We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cavern Education” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boyden Cavern

Boyden Cavern
74101 E Kings Canyon Rd, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Caverns/ Caves
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A 45-minute guided tour takes you into a wondrous world deep beneath the 2,000-foot high marble walls of the famous Kings Gate. Massive stalagmites, delicate stalactites and splendid arrays of crystalline formations are a visual treat. Boyden Cavern is in the deepest canyon in the United States. Open May - October.
LA, CA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Cavern Education”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stumbled upon Boyden Cavern on our way out to see the Roaring River Falls in King's Canyon (Highway 180), and it was a pleasant surprise. Guided tours are available several times a day, and is only $13 for an adult. Our tour guide (sorry, can't remember his name) was super informative and enthusiastic. I learned quite a lot from the tour guide about caves and the life that exists in it.

I also learned how horribly out of shape I am. We were warned that the walk up to the cavern was quite steep. This is an understatement. It is a MEGA steep walk up to the actual mouth of the cavern.

According to our guide, Boyden Cavern is a more intimate look at caves in comparison to Crystal Cave. I can't advise if this is correct since we opted not to visit Crystal Cave after touring Boyden Cavern.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    11
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“What a nice tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We really enjoyed our tour through Boyden Cavern. The staff were friendly and helpful, and we enjoyed choosing and opening a geode - what fun! Just note, the walk up to the cavern entrance is rather steep, but short!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse,NY
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Family Adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I took my two daughters 14 and 17 on the upper Gold adventure. Guides Daniel and Forest were
awesome and took great care of us and looked out for our safety. I was nervous about the possibility of seeing rattlesnakes, encountering,poison oak and cold water but we didnt see any snakes and the water felt good. ( Wetsuits are available if you think you might become chilled)
Being down in the canyon was spectacular, and the rappelling was fun. My girls are now looking forward to doing another canyoneering adventure.
Well worth the money. Totally unique.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“pretty neat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

something you dont see every day i like to check out new and unique adventures

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“typical”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I guess that I am spoiled, having seen many cave across the world. This one is less than impressive. The guide was good.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boyden Cavern also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Boyden Cavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boyden Cavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.