We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't slow down!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Canyon Lodge Bar and Grill

Kings Canyon Lodge Bar and Grill
47050 Generals Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
559-335-2405
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $8
Restaurant details
Kingwood, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't slow down!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

One of the motivators to get us and our three boys through the 9.2 mile hike to the Mist Falls (which are awesome), was the thought of having some ice cream on the way back. As soon as we walked in, it felt like we were inconviencing the staff. The place was not clean and we saw an elderly couple treated much the same way. I say keep on driving until they get folks who smile serving $3 scoops of ice cream. I was going to order drinks as well, but after the initial service, we just wanted out of there. Thing is, this could have been an awesome experience with just a smile.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    2
    4
    4
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Redneck rude”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Ranger at grants grove gave me some bad information that there was no gas anywhere but here, not true, but we stopped here for some instant anti Obama tirade and $6.00 a gallon gas. (5 gallon minimum) We were going to buy some drinks to go with our box lunches but passed on helping this person persist.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“nice for eating in the park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

food was good. Staff (Andrew) was very nice and helpful. The only drawback is the hours that meal times were available. We ordered Chicken tenders, Black bean burger and the General Grant roast beef sandwich. Plentiful food and tasty. Good food for a good price.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Ok it's for entertainment only”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I wouldn't recommend anyone stay here (which we didn't) but it is one of the few places with gas near kings canyon so we stopped. Brace yourself if you go. The proprietors are indifferent and backwoods and appear that you are bothering them. However the antiquities, stuffed animals and memorabilia give it and old world atmosphere are authentic as it gets. We had decent burgers and fries outside with Sammy the dog who sat in a chair in front of the fan as we watched hummingbirds coming and going from several feeders. And the gas pumps are equally interesting- oldest gravity fed pumps in the nation according to the sign... You watch the clear cylinder fill from tank somewhere up the hill then they flip the lever and it empties into your car with a fascinatingly imprecise ruler inside the clear cylinder to indicate how much gas came out b the gruff attendant noting where the liquid level starts and where it ended. All gravity. But don't expect much except the entertainment value which is considerable

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
az
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Do Not Stop”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I agree with most reviewers. Absolutely no customer service. Rude manager. Obviously did not want customers. Dirty, cluttered, dark, smelly. Could not get out fast enough.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kings Canyon Lodge Bar and Grill also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Kings Canyon Lodge Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Canyon Lodge Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.