We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy the Food & the View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peaks Restaurant at Wuksachi Lodge

The Peaks Restaurant at Wuksachi Lodge
64740 Wuksachi Way, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262
5595654070
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
85 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Enjoy the Food & the View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Great restaurant. The Chef produces some amazing meals at this secluded location. Specials for dinner everyday; and any of the soups are super, but Potato was my favorite. Desserts are not to be missed either. Make reservations for dinner in advance of arrival. Every table has a good view of the woods/mountains.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    169
    99
    49
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Horrible food. Do NOT eat here. Bring your own”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed at the lodge the weekend of March 23rd and I had made reservation for the Saturday and Sunday nights at the restaurant as it is the only place to eat at this time of year.

The restaurant was quite busy as it was spring break but we got seated around the time of our reservation and out server was quite attentive.

I ordered the barramundi and my wife had the grass-fed new york steak. The steak was cooked to the right temp but was very tough. My fish was only cooked for the top 1/8 ich and then was totally raw and cold. So I sent it back. It came out about 20 minutes later completely overcooked. The kitchen had also taken the fish off the skin and had flaked it into the pineapple salsa. I have never seen anything so bizarre. The polenta that came with it was a solid ball that you could have used for baseball and was totally inedible. The restaurant serves one vegetable with every meal. Which makes it so easy for the kitchen to make it perfect right? NO! Saturday night was brussels sprouts (one of my favorite vegetables. They had simply halved them and then sauteed them for one minute. They were still totally raw and inedible. No one in the restaurant was eating them. How could the kitchen not notice every sprout coming back uneaten?

I refused to pay for the fish and we talked for a long time with the manager after the meal. We were planning on driving 2 hours out of the park for dinner the next night but the manager asked us to give them another chance and he would make sure we were 'looked after'. So against our better judgement we ate there the next night. This time it was my wife's food that was awful. A ball of rice that matched the polenta and a chicken breast that had been cooked to oblivion. It was tougher than her steak from the previous night. The veg that night was broccolini and only the first half inch of each stalk was actually edible. These entrees were all $25-$40 but even if this had been $10 at Applebees I would have sent them all back.

My very strong advice is stay at the lodge by all means but bring your own food. Seriously; bring a cooler, even your own microwave but DO NOT eat at the restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craven Arms, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Poor Food & Undertrained staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We arrived and were initially pleased with reception and our room. We booked dinner for 6.45, basically service was poor, staff were undertrained and we waited 50 minutes for a fish dish an a penne pasta dish, supposedly braised beef. The beef was very tough and I doubt it had been braised to tenderise it. We also did not want to hear staff apologising for being slow as they were understaffed. All in all we have had better pasta dishes at roadside diners. Accompanying the fish dish it mentioned basmati rice - it was more like risotto rice. This was the most disappointing meal of our 2 week tour within the States. We did complain and they deducted the cost of the dish of the bill. However it did influence our decision not to reserve packed meals for the following day.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
215 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Within walking distance from the Wuksachi Lodge, this is pretty much the dinner option at night in this part of the park (unless you are able to go the BBQ during the summer months). And the prices reflect this, with most entrees being $20+. The service was marginal. With that being said, the food was very good; the flavor pairings worked well and ingredients seemed fresh. It was very busy both nights we ate here, so make reservations ahead of time, even if you plan to dine very late.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Get the potato soup!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Early spring is the time to go on this trip! Still a bit of snow on the ground, but is was not too cold. Just cold enough for some of their delicious potato soup and a hot cup of apple cider for lunch. Could have done without the roast beef sandwich...too fatty!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Peaks Restaurant at Wuksachi Lodge also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to The Peaks Restaurant at Wuksachi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peaks Restaurant at Wuksachi Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.