We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is good for two people only. when you open the air bed you can't get to the bathroom.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ranch Champagne

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ranch Champagne
Mineral King Road, Champagne Canyon, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It is good for two people only. when you open the air bed you can't get to the bathroom.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

I didn't like the idea of one sink for washing hands (specially after coming from the bathroom) and dishes! The 7 mile drive is tiresome specially after one day of hiking. But the cabin was very clean and the view very nice if you can make piece with mosquitoes !
We drenched ourselves in repellent but nothing stops them.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    5
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
10
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

This is the best place to stay when wanting to be near Sequoia National Park. The cabins are secluded, well appointed, the owners are friendly and the cabins are clean. They have everything you need to cook a nice meal and relax

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2010

If you want to get away from it all...this is just the place for you....the cabin is so cozy/clean/comfortable and the beauty of the nature surrounding the cabin beyond description. Bring your food/bring your drinks and there is nothing you will miss!!! We enjoyed a beautiful weekend in this amazing place, but was too short....the weekend is just not enough to fully enjoy all the beauty around you....and the stars at night...ooooh my...

P.S.: No complaints at all, only one, do not shop at the TOTEM MINI MART in Three Rivers and if you do check the expiration dates...all of the items we purchased were expired and when we wanted to exchange them the person working in the store got very unpleasant!!!!

P.S.S.: Our Golden Retriever was in HEAVEN...he could not stop rolling in the grass!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

This cabin is only 6 or 7 miles up Mineral king from the main road from Three rivers. Because it is such a windy road, it takes about 15 minutes to get there but is well worth it. It is quiet and secluded with breathtaking views all around. It was so relaxing to hear the river flowing nearby and to look up at the bright stars. It is a cute cabin, with all the amenities. The decor was cozy and we enjoyed watching old movies at night.
I just wished I had went shopping before we got to three rivers because the stores and Markets are overpriced and we bought some bad chicken one night. Also wish we had brought bug spray because of the mosquitos. Besides that (having nothing to do with the cabins)We did not want to leave and will definately be back....only for more than two nights. The website pictures do not compare to seeing the cabins and surroundings in person.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malbu, ca
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

We wanted to take the kids to Sequoia Park and Ranch Champagne had great rates and their website states that they are only 3 miles away from the park. In reality the park entrance is about 30 minutes away plus another hour drive to the General Sherman tree. The cabins are small, ok for two adults but impossible for more. Our biggest problem were the ants, there were ants everywhere on the walls, in the cupboards, on the bed, etc. At night we found ants in the bed where the kids were sleeping and on our inflatable mattress. Although we paid for two nights, my wife refused to stay another night and we left the next day. No refund offered. Another thing to consider is that there is no cellphone signal nor is there a phone in the cabin, so in case of emergency you're in big trouble. Also the drive to the cabin is not for the faint of heart, it is a long, twisty one lane mountain road with a deep drop on the side, very dangerous. There were many lodging options available, we went by the pictures on their website an made a poor choice.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2008

My husband and I stayed at Ranch Champagne cabin #3 for our honeymoon in September 2008. The cabin was very cozy and included all of the amenities we needed to enjoy our stay (small fridge, electric stove top, outdoor barbeque grill, comfortable bed). The surroundings were beautiful and we very much enjoyed the town of Three Rivers and Sequoia Nat’l Park. Of all the “middle-of-nowhere” trips we have taken, this was by far one of the most amazing. Unfortunately, there are a few things that tainted our stay and for these reasons we will not return to Ranch Champagne.

First, when we arrived there were mouse droppings on the counter and in the sink. We fully understood we were in the countryside, however, we were surprised by this unexpected filth.

Secondly, while cabin #3 does sit off by itself, a Ranch Champagne employee has a trailer home about 30 yards from the cabin’s large bedside window, so it was not as private as we had expected. My recommendations to the owners would be to install some sort of privacy fence or even a tree or vine between cabin #3 and the employee’s trailer so when guests are in bed they can relax and enjoy the privacy.

Lastly, we accidentally left behind our camera battery charger and cell phone charger. We promptly called the owners a few hours after our departure and asked that they grab the chargers before the next guest arrived, which was 48 hours later. Alas, our request was ignored and the new guests took home our chargers. Fortunately, the guests realized their mistake and quickly returned the chargers to Ranch Champagne. However, despite all attempts to have our chargers mailed to us (we even provided a self-addressed and prepaid US Postal Priority box), nearly two months later we still have not received our chargers and all the while have been unable to use our cell phone or camera. Given all of the attempts to make this process as easy as possible, we have been completely ignored. We have given up hope that our chargers will be returned and now we will have to pay nearly $100 to replace both of them.

  • Liked — Beautiful scenery, inexpensive daily rates, cozy environment
  • Disliked — Poor customer service, lack of privacy
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southsea, UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2008

This is a hidden beauty.

The cabin was beautiful and the scenery fantastic. I loved this place and would recommend to experience the real Sequoia.

The website was good but doesn't show you half of the amazing views and the experience.

It is quite isolated and a 25 minute drive up a 7 mile single track road but well worth it.

  • Liked — location, views and touches of luxury
  • Disliked — the drive up
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ranch Champagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranch Champagne

Also Known As:
Ranch Champagne Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Ranch Champagne Hotel
Address: Mineral King Road, Champagne Canyon, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Specialty lodging in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ranch Champagne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ranch Champagne to your Saves list