We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If there was just another choice.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grant Grove Restaurant

Grant Grove Restaurant
Grant Grove Village, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
559-335-5500
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Midlothian, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“If there was just another choice.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

It is the only restaurant in the Grant Grove area. So they have you trapped. It is overpriced and under flavored.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee R, General Manager at Grant Grove Restaurant, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Good day Sir -

Thank you for your review.

We have just rolled out a new menu featuring many creative and tasty selections by our Chef. Additionally, our market features a fantastic assortment of gourmet sandwiches, local cheeses and organic snacks to please any palate.

Please come back and try some of our new dishes like our "Boyden Baked Goat Cheese" served with fresh baked Crostinis and Chef's Tomato Marmalade - truly a yummy dish.

Warmest regards -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    40
    39
    16
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
maui
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Crazy town...avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We made the same mistake as others before us by assuming there would be restaurants aplenty to choose from on the way to Kings Canyon. Unfortunately, this was our only choice, and boy, was it one hot mess. Our server did her best, but it was disorganized to say the least. Food took over 45 minutes, after we had to repeatedly ask for it, and then it arrived cold. The drink machine was broken, they were out of many items, and the burgers and fries tasted processed and far from fresh. The chicken pesto sandwich was pretty decent.
Some of the tables were served more quickly, but the kitchen (which I could see from my seat) was chaotic. Servers were repeatedly asking the cook for food, while partial orders sat on the serving line getting cold. The manager came by to try to figure out what was going on, but she was ineffective. No one was expediting the food. No one was checking water glasses. No one was refilling drinks. No one was checking food quality. The servers were nice but stressed. Not worth your time or money, until someone straightens this place out.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Ok food, and Ok service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We ate here for several meals because of the convenience. It is a nice restaurant. The food is ok, the steak was good. The service on our first night was horrible. Our waitress was rude. We had to ask several times for everything, and she forgot the kids side dishes. Andrew the next night was attentive and redeemed the restaurant.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyomissing, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Food was good, Service Slow”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Our server was quite forgetful, we didn't get everything we ordered. It took 3 trips for her to bring everything and I finally had to get up and get some silverware - she kept forgetting that, so the food got cold while we waited. The food was good.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Better to starve”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Came here with my family looking for a quick bite to eat reasonably priced (barely anywhere to eat in the park, let alone priced reasonable.) We were sat at our table and not greeted for at least 10minutes. Our server took our whole order because we had more than enough time when waiting for someone to even come to our table. She left and we had to wait, and wait, and wait, until we needed to remind her she didn't even bring us our drinks. Our food came out and the quality would be equivalent to a Denny's (nothing special, and bland, might be worse than Denny's.) no one checked to see if we even liked our food until it was all gone. During our dinning, I witnessed people get sat and never served so they left, many people getting up asking for refills. I would never go back and the young bus boy was doing all the work compared to the girl servers who looked lost. The pizza we had at lodgepole at the walk up window was way better!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grant Grove Restaurant also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Grant Grove Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grant Grove Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;