We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food ok, owner miserable!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Canyon Lodge Bar and Grill

Kings Canyon Lodge Bar and Grill
47050 Generals Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
559-335-2405
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $8
Restaurant details
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Food ok, owner miserable!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stopped here as it was the only place around! The owner was so miserable and lacking in inter personal skills I don't believe they can get any repeat custom. If you're looking for somewhere to eat where you are treated with courtesy and a modicum of good manners then keep driving as this is not the place for you! On a slightly positive note the burgers we had were not bad!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

16% Recommend
    1
    2
    3
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Top Contributor
401 reviews 401 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
“Stopped for Ice Cream”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I have to say I laughed out loud when I read the other reviews for this place because they are so true :) The owners definitely need to retire but that was part of the entertainment. Someone actually asked the wife if they were under new ownership & she said 'I wish!' I thought it was all very entertaining.

They were pretty busy when we stopped & the wife was running around trying to help everyone & the husband comes out from the back looking like he just woke up from his day long nap.
It was pretty entertaining to sit back, enjoy our ice cream & watch. :)

I'm not sure what people expect in the bottom of a canyon but if you want some cold ice cream & entertainment this is your place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Entertaining stop for a milkshake”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stopped on a whim for a milkshake. The owner is a pretty independent cuss and if your looking for pampering forget it, pretty much his way or the highway. Not much of a conversationalist at first but warmed up after a while. A couple travelers came in after us went something like this:
"Do you have soup?"
"Yep' chicken noodle"
"Is it homemade"
"Nope"
"Out of a can"
"Yep"

Watching the looks on their faces was worth the cost of the milkshake.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“If there were a "Zero" rating”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stopped in for a late lunch at this 1950's western bar/grill. Middle aged owners looked up with a "what are you doing here?" look. Mrs. Owner, almost begrudgingly, said they were still serving lunch (2 pm). Asked if tuna was made that day, she indignantly replied "No, but it's fresh." Fifteen minutes down the road, I found out how "fresh" it was and was reminded about its "freshness" for next three days. While lunch was being prepared, conversation with Mr. Owner was uncomfortable until he learned I'd served in the military, when he became more hospitable. For all the Christian messages on the walls, the ones missing were "Love thy neighbor" and "Cleanliness is next to godliness".

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore area, MD
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Felt uncomfortable, but food OK”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This review is solely regarding the restaurant.

We stopped in because I was hungry, and tired of the cheese sandwiches we had packed for our lunches on this multi-day trip. The place was empty except for the man behind the counter, who greeted us rather gruffly, I felt. After looking over the menu, which included burgers and other basic fare, I ordered the chicken noodle soup. I got the impression I was taking him away from something he would rather be doing; he did not come across as hospitable in the least.

I thought $4 for a bowl of soup was on the high side, but to be expected when there are no other options for food for miles in either direction. It arrived piping hot, and REALLY hit the spot, but I'm pretty sure it was a can of Campbells' heated up - had those tell-tale squarish noodles and cubes of chicken. That made $4 seem utterly ridiculous, but who knows where they have to go to get it, or have it trucked in from.

The server/cook (owner?) did warm up a little toward the end of the visit, asking where we were from and discussing the weather, so maybe we caught him on a bad day, who knows? I just know that I felt pretty uncomfortable there and was glad to leave. I would consider going back only if I saw other cars in the parking lot.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kings Canyon Lodge Bar and Grill also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Kings Canyon Lodge Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Canyon Lodge Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.