We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Decor and Relaxing Environment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Peaks Restaurant at Wuksachi Lodge

The Peaks Restaurant at Wuksachi Lodge
64740 Wuksachi Way, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262
5595654070
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Chino, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice Decor and Relaxing Environment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The restaurant and lodge are a welcome retreat after hiking and seeing the sights, my wife and I were here late in the season so the crowds were not a problem. I had the fish and chips and my wife had a salad, both were tasty and nicely presented. Plus, our waiter was very attentive and helpful in advising which trails and sights to visit during our afternoon. We both would recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    120
    72
    37
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Elegant rustic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We ate lunch here and were seated by a window. The view just outside was pretty in an over groomed way. Wuksachi is a half mile of off the Generals Hwy and obviously the owners/developers had to "scrape away" the whole area before they could build the lodge and restaurant. Sadly, you feel like you are far away from the sequoias. Also, there is no outdoor patio and the restaurant windows don't open -- what a shame -- it was absolutely gorgeous outside.

We ordered the grass fed burger (excellent) and the salmon burger. The salmon burger was almost inedible due to the fact that it was charred and dry. I wish the menu would have stated that it was char broiled. I didn't send it back due to time restraints.. ...but I would have loved to have ordered something else.

Definitely the place to dine if you want something a little upscale while in this area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
370 reviews 370 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 140 cities Reviews in 140 cities
269 helpful votes 269 helpful votes
“Decent food – don’t forget to make reservations for dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The Peaks Restaurant at Wuksachi Lodge is located inside the registration building of the Lodge. If you are facing the Lodge front desk, the restaurant is to your left. It is about a half mile from the Generals Highways on Wuksachi Way and a couple miles from Lodgepole. There are not many dining choices in Sequoia National Park and this is the best of the short list. It is also a no brainer to eat here if you are staying at the Wuksachi Lodge as it is a short walk across the parking lot to the restaurant. It is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.


I went in mid-July with my wife and ate dinner here once and breakfast twice. They do not require reservations for breakfast but they do for dinner (at least they require them in the summer). We arrived and checked into the hotel at about 6 PM and then tried to get a table at the restaurant and they said they were booked solid until about 9:30 (we decided to eat at the Lodgepole instead since we did not want to wait). We did make reservations for the next night to make sure we got to eat at a decent hour.


The restaurant is in a good location and the views from its windows are great. It is located near the back of the registration building so the view is generally of nature and not of the parking lot out front. Ironically we did not see any wildlife while eating dinner but did see two mule deer as we were walking back to our lodge near the front parking lot. I thought the food was decent but not outstanding. It advertises itself as a premier dining venue but they fall short in meeting this claim. Their location hurts them as they are hampered by being in a remote location and mountain logistics (they probably have a tough time bringing in top servers and chefs to spend the summer in a National Park). I still liked the food and was happy to eat a decent meal up in the mountains. For dinner I had the rib eye steak and it was good. They have a full bar in case you would like something to drink with your meal (I think you can go to the bar area and get a drink before dinner too). For breakfast they have both a continental and full buffet. I had the full buffet one morning and the continental the next and they were both good.

The service was generally good and there was usually someone asking us if we needed anything. Our server for dinner was very friendly and told us how he and his wife ended up working there. Overall I enjoyed eating at The Peaks Restaurant and recommend it (especially if you are staying at Wuksachi Lodge).

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Exceptional Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We arrived at the local lodge exhauted after a marathon drive from Vegas, following the scenic route. We dined here both nights and found the variety, service and quality to be a real surprise. We ate at 10-15 places across the National parks and this was the best of the lot.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good food at reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

There aren't too many choices for places to eat in Sequoia National Park. We stayed at the Wuksachi Lodge and enjoyed this restaurant. You might need to wait at times. The food is good and the service is pretty average, but the prices were reasonable. There are limited menu choices, but it works well for short stays.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Peaks Restaurant at Wuksachi Lodge also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to The Peaks Restaurant at Wuksachi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peaks Restaurant at Wuksachi Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.