We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver City Mountain Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Silver City Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Silver City Mountain Resort
Mile 21 Mineral King Road, PO Box 56, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93271   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed in the Paradise Ridge cabin for 2 nights. Everything about this place is absolutely perfect: the views, the outdoor fireplace, the hammock strung between 2 trees, the attentive and friendly staff and the proximity to Mineral King's hiking trails. Besides the spectacular views through the cabin's huge windows, the cabins here are quite spacious, very comfortable and come equipped with most everything you'll need to cook if you'd prefer to not eat at the restaurant (excluding electrical appliances: the fridge is propane-powered).

There are far fewer people on this side of the park, so outdoor adventures are a bit more rustic--if you must see the Sherman tree or go up Moro Rock along with 20,000 other tourists, it'll take some time to get there, but in the end it's not that long of a drive. At Mineral King, we went up to Eagle Lake, which is one of the top stretches of trail I've ever seen: rewarding views from the very first step.

Go to this place, you'll not regret it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    15
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
25
16
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
jerusalem
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Went there with my husband as part of our 'national parks honeymoon'. It was a great experience - having our own log cabin and being basically in the wilderness (surrounded by incredible trees and views). The area is much quieter and less built up than other parts of the Sequoia park (ie round the Sherman tree) so great if you want a quiet getaway. The food was utterly delicious, and included everything from gourmet burgers to homemade pies. Also the guy on the front desk when we were there - Mike - was absolutely lovely, super friendly and gave us loads of advice on trails. Overall a fantastic experience! Hope to go back there some time :)

Room Tip: We had the a regular cabin which we liked (although there are a bunch of bigger fancier ones which l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

During a 5 month road trip across the U.S, I had the amazing opportunity to spend a few days at Silver City Mountain Resort. The view from our cabin was spectacular. Surrounded by trees and mountains, our cabin provided great views. We even had our own camp fire. The innkeepers were more the generous and were always willing to help us find our way around. This was definitely my most favorite place to stay while traveling.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

My family and I stayed in the Florence Peak Chalet at Silver City in October of 2013. By far our best experience in Sequoia. This was my 6th trip to Sequoia National Park. Although the park is one of my favorites I had never been impressed with the accommodations or food. Silver City is different though. The Chalets are wonderful, spacious, clean, beautiful and well worth the price. Also the pie is the best I've ever had! We will definitely be back and I would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Bring food unless you want to eat at the restaurant grocery stores are an hour away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiku, Hi.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We really loved visiting these cabins at the end of a long and winding road up into the Sierras. Our cabin didn't have electricity, the bathroom/shower was in a shared building and it got quite cold for a place with only a wood stove for heat, but we enjoyed every moment of our 2-night stay. The title "resort" might be a little misleading since this is definitely different from most peoples' idea of a resort, but it was just what we wanted. The staff was small (our visit was in September) since the cabins shut in October, I think. The three staff folks were stretched kind of thin since most of the cabins were full on our weekend. However, they all were attentive, polite and helpful. Apparently, the current owner lives in Eastern Europe, but we hope he pays attention to the property, keeps it up and hires enough people to staff it especially in the summers since we would like to visit again. The surrounding valley of Mineral King is so spectacular!

Room Tip: Read the descriptions of the cabins carefully so you know what you're getting. Some are obviousl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
over te rainbow
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

a georgeous area surronded my nature. But a chalet that didn't look like it had been mopped the whole season. rodent dropings behind bathroom door, tub, toilet, and kitchen silverware drawer. there were drops of stuck on food spills throughout the lower level. The bathroom downstairs was nasty! I didn't want to walk in there without flip flops!!!! the people working there are nice and the pie was great, but they did not seem very organized. When it came to check in procedures we had to go search for someone, then after we got checked in we had to go find wood in the dark which was supposed to be provided. On top of that there isn't a key to your place. if you stay there check and see if it was cleaned.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Oh this was truly amazing. We stayed in the shooting star cabin, perfect cabin for two. It was perfect and I so want to be able to get in the next time I try and book! We were there during the shutdown so it was even more peaceful than we had expected,

The cabin has one bedroom - a great log fire to keep you warm at night and matches to light the gas mantel lanterns - no electricity from 10pm to midday - which is part of the experience. The fridge is gas - so makes a bit of noise - the kitchen has everything you need including a coffee percolator Outside we had a fire pit - with a big chunk of wood and an axe!!! If you run out of energy there is wood available,

We sat inside and out and just loved the whole thing. Down the hill is a small shop/restaurant which serves great coffee and fruit pies. It serves food on some days - not Tuesday and Wednesday- we did our own cooking,

This is posh camping so do take toilet roll, food and drink - and a torch. It is very easy living and so much better than a hotel outside the park.

And we saw a black bear as well as the redwoods and wonderful stars.

Simply perfect

Room Tip: For two - shooting g star but not for more
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver City Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver City Mountain Resort

Address: Mile 21 Mineral King Road, PO Box 56, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93271
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silver City Resort is a small boutique resort nestled deep in Sequoia National Park just minutes away from the breathtaking high altitude Mineral King Valley. What makes this destination so unique is that it shares its history with two of the oldest alpine settlements in the western United States. Within the Sierra Nevada mountain range of California, Silver City Resort and the neighboring seasonal communities of Silver City and Mineral King, contain more chapters of shared human history than any other community in the High Sierras for over 130 years. Silver City Resort offers a truly unique mountain experience. Located 21 miles up Mineral King Road Silver City offers lodging away from the hustle and bustle of the main tourism. Silver City offers guests an authentic mountain experience perfect for families, avid hikers, adventure seekers, and people who love nature. We provide private cabins each with a fully stocked kitchen, including pots and pans, dishes, cooking utensils, baking bowls, cutlery, silverware, etc… We have beautiful spacious chalets with open beam ceilings, bathrooms and showers. If luxury is not your cup of tea we also have smaller family cabins and last but not least our rugged historic cabins. Whether you are an adventurer looking for lodging in Sequoia, or a family looking for a great getaway Silver City Mountain Resort offers lodging during the summer months in Sequoia National Park. Opening up Memorial Day weekend in May and closing in mid to late October depending on snow fall. Silver City also includes a small store and restaurant. The resort is located 21 miles up Mineral King Road in the little cabin communities of Silver City and near the beautiful Mineral King Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Silver City Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver City Mountain Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver City Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.