We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grant Grove Restaurant

Grant Grove Restaurant
Grant Grove Village, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
559-335-5500
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Bristol
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

We liked the Grant Grove restaurant - the waiting staff were friendly and helpful, and the food was on par with the restaurants in many of the other national parks. I had the chicken which came with a mound of rice and vegetables and also managed a slice of the New York Cheesecake, which was delicious. If you're expecting a gourmet meal, it's probably not for you, but after a day of wandering around in Kings canyon, viewing the trees in Grant Grove, or tackling the drive down to Stump Meadow, this more than met our expectations.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    58
    48
    22
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, Kentucky
Level Contributor
65 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Things are going downhill fast! I don't think this was the proverbial restaurant from hell, but it has certainly earned a place in purgatory. Oh well, there's hope for tomorrow. We'll be in Monterey in the evening and Monterey is chock full of restaurants. In the meantime, to Grant Grove Restaurant, which I am fairly sure is run by a low bid concessionaire with all that implies and is the only eatery within a reasonable driving distance. We both had eggplant smothered in onions with rice on the side. About the best that can be said for the rice is that it was cooked. My wife didn't like the grilled eggplant and I don't blame her. This was burnt on the bottom; her eggplant is much better cooked and flavored. However, I thought it wasn't too bad...put enough cooked onions on any main dish and it becomes edible. The ambience was not good but the view of the parking lot was bearable. For a location trying to trade on General Grant's name, surely they can do much better. To top it all off, the service was slow and the server knew it. She saw me staring venomously at her and later brought a complimentary dessert. The poor service was not completely the server's fault, she had been assigned too many tables. Two stars is being charitable. If we come to Sequoia again, we will buy our food at the general store and eat at a picnic table or in our room.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Average??”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I do not consider myself picky or choosy. I have been known to eat just about anything. The steak I had here was awful. It was charred beyond recognition when I ordered it as medium cooked. There was large chunks of fat or tendons areas. In the end approx 1/3 of the steak was left, not digestible.. To make things worse, they charge my credit card for 2 different meals.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
101 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“There's not much choice if you're staying in the Park”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed at the John Muir Lodge for 2 nights so we really didn't have much choice. The first night we got in late and we were hungry. The entrees were kind of pricey but expected as you are stuck and they know it. Around $14-24. You get good portions though. Drinks were around $2-3.50. We went elsewhere for lunches. For our second dinner, we opted to get pizza to save some money but still ordered a take-out entrée for one daughter who doesn't eat pizza. Her entrée cost as much as our one pizza! We got drinks out of the soda machine.
The day we left we ate breakfast there. Three of us shared two 3-egg omelets and the other one got fruit cup. With coffee, juice & 2 milks, our bill was almost $40.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful way to start the day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We ate breakfast here both mornings of our stay. And we enjoyed each meal. The service was fabulous. The food was delicious, reasonably priced and the portion sizes were generous. Plus, there's free wifi.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grant Grove Restaurant also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Grant Grove Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grant Grove Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.