We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There's not much choice if you're staying in the Park” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grant Grove Restaurant

Grant Grove Restaurant
Grant Grove Village, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
559-335-5500
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“There's not much choice if you're staying in the Park”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed at the John Muir Lodge for 2 nights so we really didn't have much choice. The first night we got in late and we were hungry. The entrees were kind of pricey but expected as you are stuck and they know it. Around $14-24. You get good portions though. Drinks were around $2-3.50. We went elsewhere for lunches. For our second dinner, we opted to get pizza to save some money but still ordered a take-out entrée for one daughter who doesn't eat pizza. Her entrée cost as much as our one pizza! We got drinks out of the soda machine.
The day we left we ate breakfast there. Three of us shared two 3-egg omelets and the other one got fruit cup. With coffee, juice & 2 milks, our bill was almost $40.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

43% Recommend
    19
    39
    37
    14
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful way to start the day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We ate breakfast here both mornings of our stay. And we enjoyed each meal. The service was fabulous. The food was delicious, reasonably priced and the portion sizes were generous. Plus, there's free wifi.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Van Nuys
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“When starvation is the only option....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I am confused by all the positive reviews. I had to double check that I am rating the correct place. I was there with my family on July 21st. We found ourselves having to eat here, since we did not know of any other options around.

The plus side is seating was fast. We got there before the dinner rush started. The place is in dire need of an upgrade. This place is outdated even for a place in the woods. The carpet just looked gross. The menu had very few options, but the prices were not as high as I figured it would be.

The table ordered the burger and fries, a hot dog, mac & cheese, and the fried chicken and cole slaw. There was not a single edible thing on this table. The burger and fries were clearly frozen, the fries has the same taste one gets from fries in the freezer section. the mac and cheese looked delicious, but upon eating it was really runny, the hot dog was over grilled ans super salty, and the fried chicken was over fried and really dry. The cole slaw tasted like it sat with the dirty dish water. All four of us were unimpressed with dinner in a major way. I felt bad for my kids. Without a lot of options to eat, we ended up drinking bottled water and munching on a few snacks we had with us. If you have no other options then it is what it is, but if you have options you can pass.

The service was slow, and I later found out that a cook quit that day. Clearly he must have known his value, because our food was just god awful.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Food was good, service was very good, and we enjoyed the restaurant. The daily specials are definitely worth considering. The grilled, stuffed pepper was superb. The trout, a regular item, was done right. Perhaps we were fortunate but we had the same server for all three breakfasts. Kelli went out of her way to make us feel welcome and to assure that our food was just right! The "to-go" boxes for trail lunches were great; just be sure you specify that you are taking it on the trail so you get it wrapped to pack. This is a small restaurant so you need to be aware that if you come at the peak time there may be waits and service may not be the best. If you get breakfast at 7 am it's a much better experience than fighting the crowds at 8 am; the same applies for dinner in the evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Food was good and not too badly priced. We got there after the lunch rush so it was not very crowded. Sandwiches, burgers, salads, soups and such.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grant Grove Restaurant also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Grant Grove Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grant Grove Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.