We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok food, and Ok service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grant Grove Restaurant

Grant Grove Restaurant
Grant Grove Village, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
559-335-5500
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Ok food, and Ok service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We ate here for several meals because of the convenience. It is a nice restaurant. The food is ok, the steak was good. The service on our first night was horrible. Our waitress was rude. We had to ask several times for everything, and she forgot the kids side dishes. Andrew the next night was attentive and redeemed the restaurant.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    49
    43
    20
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wyomissing, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Food was good, Service Slow”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Our server was quite forgetful, we didn't get everything we ordered. It took 3 trips for her to bring everything and I finally had to get up and get some silverware - she kept forgetting that, so the food got cold while we waited. The food was good.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Better to starve”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Came here with my family looking for a quick bite to eat reasonably priced (barely anywhere to eat in the park, let alone priced reasonable.) We were sat at our table and not greeted for at least 10minutes. Our server took our whole order because we had more than enough time when waiting for someone to even come to our table. She left and we had to wait, and wait, and wait, until we needed to remind her she didn't even bring us our drinks. Our food came out and the quality would be equivalent to a Denny's (nothing special, and bland, might be worse than Denny's.) no one checked to see if we even liked our food until it was all gone. During our dinning, I witnessed people get sat and never served so they left, many people getting up asking for refills. I would never go back and the young bus boy was doing all the work compared to the girl servers who looked lost. The pizza we had at lodgepole at the walk up window was way better!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Pretty good food in a busy location, but service could stand improvement.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We ate lunch here as we prepared to leave the park. Although the parking area and gift shops were busy, it was not that busy for lunch when we arrived but had picked up by the time we left. There was a large group occupying the back section of the restaurant. Food was fine, but was difficult getting refills and the check.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not a good place if you want to calm after long day”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Decided to eat dinner with family after long day driving through the
Kings Canyon. Seated quickly, but after placing order for food,
our waitress, Tori, just disappeared, she was not on the floor
working tables... After 20 minutes, I asked another waitress to get refill on coffee...
AT this point, we realized we had bad waitress....
My kids order "linguini with extra meatballs" where meatballs were $1.50
as an add on. When the dinner arrived, my kids had a SINGLE meatball
size of a golf ball.. I buy steer meat from a farm, I can get lot more meat
for $1.50. I told another waitress that was close by about the issue, and
she quickly brought extra meatballs.. then my waitress showed up..
Holy crap, you are alive.
Recommendation is to order eggplant parmesan over pulled pork,
pulled pork was actually awful.

Not going to be back, nor do I recommend it, plus it seems to be oriented
toward crowd of 50+..

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grant Grove Restaurant also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Grant Grove Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grant Grove Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.