We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good options” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grant Grove Restaurant

Grant Grove Restaurant
Grant Grove Village, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
559-335-5500
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Coral Springs, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Food was good and not too badly priced. We got there after the lunch rush so it was not very crowded. Sandwiches, burgers, salads, soups and such.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    40
    38
    16
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Convenient Good Food with great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed at Grant Grove Cabins for 5 nights, so this was an easy location for breakfast & dinner.
The menu is good & varied enough not to get bored in 5 days & keep kids happy as well as adults.
We had terrible service on breakfast the first day, but after that service was fantastic, with servers also offering recommendations on things to see as well as serving food. Such a contrast to Cedar Grove (which was terrible).
Just take one star off because they could do with redeorcating the dining room, it looks a little tired

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“If you have no other option”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

We ate here three times because we stayed in a cabin nearby. The food is greasy spoon style. The service is very slow. It took 15 minutes after we sat down to order. One night the waitress forgot my mom's water and we had to ask her at least two more times for water. Be smart and bring your own food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good Meal, Good Price, Well Portioned”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

One of the drawbacks of Sequoia & Kings Canyon National Parks is that there are not a lot of nice sit-down restaurants. However, if you are anywhere near the Kings Canyon Visitor Center, you have a good meal to look forward to at Grant Grove Restaurant. We had a very good meal at a reasonable price, and we walked away "full". We ate there 2 nights out of 5. It was comforting to know we finally found a place to eat not too far from wherever we were in the parks. The waitresses were quite friendly and willing to talk about what they liked within the parks.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“The apple pie was amazing!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Breakfast and lunch here were very good. Dinner was just ok. The meats like grilled chicken and pork loin were very salty! Fried chicken was very good. Pies were fantastic. We were a captive audience here. Dinner was much better at the peaks restaurant over at wuksachi lodge.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grant Grove Restaurant also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Grant Grove Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grant Grove Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.