We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, ordinary food and service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Peaks Restaurant at Wuksachi Lodge

The Peaks Restaurant at Wuksachi Lodge
64740 Wuksachi Way, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262
5595654070
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Adelaide, South Australia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Great staff, ordinary food and service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

There's something missing here - probably related to the difficulty in getting staff to such a remote spot.
The dining room is large and reasonably atmospheric, food was OK but not special. Huge serves. Good value fixed price menu.
Hopefully you won't slip and fall on the walk from your room if the path is icy - the walkway lighting is terrible (bonus is a great star field if the weather is clear!)

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

63% Recommend
    87
    111
    67
    32
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Worst restaurant experience ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Appalling restaurant service. The food is pretty good, but the service is terrible: Long waits (20-30 mins) before anyone even approaches the table to take a drinks order, then another 20 mins before bringing a bottle of wine. No such thing as keeping your water glass refilled; food arriving cold after 45 minutes; also,I don't know where the staff all disappear off to once you've ordered, probably the kitchen, but you cannot find your server, ever!

We were told they're short-staffed. However, it wasn't busy when we were in there, and there were three wait staff on duty, for six tables at one breakfast; dinners were busier, but not very. Simply put, the servers are not trained in even the most basic "how to wait on tables". I blame the management. There's obviously a care less attitude since they're the only game in town. Shame on them.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Yes!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

The.Best.Steak.I.Have.Ever.Tried!!! Cosy, silently and sooo tasty place... Would love to come back sometimes... :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice Location, Blah Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Have visited the area 4 times in 3 years and have always been underwhelmed by the food at what is the best lodge in the Kings Canyon and Sequoia National Parks area. Really not worth eating anywhere in either park, but really disappointed that this nice lodge can't offer better food.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Delish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We had two breakfasts and two dinners here during our recent stay. The food was really delicious, especially the dinners. My husband had the trout the first night and the ribs the second. I had the venison (which is from New Zealand, BTW. They don't just go outside and shoot the deer.) the first night and the lamb shank on the second. I would recommend any of them.
We brought our own wine from home and paid the $10 corkage. They do have a fairly reasonably priced wine list but we like to bring our own.
This restaurant is a definite plus for the lodge!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Peaks Restaurant at Wuksachi Lodge also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA

Been to The Peaks Restaurant at Wuksachi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peaks Restaurant at Wuksachi Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.