We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great romantic get away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ranch Champagne

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ranch Champagne
Mineral King Road, Champagne Canyon, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Fresno, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great romantic get away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I stayed in cabin 3 during summer of last year and let me say it was a great place to be at. Its a simple cabin and we had everything we needed. The road up can be kinda scary but once you are there you get to see the beauty of nature. Nice way to relax and step away from technology, as well as to have privacy. The solar panels were good although the energy ran out to early because of the air conditioner. In general everything was good. The only thing is that i left one of my movies inside the dvd when the power ran out and couldn't take it back :(. Its a 25 minute way to get to sequoia, and near the road there is a great restaurant which has a beautiful view to have breakfast. Great for those who want to explore nature, relax and have a good time. Can't wait to go back :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    5
    2
    2
    4
See reviews for
11
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas NV
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This was the surprise of the year for us. I was a bit apprehensive about the ride up but was it worth it? Oh yes it was. So private and quiet. The owner was great. The only thing you need to
bring is food beverage and a mellow attitude. We both give this a ten. So different and so comfy.

Room Tip: I say be adventurous and go for it. Close the gate on entering.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Covina, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My husband and I reserved cabin #1 over Labor Day weekend. Two days before Labor Day we get a phone call from the owners saying they have double booked the cabin for Saturday. The owner did get us a room at a near by hotel for Saturday and was going to let us stay at the cabin on Sunday for free. Sunday came and we were talking to the owner before we left and the owner said they would credit back the amount they charged to our credit card (which was for the entire weekend) but it will take a few days. A week later we still haven't received our credit and we called the owner again and they said they will try it again. Another week goes by and still no credit. We called the owner yet again and they said they will mail a check. Now it's been a week and a half and still no check. We have yet to receive any money back from them.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fl
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

The cabin was perfect for a romantic getaway. The were stocked with everything we needed and exceptionally clean! We were there to visit the Sequoias and Kings canyon and the cabins were the perfect distance, bringing us home each night to bbq with a breathtaking view of the mountains. After dinner each night we had a perfect view of the milky way and more shooting stars than you could even hope to see. What makes Ranch Champagne so special is the wonderful staff, there wasn't a need that went unfulfilled, we hated to leave just as much for our new friends as for the beautiful atmosphere surrounding us. We can't wait to come back! I don't know what people are saying about the roads, they are the same roads that lead to the Sequoias so if you can't drive to the cabins then you aren't driving anywhere in the mountains.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Perfect place to stay if you're going to visit the Sequoias. It takes a about 20 to 25 minutes to get up the one road mountain, but once you get up there the view is perfect. We stayed in cabin three and recommend that cabin to everyone. We visited early June, the weather perfect. It was so nice to live off solar panels in the mountains, It had everything we needed to survive for four days. Stove, refrigerator, big comfy bed. My son is five and had a blast running around outside and playing in the cowboy hot tub. We encountered absolutely no problems, The owner was super friendly! its two months later and I'm still wishing I was there.

Room Tip: Cabin Three best view ever!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California, USA
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

This was the worst travel experience I've ever had and I've traveled extensively and in third world countries. I truly do not know what other people are talking about unless the people who own this place are writing their own reviews. Words cannot describe the "road" leading to this cabin. It is a sliver of a dirt road cut into the side of a hill with a sheer cliff on one side; we were seriously afraid driving it. And yes, it takes forever to drive the 7 miles to get to the cabin. The pictures are extremely deceiving. It is not next to a river--that is about a 1/4 of a mile away. It IS on a dirt road--the same one you drive up only by the time you cross the river (on an ancient questionable bridge after 15 minutes of driving) you are no longer on the side of the hill but on the hill itself so there are other cabins around you--not secluded as the site says. Again, the cabin is right ON the road. And when we were there in September, there were face flies. Millions of them. Terrible! Made unloading from the car to the cabin horrible and once inside the tiny --and I mean tiny--cabin life wasn't any better. There was hardly room to move. We obviously couldn't go outside to sit on the deck because of the bugs, but not sure we would have anyway--what were we going to look at --the cars driving by or the ugly trailer parked just below where the caretaker lived (although we could not find him) or the other cabins around us? It was far from lovely. When I initially called to get information before booking, they did say it was a 7-mile road but never mentioned that it was up a steep climb with only room for one car and the drop off on one side. This is not a minor detail! If you plan on spending time in the park as we were and as I told them we were, this would not be the place to stay EVEN IF it was a decent place (which it is not). We did not stay because the situation was so awful. The owners refused to take any responsibility and would not refund any part of the money we prepaid. So BEWARE!!!

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

This place is very relaxing, mountain fresh air & quiet! Perfect for a couple as their website states. First off, if a narrow winding road bothers you this might not be the place. Road is paved but as they say it is 7 miles, which is great because there are hardly any cars. As others have mentioned make sure to bring what you need with you as a trip into town will be an hour min. Bed was very comfortable & the room had all the utensils / dishes needed with country home touches. Towels were soft & plentiful.
We stayed for 2 nights over the holiday weekend & Jamey came by the first night to check to see if we needed anything. First night was cloudy so we couldn't see much, but the second night was amazing, more stars than I’ve seen in ages. Living in San Jose makes coming here a wonderful change that we needed.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 & 3 have the best decks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ranch Champagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranch Champagne

Address: Mineral King Road, Champagne Canyon, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Specialty lodging in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Also Known As:
Ranch Champagne Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ranch Champagne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ranch Champagne to your Saves list