We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, weak service, things seemed to be in poor repair” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grant Grove Restaurant

Grant Grove Restaurant
Grant Grove Village, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
559-335-5500
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch
Duarte, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good food, weak service, things seemed to be in poor repair”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We ate here for two breakfasts and a dinner. The first morning, we were told one of the two grills was out, so I couldn't get my bacon crispy. Dinner was good, but service was slow. The next day at breakfast, we were told a fire took the griddle out so we couldn't have pancakes. Also, the iced tea at each meal tasted like it had been brewed in a pot used once for coffee, too.

Delaware North has just taken over management so I suspect things will improve; we have always been impressed with their concessions in national parks compared to those run by other concessionaires. I suspect when we return, things will be better.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    60
    50
    22
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Clemson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
233 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Very good, though about the only option in Grant Village”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Located in the same building as the lobby for checking in at the lodge, the restaurant is the only nearby option for meals. Service on our first night was extremely slow. The waitress, Julia, was very apologetic and otherwise very friendly, helpful, and attentive. My trout almondine was very tasty, though you had to be careful of the bones. Cream of asparagus soup was excellent. Service at breakfast and at dinner the second night was much quicker and the meatloaf (bacon wrapped) special that night was excellent. A sack lunch is offered for around $10+, convenient for a trail side lunch. Order in the evening and pick up at breakfast.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, CA USA
1 review
“Enjoyable Dining and Great Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

On the cusp of a corporate management changeover we spent fond days at Grant Grove's John Muir Lodge and ate frequently at the Grant Grove Restaurant. Our servers were always friendly and professional leaving us with a warm feeling about an otherwise good but average restaurant. We especially liked Andrew Perez who really made our dining experience extra enjoyable. A large part of eating out in addition to the food is the experience itself. This restaurant delivered both.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Nothing fancy but perfect for lunch. The veggie burger was delicious! The place was clean, cheery and the server was great.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

We liked the Grant Grove restaurant - the waiting staff were friendly and helpful, and the food was on par with the restaurants in many of the other national parks. I had the chicken which came with a mound of rice and vegetables and also managed a slice of the New York Cheesecake, which was delicious. If you're expecting a gourmet meal, it's probably not for you, but after a day of wandering around in Kings canyon, viewing the trees in Grant Grove, or tackling the drive down to Stump Meadow, this more than met our expectations.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grant Grove Restaurant also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Grant Grove Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grant Grove Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.