We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Grove Snack Bar

Cedar Grove Snack Bar
108300 Cedar Ln, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
559 565-3096
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $4 - $13
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Can't beat the location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We ate dinner here twice during our stay at Cedar Grove Lodge. (Everything is in one building.) The food is tasty and yes, it is expensive, but consider the remote location. Also, we bought bottles of Ahwahnee beer from the Cedar Grove store. You can't drink it inside the snack bar. We enjoyed it on the deck with a view of the Kings River.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    9
    15
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The quality of food at this little snack bar was as good as any good restaurant. We had trout, which was cooked to perfection, a great hamburger, and the omelets, french toast, and pancakes were excellent. Great value for the money. Cedar Grove is at the end of the road. For those of us staying at the lodge, there is no other place to eat. I was quite surprised at how good the food was.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

It is only a snack bar so don't expect much. Turkey burger was too peppery but vege burger good; beef burger patty of the frozen variety. Dinner stopped by 7 pm and we barely made it one day after a long hike. Prices seemed high but I guess everything travels a long distance. But you can take your meal out to a picnic table overlooking the river.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
“Good enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Check the hours before you go. This is an out-of-the-way place, so limited staffing and limited hours. The dinners come with a nice salad and a choice of baked potato or rice. We had veggie burgers one night, and barbecue chicken the other night. Both were very good. In the morning, the oatmeal was instant, so skip that. The next morning, we had the breakfast special, which was eggs, potatoes, and toast. It was delicious. You can add meat for a couple of dollars more.
The staff were friendly and helpful. The convenience store had It's-Its, which I recommend. The view of the river is beautiful. The inside dining area could use a pest strip, as there were quite a few flies, but that's just part of getting back to nature, right? You'll be so happy here, it won't matter.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Ok, not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stopped here because the options are few when you drive to the end of the road in Kings Canyon. Healthy options are limited. But I will say that the staff was friendly. And that can go a long way toward making a meal pleasant. There is also an excellent view of the river.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cedar Grove Snack Bar also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA

Been to Cedar Grove Snack Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Grove Snack Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.