We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view, beautiful dining room.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Peaks Restaurant at Wuksachi Lodge

The Peaks Restaurant at Wuksachi Lodge
64740 Wuksachi Way, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262
5595654070
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Clermont, Florida
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 154 cities Reviews in 154 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Amazing view, beautiful dining room.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

A great place to stop if your traveling through Sequoia National Park. Nice relaxing atmosphere. I had the third pound burger with sweet potato fries. The burger was just ok, it was a frozen patty. Given this, I would assume most things on there menu are frozen. Although they are a long ways from anywhere, so getting frequent deliveries of fresh food could be a problem.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    156
    94
    44
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Need to focus”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

The location is fantastic in the heart of Sequoia. The lodge provides captured clientele. The menu is small so it should be manageable. For the most part the wait staff was friendly, however our server had no developed skills, especially for a pricey establishment. It was a small group of 6 adults and 2 children which kicks in the 18 percent gratuity which implies extra work and attention needed. None of which took place. Server only checked with 3 adults for drinks had to ask for after he took orders to the kitchen. All 3 of the $18 hamburgers asked for well and came out rare ( common for a frozen pattie) pork chops were grilled and lacking much flavor of the apple glaze the were claimed to have and the wild rice lacked any flavor or heat. Kids meal were lacking presentation and desserts were not served because the ordered drinks. The price would be tolerable had the kitchen had any idea on seasoning and flavors. The house sourdough bread was great, but had to ask for butter what a concept. So $170 later we enjoyed each others company and left to snack in our rooms.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Expensive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Staff are friendly and tentative. Lovely views of the forest. The prices though are extortionate!! Salad was expensive, tasteless and very small. I've had much better and bigger for half the price. Salad is $10, burger is $18, Pasta is $18! You have very little option than to pay it, as there's no other restaurant around, and no microwave in the rooms.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Templeton, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My husband and I first came here in August of '12. We were pleasantly surprised to stumble upon this lovely restaurant. We were camping in the park and decided to treat ourselves to a wonderful lunch. Hubby had the black and bleu burger with general sherman ipa and I had the cheese plate with a glass of champagne. Both were amazing dishes and our server Alison was such a gracious hostess. Because of this positive experience, we came back for my husbands birthday Feb '13. We were not disappointed this time. Alison was there again and our dinner experience was a dream. If you like beets, get the beet salad, delicious!! Thank you to the crew at the peaks for making our experiences so memorable!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulare
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Honest review”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The view from the restaurant is beautiful, fireplaces warm and inviting. We also received very friendly greetings from all parties, especially the Manager. We ate lunch and dinner at the restaurant and were very disappointed. The price of the meals would not seem pricey if the food were of top notch caliber. For lunch my club sandwich was served on cold, grilled bread. Fries cold. Angus burger (no seasoning), no lettuce or tomatoes..etc. The best dish was pasta w/marinara sauce for 5 yr. old. Almost went without dinner after the lunch experience...but felt we should give you another try. I ordered French Onion Soup thinking it couldn't be screwed up, and it was good. My son ordered pizza, no flavor, hard crust. Daughter-in-law, trout...again no flavor to it. Granddaughter ordered penne pasta with braised beef...yuk.. disgusting. We each had a bit of the meat it was almost hard to tell if it was mystery meat or what. Needless to say it went uneaten. IT'S PRETTY SAD WHEN ONLY 2 OF 5 DINERS WERE SATISFIED, AND WE ARE NOT PICKY EATERS. "My son's remark as we left was " fire the chef." He owns a restaurant and knows what people expect when they go to a nice restaurant. We loved the area, but if we go again we will take food with us so we don't have another ordeal like this one.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Peaks Restaurant at Wuksachi Lodge also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to The Peaks Restaurant at Wuksachi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peaks Restaurant at Wuksachi Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.