We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treacherous road conditions make this spot impossible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ranch Champagne

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ranch Champagne
Mineral King Road, Champagne Canyon, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Newbury Park
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Treacherous road conditions make this spot impossible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

We drove the 7 miles of switchback roads and realized that we would not want to do that for the following 2 days, at night or more than once per day. We found another cabin to rent for the night and left a message for the owner at Ranch Champagne indicating that had we known the road conditions, we would never have booked with her and to please try to re-book our room. She left a voice mail for us saying that she could have booked the cabin 22 times that day but in the end, she did not re-book our cabin and we were out 2 nights lodging.

The views were amazing and the cabin was clean and well appointed. The space is definitely not large enough for 2 adults and one teenager.

There are plenty of cabins to rent in town, near the river and without the hassle of dealing with dangerous road conditions.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    5
    2
    2
    4
See reviews for
11
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

If you are looking for seclusion and nature this is the spot. But the price is the terrifying seven mile drive on a curvy one lane road from the highway to the cabin. Not good for acrophobia.
Aside from that the cabin is simple and delightful. Everything is new, clean, tasteful,and well cared for. The cabin has a geat deal of natural light and a deck where we spent most of our time.
Warning: buy food and drink at the well stocked market in Three Rivers before you drive up the road. Cooking facilities are cramped but adequate, and you don't want to drive down that hill for a forgotten carton of milk.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

I didn't like the idea of one sink for washing hands (specially after coming from the bathroom) and dishes! The 7 mile drive is tiresome specially after one day of hiking. But the cabin was very clean and the view very nice if you can make piece with mosquitoes !
We drenched ourselves in repellent but nothing stops them.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

This is the best place to stay when wanting to be near Sequoia National Park. The cabins are secluded, well appointed, the owners are friendly and the cabins are clean. They have everything you need to cook a nice meal and relax

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2010

If you want to get away from it all...this is just the place for you....the cabin is so cozy/clean/comfortable and the beauty of the nature surrounding the cabin beyond description. Bring your food/bring your drinks and there is nothing you will miss!!! We enjoyed a beautiful weekend in this amazing place, but was too short....the weekend is just not enough to fully enjoy all the beauty around you....and the stars at night...ooooh my...

P.S.: No complaints at all, only one, do not shop at the TOTEM MINI MART in Three Rivers and if you do check the expiration dates...all of the items we purchased were expired and when we wanted to exchange them the person working in the store got very unpleasant!!!!

P.S.S.: Our Golden Retriever was in HEAVEN...he could not stop rolling in the grass!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

This cabin is only 6 or 7 miles up Mineral king from the main road from Three rivers. Because it is such a windy road, it takes about 15 minutes to get there but is well worth it. It is quiet and secluded with breathtaking views all around. It was so relaxing to hear the river flowing nearby and to look up at the bright stars. It is a cute cabin, with all the amenities. The decor was cozy and we enjoyed watching old movies at night.
I just wished I had went shopping before we got to three rivers because the stores and Markets are overpriced and we bought some bad chicken one night. Also wish we had brought bug spray because of the mosquitos. Besides that (having nothing to do with the cabins)We did not want to leave and will definately be back....only for more than two nights. The website pictures do not compare to seeing the cabins and surroundings in person.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malbu, ca
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

We wanted to take the kids to Sequoia Park and Ranch Champagne had great rates and their website states that they are only 3 miles away from the park. In reality the park entrance is about 30 minutes away plus another hour drive to the General Sherman tree. The cabins are small, ok for two adults but impossible for more. Our biggest problem were the ants, there were ants everywhere on the walls, in the cupboards, on the bed, etc. At night we found ants in the bed where the kids were sleeping and on our inflatable mattress. Although we paid for two nights, my wife refused to stay another night and we left the next day. No refund offered. Another thing to consider is that there is no cellphone signal nor is there a phone in the cabin, so in case of emergency you're in big trouble. Also the drive to the cabin is not for the faint of heart, it is a long, twisty one lane mountain road with a deep drop on the side, very dangerous. There were many lodging options available, we went by the pictures on their website an made a poor choice.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ranch Champagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranch Champagne

Address: Mineral King Road, Champagne Canyon, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Specialty lodging in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Also Known As:
Ranch Champagne Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ranch Champagne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ranch Champagne to your Saves list