posted the night before. They are very limited not so plentiful as the website implies. The staff were very nice and helpful. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Lodge is noisy, but the rooms have private baths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Montecito is perfect for people wanting to visit/hike both national parks. The food was great (not gourmet, but just really good, hearty meals with a nice selection each morning/night). They will provide a bag lunch at breakfast if you won't be around mid-day. One less thing for us to to deal with on our daily hiking adventures. Nice setting. Clean. Nice pool/hot-tub. The people who run the lodge really care about what they are doing.
We stayed in the main lodge building with private bath for the first 4 days and in a separate building with private bath for the last night (we lengthened our stay after being there for a couple of days!)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We decided to take a late summer camping trip to Sequoia National Park but lacked the time to adequately prepare for tent camping. So we ended up staying in a cabin for two nights. Accommodations are spare but complete. It was great that meals were included, and quite delicious as well. After spending the morning in the park with the big trees (and encountering a juvenile black bear) we came back to the lodge where the kids had a blast chucking rocks into the lake, playing in the playground, jumping on the trampoline, even a short canoe expedition.

The staff was excellent: friendly, helpful, and accommodating. When we lamented not knowing to order sack lunched the night before they got the sandwich materials so we could make them, and had the sacks stuffed with fruit, granola bar, and utensils.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, FL
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

We knew that this was a lodge in the mountains, so we had an idea of what to expect but it was so much more than we imagined! Starting with the beautiful lake outside the lodge, to the wonderful chef prepared food and the caring employees, especially Jessica at the front desk. She was so friendly and attentive, and even remembered that we had taken a day trip to Yosemite, asking how it was the minute we walked in the door. Our room overlooking the lake was clean, functional and everything we needed including a very comfortable bed. Having dinner with fellow travellers was a great way to get advice and give advice that was helpful for all of our vacations. I travel a lot and trust me this place is so clean including when I look up at the light fixtures in the dining hall. The campfire and smores were great as well as the wonderful different types of coffee, tea, drinks and snacks that were always available. Having your lunch packed for you for the day is really a bonus as well as being able to make a long distance call home (no charge) since cell phones do not work in the mountains. I can't say enough about this facility and would recommend it to anyone considering vacationing in this area. The only downside while we were there (for some people) was that the one tv in the common room was not working. Thanks so much for making our vacation so enjoyable!

Room Tip: Make sure you order your lunch for the following day by 730pm the night before
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
5.9 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 250 reviews
9.0 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,532 reviews
16.5 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#6 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 stars 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
13.1 mi away
Cedar Grove Lodge
Cedar Grove Lodge
#4 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 76 reviews
18.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montecito Sequoia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montecito Sequoia Lodge

Address: 63410 General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Montecito Sequoia Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Meals and seasonal activities included in the room rate: A Rustic Mountain Lodge & Summer Family Camp located in Sequoia & Kings Canyon National Parks, California. Spectacular view of the Great Western Divide of the Sierra Nevada Mountains. All Lodge Rooms have private bath. Cabins have shared bathhouse. Open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Montecito Sequoia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montecito Sequoia Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montecito Sequoia Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.