We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A faraway getaway” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ranch Champagne

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ranch Champagne
Save Saved
You added Ranch Champagne to your Saves list
Mineral King Road, Champagne Canyon, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Greenville, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A faraway getaway”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The road to this cabin is truly unbelievable. I am amazed that it takes you to an entrance of a National Park--it is quite a scary drive. It is basically a one-lane road on a cliff's edge. There are small turnouts in some places--but who knows if it will be when and where another car is coming. Because of the drive, it is very quiet and secluded. The cabin had adequate space and the bed was comfortable. The first morning we lost power. We were gone all day at the park and Jamey had it back on when we returned late that night. However, we no longer had hot water. The owners were very nice and did check on us daily. The surrounding parks were amazing--but out there everything is a long drive. I am pretty sure we had a mouse in the cabin with us who decided to store nuts in one of our suitcases--no harm done!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    5
    2
    2
    4
See reviews for
12
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
palm desert
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is the most secluded wonderfully majestic spot I've ever stayed. It's rustic, but not. Cabins have electricity, running water (on property spring, yum), and evaporative coolers, which are just perfect for the location. There's a stove, (no microwave so remember that), a fridge, and TV/DVD/VHS with tapes. It reminded of how a family vacation should be alone, quiet, a billion stars, and pride of ownership. Kudos!

You won't believe how close to the Mineral Springs entrance to Sequoia you are, nor will you the amazing hospitality that you find at Champagne Ranch. From the time you arrive until the time you leave, you are family.

One caveat, read the description. These cabins are up a sometimes single lane road about 8 miles into the mts. It's so worth it. Give them our love! Tell the Solee misses Clarence. Much love to these folks and their dream location.

Room Tip: Ask for cabin number two. It's got the greatest of the great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The cabin was great! The owner Jamey was very accomidating! Had car trouble, so Jamey went above and beyond to make out trip fun!! He has some great corny jokes, and is fun to be around. Felt like we were visiting family!! Mineral King road is not too bad to drive on!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I stayed in cabin 3 during summer of last year and let me say it was a great place to be at. Its a simple cabin and we had everything we needed. The road up can be kinda scary but once you are there you get to see the beauty of nature. Nice way to relax and step away from technology, as well as to have privacy. The solar panels were good although the energy ran out to early because of the air conditioner. In general everything was good. The only thing is that i left one of my movies inside the dvd when the power ran out and couldn't take it back :(. Its a 25 minute way to get to sequoia, and near the road there is a great restaurant which has a beautiful view to have breakfast. Great for those who want to explore nature, relax and have a good time. Can't wait to go back :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas NV
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This was the surprise of the year for us. I was a bit apprehensive about the ride up but was it worth it? Oh yes it was. So private and quiet. The owner was great. The only thing you need to
bring is food beverage and a mellow attitude. We both give this a ten. So different and so comfy.

Room Tip: I say be adventurous and go for it. Close the gate on entering.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Covina, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My husband and I reserved cabin #1 over Labor Day weekend. Two days before Labor Day we get a phone call from the owners saying they have double booked the cabin for Saturday. The owner did get us a room at a near by hotel for Saturday and was going to let us stay at the cabin on Sunday for free. Sunday came and we were talking to the owner before we left and the owner said they would credit back the amount they charged to our credit card (which was for the entire weekend) but it will take a few days. A week later we still haven't received our credit and we called the owner again and they said they will try it again. Another week goes by and still no credit. We called the owner yet again and they said they will mail a check. Now it's been a week and a half and still no check. We have yet to receive any money back from them.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fl
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

The cabin was perfect for a romantic getaway. The were stocked with everything we needed and exceptionally clean! We were there to visit the Sequoias and Kings canyon and the cabins were the perfect distance, bringing us home each night to bbq with a breathtaking view of the mountains. After dinner each night we had a perfect view of the milky way and more shooting stars than you could even hope to see. What makes Ranch Champagne so special is the wonderful staff, there wasn't a need that went unfulfilled, we hated to leave just as much for our new friends as for the beautiful atmosphere surrounding us. We can't wait to come back! I don't know what people are saying about the roads, they are the same roads that lead to the Sequoias so if you can't drive to the cabins then you aren't driving anywhere in the mountains.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ranch Champagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranch Champagne

Address: Mineral King Road, Champagne Canyon, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Specialty lodging in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Also Known As:
Ranch Champagne Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ranch Champagne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.