We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family hike” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zumwalt Meadow Trail

Zumwalt Meadow Trail
47050 Generals Highway, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Improve this listing
Type: Trails, Outdoor Activities
Attraction details
Toledo, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great family hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We hiked from Roaring River Falls - beautiful scenery, interesting and varied hike. Very little elevation change, a few stone steps. We saw a huge black bear near the bridge and Zumwalt Meadows parking lot. We also saw several deer. Saw very few people.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    9
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great trail hike, even with the kids!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

After reading other reviews here my wife and I decided to bring the kids to see how they would do on this short hike. It went great, they were a little small at almost 3 and 5 years old for the South leg which consists of a lot of granite steps and rocks but they made it through and we all had a great time. We stopped at a small rock beach near the base of the bridge and wadded into the Kings River. Other swimmers and hikers were all very friendly and this was a great stop and worth every minute of the 3 hr drive from a little south of Fresno.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Saw 2 Bears here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Great easy hike for my kids (7 & 9). We saw two bear cubs playing along the edge of the meadow. This is about a 1.5 mile loop. About 2/3 of the loop is in a more wooded area and the rest is along a rocky ledge. Very pretty and easy walk.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Absolutely gorgeous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

An easy hike along the South Kings River. Really lovely views with lots of places to stop along the river and on the meadow loop trail. Highly recommened.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estes Park, Colorado
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
104 attraction reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Easy hike, beautiful views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The hike is a short loop around the meadow. Most of it is paved. Part of the hike was rocky. The views of the mountains surrounding the meadow are gorgeous.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zumwalt Meadow Trail also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Zumwalt Meadow Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zumwalt Meadow Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.