We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Peaks Restaurant at Wuksachi Lodge

The Peaks Restaurant at Wuksachi Lodge
64740 Wuksachi Way, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262
5595654070
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

So, usually these places are ok at best. They know you have no other options if you would like to eat. Read the reviews I expected the same just below average food and service. I was pleasantly
surprised! The service was friendly and prompt. We enjoyed all of our dinners. All were cooked perfectly. They were able to accommodate our dietary restrictions without complaint. We did almost have a situation when they could not find our reservation the first night and next available seating was at over 2 hours later. They found the reservation a few minutes later so crisis was averted. I would strongly suggested making a reservation in advance as suggested on the hotel website. They will also ask if you would like to make a reservation upon hotel check-in. The hotel was sold out and there were many hungry and annoyed people sitting in the lobby waiting to eat with no reservation.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    119
    72
    37
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Average, but the only full service restaurant around”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Terrible service, average food (though you get a lot of it). It is the only full service restaurant in the park. The waitstaff and bartender don't care about service (I guess because they have to live on property and they are the only game in town). They do have free WiFi in the lodge and restaurant.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Bit pricey, but worth it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

A good restaurant in a great park. The best restaurant in any National Park I have been in, well except for Yosemite, and Glacier, and Grand Canyon, and...OK, it's good enough OK.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great all 'round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Food, service and prices were fine. The service was outstanding and the view from the dining room spectacular. Highly recommended.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Illinois
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We must have eaten at a different restaurant then some of these people. Our food was superb and the service was great. My husband had pork chops and I had linguine. Both of us raved about the food. We started our meal with a bowl (really big) of tomato basil soup that had feta cheese in it. It was delicious! We talked about this meal for days. Additional bonus for having mule deer in the parking lot.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Peaks Restaurant at Wuksachi Lodge also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to The Peaks Restaurant at Wuksachi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peaks Restaurant at Wuksachi Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.