We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking Views, Peace and Quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver City Mountain Resort

Save Saved
You added Silver City Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Silver City Mountain Resort
Mile 21 Mineral King Road, PO Box 56, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93271   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off room rate
new york
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Breathtaking Views, Peace and Quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Very nice chalet with incredible view out of front living room window. Take note, this was the chalet...not the cabins which looked rustic and small. There was a living/dining area. Kitchen was stocked with cooking baking needs, refrigerator, stove, no microwave. Seperate bedroom and bath. Had to rent or bring your own linens. Also, theres no electricity between 10 pm and 12 noon. So, no hairdryer, toothbrush or toaster if you needed it.....everything runs on gas between those hours....that was hard to get used to. Also, they want you to clean up after yourself when you leave...I dont think thats really a positive. We paid a lot for the chalet and I dont think you should have to clean it...we didnt make any mess so it wasnt a big deal and the staff was very nice about how much you were expected to "clean" up. We didnt know where to get ahold of staff when the general store/small "restaurant" was closed. Some negatives to consider....but if you like the outdoors and hiking and wonderful views....this place certainly delivered. I think in the summer it could be noisy...theres outside firepits and some of the places are rather close. We didnt have any trouble when we went later in the season. We seen bear and deer everyday we were there. Birds of all kinds and squirrels all over the place. The drive up is bad...thats all I can say. It takes an hour and a half to get there on very, very, twisty narrow roads only wide enough for one and a half cars. Definitely take heed to the bad reviews about this road....its so true. So going back down into town or over to other side of park is really tiresome and uses up a lot of your time and energy everyday. (3 hours up and down total) So we spent a couple of days at the Chalet doing hikes up on the mountain.

Room Tip: I think the Chalets look way more roomy, better furnished and better views than the tiny cabins...bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    11
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
20
12
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Great experience. The property was v clean and neat. Loved spending our time in lap of nature. The commute to the resort is strenuous.Takes around 50 minutes on zig zag roads.
And ya bring your own linens
The staff was v friendly and nice

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mishawaka
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I did not stay in the cabins, but I did stop to grab a bite to eat. The pie was fantastic!
It was very quiet & peaceful. I would like to come back and stay at the cabins.
There is a ranger station a few miles past Silver City. Beyond the ranger station is the end of the road.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Having visited Sequoia and King's Canyon two years ago and stayed at the 'more accessible' and subsequently' more touristy' Grant Grove ; my husband and i and our two children aged 12 and 9 , decided to try somewhere a little more remote for this visit and happily, we stumbled across the Silver City Resort when planning our itinerary .

This really is a 'find' ; Our cabin- the Shooting Star - was , spacious and airy with a fabulous deck and secluded fire pit area - perfect for toasting marshmallows and watching the stars and generally chilling- after wearing ourselves out hiking ...

The kids loved being able to roam around the grounds and head down to the play area and eat filling , delicious breakfasts every morning before heading off to explore the truly spectacular surrounding scenery.

As a bonus, our stay coincided with the Guest Chef Supper' which was a great way of meeting some of our fellow guests; we were lucky enough to spend it in charming and interesting company whilst enjoying delicious cuisine under the stars.

Throughout our stay we felt very much at home - from the moment we arrived ( and we are from England .... so not really familiar territory ) the staff were friendly and attentive without being overly intrusive - and the general vibe is relaxed and informal which is certainly what we wanted from a destination like this...

To sum up ; Silver City is a wonderful place to experience the many breathtaking hikes and trails in this area of the park - Yes, it's more 'rustic' than 'luxury' and there are always little touches which could enhance - but it has everything you need for this kind of vacation and has a charm and style - totally sympathetic to its setting .

Hopefully we'll be back some day.

Elizabeth , Stephen, Holly and Flynn (London, England)

Room Tip: Shooting Lodge worked well for a family of four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

It's a hair-raising and stomach-churning drive up to Mineral King, but the landscape, trails and tranquility are worth it. We. We stayed in a historical cabin (no electricity, and the bathroom facilities are a short walk across the campsite, but the cabin had cosy beds, a good little kitchen and propane lamps/fridge). Silver City also has cabins with their own bathrooms, and electricity (from site generator 12 noon to 10pm). The restaurant does hearty meals and excellent pies, but the shop doesn't stock much in the way of food, so make sure to bring your own up. The staff are friendly, and there is a small play area with climbing frame and playhouse for kids. If you like hiking, mountains, peace, being close to nature, then this place is for you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We recently stayed at the Silver City Mountain Resort. My husband and I along with another couple had backpacked here a while back and knew that we had to return.
This area is one of pristine beauty. It is no wonder that Walt Disney wanted to buy it and turn it into a Swill style village. It remains a remote haven for those who love the outdoors.
We stayed in several cabins that both had amazing views of the mountain peaks in the distance amidst a forest of trees. Bubbling water of nearby creeks was our music. At night, fire pits at each cabin were great for amazing stargazing while roasting s'mores.
On our hiking excursions we encountered several dear, darling marmots, and a curious bear.
A hammock by the stream was a great place to read or just relax. This is as serene as it gets.
But what really helped to make this trip was the staff. This staff works round the clock taking care of the cabins, restaurant, and small store. Michael and his crew are extremely helpful, positive, fun to talk with, and have a deep love for this place. It's easy to see why.

Room Tip: Sawtooth and Paradise Ridge have great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Three Rivers
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I had the best time at the Guest Chef Night on August 14th. My fellow diners were great company, and the wait staff was exceptional. The food was interesting, and the presentation had a nice "mountain elegance" to it. I enjoyed my night, and hope to do it again next year!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Silver City Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver City Mountain Resort

Address: Mile 21 Mineral King Road, PO Box 56, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93271
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Specialty lodging in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silver City Resort is a small boutique resort nestled deep in Sequoia National Park just minutes away from the breathtaking high altitude Mineral King Valley. What makes this destination so unique is that it shares its history with two of the oldest alpine settlements in the western United States. Within the Sierra Nevada mountain range of California, Silver City Resort and the neighboring seasonal communities of Silver City and Mineral King, contain more chapters of shared human history than any other community in the High Sierras for over 130 years. Silver City Resort offers a truly unique mountain experience. Located 21 miles up Mineral King Road Silver City offers lodging away from the hustle and bustle of the main tourism. Silver City offers guests an authentic mountain experience perfect for families, avid hikers, adventure seekers, and people who love nature. We provide private cabins each with a fully stocked kitchen, including pots and pans, dishes, cooking utensils, baking bowls, cutlery, silverware, etc… We have beautiful spacious chalets with open beam ceilings, bathrooms and showers. If luxury is not your cup of tea we also have smaller family cabins and last but not least our rugged historic cabins. Whether you are an adventurer looking for lodging in Sequoia, or a family looking for a great getaway Silver City Mountain Resort offers lodging during the summer months in Sequoia National Park. Opening up Memorial Day weekend in May and closing in mid to late October depending on snow fall. Silver City also includes a small store and restaurant. The resort is located 21 miles up Mineral King Road in the little cabin communities of Silver City and near the beautiful Mineral King Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Silver City Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver City Mountain Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver City Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.