We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Wonderful Breakfast Experience"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peaks Restaurant at Wuksachi Lodge

The Peaks Restaurant at Wuksachi Lodge
64740 Wuksachi Way, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262
5595654070
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Monroe
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“"Wonderful Breakfast Experience"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

While traveling to the National Parks for the first time we stayed at Wuksachi Lodge and booked the Bed and Breakfast Combo. Great idea, the Lodge was comfortable but a little difficult to park at, and you will need to transport your luggage to the building you will be staying at so do not unload your luggage until you check in so you know which building you will be staying at., If you prefer to eat The Peaks Restaurant at Wuksachi Lodge I would make reservations when checking in to the room since reservations are needed and you may have to wait several hours until you can eat. This was no problem for us since we needed to unpack anyways. The food was a little pricey, but the breakfast the next day made up for the costly supper. I would recommend eating here to enjoy the ambiance of the restaurant for the "National Park Experience" and would definately recommend booking the Bed and Breakfast discount for staying at the Wuksachi Lodge. After a day driving to this location, you will need a good, hearty, well prepared breakfast to get you going so that you can explore the next day while leaving the park.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    152
    90
    42
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port orange
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Cold food and slow service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Dinner at the Peaks was just ok. the food was cold and took a long time to make it to our table. Breakfast was better. It was a good selection as well as a reasonable price. The waitstaff were more attentive during breakfast as well.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We ate here as we were staying here, and there was little, if any alternative. Based on that, we weren't expecting much...but we were wrong!

There was a long wait for our table, even though we booked for 8:00pm it was almost 9:00pm when we sat down. We spent the wait in the bar and lounge area, chatting to a couple from San Diego about where we'd been, where we were going and where we were from, sampling the (very good) General Sherman ale while we waited.

There was a wide range of food available, from simple pastas and pizzas, a fixed price menu, and full a la carte.

I had a fantastic spicy neck of lamb dish, the quality and depth of flavour of which was totally unexpected for where we were. My partner was more tired and less hungry than me, so she opted for a pasta dish, which was well presented but a little short on flavour compared to mine. To wash it down, we enjoyed a deep, spicy Californian Zinfandel.

As I said, a very good meal, which surpassed expectations.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Lake, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Worth going too!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Had a table at the window with a beautiful setting. Warm and friendly staff. Fresh bread was really good as was the Lodge Salad with greens, cranberries, apples, candied pecans and more. Main course choices looked excellent. I had the venison medallions with quinoa and green beans. Well done and tasty meal. Carrot cake for dessert was quite good too.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great View, Food, Service and Prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We went here on the 4th of July. We didn't have to wait for a table, even got one at the window. Our server was very friendly, knew the menu well, and gave us excellent service. We found their prices to be very reasonable especially for this type of place. We paid more at the deli at Yosemite. Loved the surrounding grounds and enjoyed a short walk after our meal. Would love to go back soon and stay in the Lodge.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Peaks Restaurant at Wuksachi Lodge also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to The Peaks Restaurant at Wuksachi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peaks Restaurant at Wuksachi Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.