We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boyden Caverns Tour, Kings Canyon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boyden Cavern

Boyden Cavern
74101 E Kings Canyon Rd, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
888-965-8243
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A 45-minute guided tour takes you into a wondrous world deep beneath the 2,000-foot high marble walls of the famous Kings Gate. Massive stalagmites, delicate stalactites and splendid arrays of crystalline formations are a visual treat. Boyden Cavern is in the deepest canyon in the United States. Open May - October.
LA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Boyden Caverns Tour, Kings Canyon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I highly recommend the tour, We were very surprised to see several families turn down this tour due to the price. 2 adults and 1 child cost us $37 - but it was well worth paying. The tour takes you back 750 feet into the Cavern. It's quite interesting. I didnt feel claustrophobic at all - the cave ceilings are generally quite high (with a few spots where you squeeze through - but not hard). Overall, very interesting,

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    15
    6
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Kings Gold Canyoneering Adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

My wife and I did the Kings Gold Canyoneering trip this week, and it was an absolutely amazing experience. Rapelling down granite cliffs alongside waterfalls, sliding down granite chutes into pools of cool water, working our way down a beatiful and challenging canyon. Steve and his guides grew up in these mountains, and we always felt safe and under control, sweaty palms and racing hearts notwithstanding. An amazing experience that we plan to repeat next year.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very nice cave and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Took the last tour of the day and the staff was still very friendly and courteous. Had a great visit in the cave and the guide even took an extra few minutes to find a bat to show my nephew. We'll worth the steep but short hike up to the cave.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beatiful Cavern”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We really enjoyed our visit to Boyden Cavern. However, we had a 14 year old trainee give our tour and felt like he was not prepared and left out lots of information. Others coming from a previous tour with a different guide raved about the guide they had. Also had the last tour of the day and the shop was closed when we returned. Get drinks and snacks before you start if you are on the 5:00.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cross Plains, Indiana
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“King's Canyoneering Trip at Boyden Cavern”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We did the "full gold" canyoneering trip and it took all day. we did 5 rapels and lots of swimming and rock scrambling. There were 3 guides on our trip and they all were friendly, patient and helpful. This all day trip is worth your time and effort if you are staying in Kings Canyon and Sequioa National Park. We had only 4 days in the park and 1 day was spent on this trip. It was a blast and accomplishment in my life i will always cherish.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boyden Cavern also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Boyden Cavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boyden Cavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.