We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was funny!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Canyon Lodge Bar and Grill

Kings Canyon Lodge Bar and Grill
47050 Generals Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
559-335-2405
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $8
Dining options: Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“This was funny!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stopped only for a beverage. The proprietess was busily writing a letter to Trip Advisor when we arrived. We were the only customers. Thanks to her loud conversation with a delivery driver we learned that she was writing to Trip Advisor to demand you take down a negative review. She said she was prepared to sue for defamation. Our drinks were fine but my husband used the restroom while there. NOT SO MUCH! No towels and dirty. So we found her self righteous outrage over getting a bad rating kinda ironic.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    7
    4
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ormond Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“No no no!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Creepy weird decor was the tip off that we should keep on going. All the stuffed dead animals were not comforting. Grilled cheese was soggy. The hamburger patties came fresh out if the freezer. Keep on driving. Bathroom out back made a gas station look pristine.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Food ok, owner miserable!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stopped here as it was the only place around! The owner was so miserable and lacking in inter personal skills I don't believe they can get any repeat custom. If you're looking for somewhere to eat where you are treated with courtesy and a modicum of good manners then keep driving as this is not the place for you! On a slightly positive note the burgers we had were not bad!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
548 reviews 548 reviews
283 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
288 helpful votes 288 helpful votes
“Stopped for Ice Cream”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I have to say I laughed out loud when I read the other reviews for this place because they are so true :) The owners definitely need to retire but that was part of the entertainment. Someone actually asked the wife if they were under new ownership & she said 'I wish!' I thought it was all very entertaining.

They were pretty busy when we stopped & the wife was running around trying to help everyone & the husband comes out from the back looking like he just woke up from his day long nap.
It was pretty entertaining to sit back, enjoy our ice cream & watch. :)

I'm not sure what people expect in the bottom of a canyon but if you want some cold ice cream & entertainment this is your place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Entertaining stop for a milkshake”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stopped on a whim for a milkshake. The owner is a pretty independent cuss and if your looking for pampering forget it, pretty much his way or the highway. Not much of a conversationalist at first but warmed up after a while. A couple travelers came in after us went something like this:
"Do you have soup?"
"Yep' chicken noodle"
"Is it homemade"
"Nope"
"Out of a can"
"Yep"

Watching the looks on their faces was worth the cost of the milkshake.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kings Canyon Lodge Bar and Grill also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Kings Canyon Lodge Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Canyon Lodge Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.