We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Daily Specials Kept Us Going Back While at Muir Lodge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grant Grove Restaurant

Grant Grove Restaurant
Grant Grove Village, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
559-335-5500
Website
Update restaurant details
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
This coast or the other
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Daily Specials Kept Us Going Back While at Muir Lodge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Luscious beef tenderloin was the special the first night followed by a jalapeno, ham, and cheese scramble for breakfast. We returned to crumbled bacon in meatloaf with mushroom gravy and had sausage and mushroom scrambles the next morning. Everything was yummy but the tenderloin was amazing. Eating at this restaurant four times over the weekend was a pleasure due to the variety offered by the daily specials.

Things to keep in mind if you visit- it will probably be more expensive than a similar style restaurant in your hometown so you might also consider getting sandwiches at the market around the corner. Additionally, early risers could be frustrated by the 9:00 AM opening time while we were there but the lodge lobby/giftshop in the same building has coffee for sale earlier.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

49% Recommend
    17
    33
    26
    11
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Squaw Valley, California
1 review
“Perfect outing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My wife, grandson (2 yrs old) and myself had lunch at the restaurant while visiting the park on the 22nd of December 2012. Our servers were Keithie and Andrew. Both took their time to engage Gabriel in conversation (sort of one sided but they tried). Keithie was really good about including Gabriel every time she came to the table. This is not seen at all establishments and was very much appreciated. The food was also very good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrville, Texas, United States
1 review
“A Jewel in the Sequoias”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

My husband and I were very pleased with this restaurant. Our food was always great - both in preparation and as well as taste - we had three meals there. All the staff was attentive and nice, especially Keithie.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bywong, NSW, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A grand time in Grant Grove”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Grant Grove and Kings Canyon/Sequoia NPs. Grant Grove restaurant is wonderful. We had 4 sit down meals and lunch to go. All great. The service is exceptional. Especially Keithie. Enthusiasm and personality to the max. Very helpful and happy to give all sorts of tips about the area at the same time as providing great table service. Highly recommend this place. Well worth the visit from our home in Australia.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanger, CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“LUNCH AT GRANT GROVE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We had lunch today at the restaurant at Grant Grove in Kings Canyon National Park. We were very impressed with the service, especially... "KEITHIE" was excellent: efficient, professional, & friendly. She never stopped working, constantly busing tables, taking care of people, cleaning BUT she remained friendly, very professional. We were curious about things and she answered every question in a friendly, concerned way.

We go to this particular restaurant several times a year. We have seen many changes in the place over the years. We think the venue is better than it has been since the 1970s. Hope it remains top notch.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grant Grove Restaurant also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Grant Grove Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grant Grove Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

You added Grant Grove Restaurant to your Saves list