We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zumwalt Meadow Trail

Zumwalt Meadow Trail
47050 Generals Highway, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Improve this listing
Attraction Details
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We took the trail to the right which took us to the boulder area. My husband wanted to use the higher elevation to get a photo of the meadow in the foreground with the late afternoon light on the mountains. Just beautiful. We saw just one other couple the whole time we were there.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    6
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Warrenville, IL
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Great for a Short Hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is an easy short loop trail (well-maybe more like a lollipop); we did it counter-clockwise. It was leisurely and we just enjoyed the views. Certainly there are some more adventurous hikes in the area - but this one is still well worth it...any easy risk-reward.

When we were walking out, there was a woman on crutches starting the trail. My suggestion for someone with limited mobility would be to go clockwise...onto the boardwalk. Starting out on the trail going counterclockwise wasn't difficult by any means, but for someone with mobility issues - you would probably want to avoid this part. Views are terrific from the boardwalk...even some benches to sit and enjoy.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Very pleasant, short walk.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Nice walk around the meadow. I think we only saw one other couple when we were there, so it was really peaceful. The scenery is lovely and the walk was a nice break from driving. There is a bit of rough ground to negotiate, so it might not be good for people with limited mobility.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“my best picture of the vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is such a nice hike. After less than half a mile you reach an old bridge that you cross. On our way back we actually crossed the river by foot as the level was low enough and it was refreshing. A quarter of a mile after that bridge you are on wooden planks in the middle of a flowery meadow surrounded by mountains: perfect. We walked the loop but it does not bring much. Unless if like my kids you enjoy going up and down in rocks.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago area
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Very quiet and peaceful trail; very easy to navigate, but if constrained for time skip for more adventurous trails.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zumwalt Meadow Trail also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Zumwalt Meadow Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zumwalt Meadow Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Zumwalt Meadow Trail to your Saves list