We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanksgiving Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ranch Champagne

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ranch Champagne
Save Saved
You added Ranch Champagne to your Saves list
Mineral King Road, Champagne Canyon, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
San Jose, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

This place is very relaxing, mountain fresh air & quiet! Perfect for a couple as their website states. First off, if a narrow winding road bothers you this might not be the place. Road is paved but as they say it is 7 miles, which is great because there are hardly any cars. As others have mentioned make sure to bring what you need with you as a trip into town will be an hour min. Bed was very comfortable & the room had all the utensils / dishes needed with country home touches. Towels were soft & plentiful.
We stayed for 2 nights over the holiday weekend & Jamey came by the first night to check to see if we needed anything. First night was cloudy so we couldn't see much, but the second night was amazing, more stars than I’ve seen in ages. Living in San Jose makes coming here a wonderful change that we needed.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 & 3 have the best decks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    5
    2
    2
    4
See reviews for
12
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Silverlake
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Normally we stay at Silver City. This weekend we tried Ranch Champagne and we extremely happy with our choice. Comfortable beds. Good sheets. Soft fluffy towels. Everything in perfect working order. Clean and tidy. Owners extremely helpful.
The only thing I would say is - Remember - this is a cabin in a pristine area - no electric service, no phone service - you're in the wilderness. It's 7 miles in on a winding road. It's another 20 miles down the same road to Mineral King. The winding road had a big advantage - it keeps the crowds away. In crowded California you can't put a price on some free space.

Room Tip: Cabin 1 or 3 are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

We spent very pleasant and relaxing day/2 nites at Ranch Champagne in mid-Sept., while exploring nearby Sequoia Natl. Park. The remoteness and picturesque mountains imparted a Shangri-la character. This was the first that these big-city Easterners had seen the Milky Way in ages. Was fun cooking dinner on the gas grill on the deck, and spending the evenings serenaded by nite sounds and a stream coursing thru rocks at the bottom of the hill, and looking for shooting stars . NOTE: Be sure to bring your food/drink with you when you come -- not practical to duck out to a restaurant or market, owing to distance from town over a steep, twisting road (don't even think about it at nite or in fog or bad weather). Our hosts, Jamey and Kylie, were very personable, helpful, and concerned for our comfort.

Room Tip: Only several similar cabins, all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury Park
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

We drove the 7 miles of switchback roads and realized that we would not want to do that for the following 2 days, at night or more than once per day. We found another cabin to rent for the night and left a message for the owner at Ranch Champagne indicating that had we known the road conditions, we would never have booked with her and to please try to re-book our room. She left a voice mail for us saying that she could have booked the cabin 22 times that day but in the end, she did not re-book our cabin and we were out 2 nights lodging.

The views were amazing and the cabin was clean and well appointed. The space is definitely not large enough for 2 adults and one teenager.

There are plenty of cabins to rent in town, near the river and without the hassle of dealing with dangerous road conditions.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

If you are looking for seclusion and nature this is the spot. But the price is the terrifying seven mile drive on a curvy one lane road from the highway to the cabin. Not good for acrophobia.
Aside from that the cabin is simple and delightful. Everything is new, clean, tasteful,and well cared for. The cabin has a geat deal of natural light and a deck where we spent most of our time.
Warning: buy food and drink at the well stocked market in Three Rivers before you drive up the road. Cooking facilities are cramped but adequate, and you don't want to drive down that hill for a forgotten carton of milk.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

I didn't like the idea of one sink for washing hands (specially after coming from the bathroom) and dishes! The 7 mile drive is tiresome specially after one day of hiking. But the cabin was very clean and the view very nice if you can make piece with mosquitoes !
We drenched ourselves in repellent but nothing stops them.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

This is the best place to stay when wanting to be near Sequoia National Park. The cabins are secluded, well appointed, the owners are friendly and the cabins are clean. They have everything you need to cook a nice meal and relax

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ranch Champagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranch Champagne

Address: Mineral King Road, Champagne Canyon, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Ranch Champagne Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ranch Champagne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.