We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peaks Restaurant at Wuksachi Lodge

The Peaks Restaurant at Wuksachi Lodge
64740 Wuksachi Way, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262
5595654070
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Northern Illinois
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We must have eaten at a different restaurant then some of these people. Our food was superb and the service was great. My husband had pork chops and I had linguine. Both of us raved about the food. We started our meal with a bowl (really big) of tomato basil soup that had feta cheese in it. It was delicious! We talked about this meal for days. Additional bonus for having mule deer in the parking lot.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    152
    90
    42
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“I can't complain.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

How do you beat tasty, well presented food, friendly and knowledgeable staff and a great view of the mountains from a clean and nicely appointed lodge? I had a great lunch today between hikes and thought life simply couldn't get better. Try the quesadilla's, the salsa is freshly made and the best I have ever tasted.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful view in gorgeous setting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Food was ok, the service was ok, and the price was ok. The view and the setting are the only things that really stand out here. The salmon burger is a little fishy for my taste and the salad was just mixed greens in a bowl with a micro tomato.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancing
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great service, tasty food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Great selection of dishes and wine. Knowledgeable, quick and friendly service (thanks Aaron). Food well cooked and presented (not Michelin standard but very good). Good portions for the price. Tasty local food.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Trying Too Hard To Be Upscale”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We are regular visitors to Sequoia and have eaten at The Peaks at least once every year since the Wuksachi Lodge opened. Sadly, we have found it consistently to be a disappointing experience for dinner but a generally good place for lunch. However, for us, lunch is usually a sandwich on the trail somewhere (unless it is raining hard or snowing), so dinner is the focus of this review. This is especially needed since this year they have removed the one or two sandwich items that used to carry over from the lunch menu to dinner.

This resturant continues to try to serve a "gourmet" style menu and usually fails to meet anything but an average to low average standard of food preperation. Fish are overcooked; meats are often tough; sauces are either bland or over-spiced; vegetables are trite (ie steamed brocoli and cauliflower were the only choice this year). However, their soups are generally pretty good.

The service is very friendly but it tends to be slow. This is easily attributed to a small staff...they all look like they are working as hard as they can but are a bit overwhelmed by the number of tables they have to cover. This is hard to understand given the strict reservation system for dinner--no one gets in without a reservation and they seem to carefully control what times are available.

This resturant is located in a lovely setting, with large windows affording virtually every table in the room a view of the forest. It is the "only game in town" if you don't bring your own food or don't want to eat at the fast-food type deli a few miles down the road at Lodgepole (which closes early except in summer and might not even be open in the winter). It seems The Peaks would do much better with a simple menu of sandwiches and standard dishes (dare I say comfort food?), rather than fancy concoctions with "special" sauces.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Peaks Restaurant at Wuksachi Lodge also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to The Peaks Restaurant at Wuksachi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peaks Restaurant at Wuksachi Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.