We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting on a gorgeous river” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Grove Lodge

Cedar Grove Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cedar Grove Lodge to your Saves list
Cedar Grove Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633   |  
Hotel amenities
Texas
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting on a gorgeous river”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

Yes, electricity does go out at times, but who cares. The staff is wonderful and serves up plenty of food from the microwave during these times. The rooms are dated but very clean. Beautiful breezes or a/c. Scenery getting there is definitely worth the trip. This is not a Hyatt, but certainly MUCH better in so many other ways. A real gem and not to be missed for outdoor enthusiasts and well as those who love beautiful scenery.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    15
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
14
18
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

Great location if you are visiting the cedar grove area of the park. Rooms were big, very clean. Cafeteria was not the greatest ! Though given the remote location of this place, food was pretty cheap. They even provide complimentary coffee during breakfast ! Check in time is 4.00PM. When I visited, there was no one in the reception before 4'o clock. So, make your travel plans accordingly.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

We loved it here! It stands in such beautiful location right next to King's river. You can hear the water flowing at night if you keep the window open. Short drive to many awesome trails in Kings Canyon. We spent 3 days here, but we were so sad to leave. We will definitely come back! Snack bar was really yummy and affordable as well. BBQ lunch was delicious! Hope to come back soon!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014 via mobile

Let me qualify this by saying I stayed here at end of season...I mean the very last days of operation. I believe that has influence over my experience in some ways.

Let me start with registration. Check-In starts at 4pm sharp - no earlier. The gal who handled the registration was friendly. My critique is not about her, it's about the process. As each guest approached, sheaf to physically leave the counter to go check on bathe status of there room(s). It seems there has to be a better way this. To leave people standing there at the counter. I would suggest walkie talkies or something? I stayed I a patio room which was not cleaned so I had to wait about an hour. Fortunately, I had a nice, river front patio with a lounge chair to sit and wait. The room was small but the bed was comfortable and there was a sink, mini-fridge and microwave which was very nice to have. There was no thermostat to adjust he AC which was always on but there was an unplugged space heater in the room. I actually thought it was left there by accident because it looked industrial, not like a home space heater. Still, I used it one night and it worked. The bathroom was fine, small a but clean and the shower was good. Beware that the ceiling of the patio room is the floor of these snack bar beck. That means you hear ever footstep and rearrangement of furniture above you. It was definitely something I heard but never went late or disrupted sleep. In the summer, I'm not sure that would be the case.

I brought my own food but I did have one cheeseburger at the snack bar. It was thick and juicy on a wheat bun. It was quite good. There is a market which has a variety of drinks and basic food items. They had a River front BBQ everyday from noon to 4pm which seemed popular with day tourists.

I didn't make many requests of the staff but those I did were promptly attended to (extra pillow and to borrow a can opener). The bottom line, I got just what I wanted here. I usually a tent camp but this time I wanted a warm bed and a shower - I got both and they were good. One final thought, just remember where you are and that staying here is about the location and the experience - this is not a luxury resort. I saw some others guest being really rude to the staff who were doing their best and I just thought it wasn't necessary - as their little saying goes, wifi is everywhere, the mountains are not.

Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VT
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

Cedar Grove Lodge is in one of the most beautiful locations I can think of. It's great that there is a hotel to stay at way out in King's Canyon, and I'm grateful we were able to find a room there. The accommodations were very dirty and outdated, however. I would have preferred driving into King's Canyon for the day, doing our hikes, and driving back out to Grant Grove.

The staff at Cedar Grove were nice but not particulary on the ball. The food at the restaurant is mediocre, unhealthy, and expensive.

It cost $150/night. I'd pay no more than $60 to stay there. You're better off camping or driving back out to Grant Grove.

Room Tip: Rooms have very thin walls
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park hotels

Irvine, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

Accommodations at CGL are adequate given the stunning beauty of Kings Canyon, but cosmetic updating of the lodge would be appreciated. Spent one night and found the staff to be welcoming. The food choices at the snack bar were quite tasty and served its purpose: nourishment to get out and see more of the surroundings. Rooms are quite dated and could use some freshening, but appeared clean. AC units are quite loud though and made restful sleep difficult. Water pressure in the shower was nonexistent. But this is all nitpicking; outside is where it's at and where all my memories of Kings Canyon will linger.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

Our arrival was great as we were met by a helpful gal named Diane who made us feel welcome and appreciated. We'd raced the clock to get to the hotel by 9:00pm, but Diane said that she'd always wait for everyone to arrive before she headed out for the night - which showed us immediately that the Cedar Grove had some heart!! The room hadn't seen many updates in the past 20 years...but the towels and sheets were new and nice and clean, Overall, we enjoyed our one night stay but it was the staff we encountered that tipped the scales favorably! Location is beautiful, but quite a ways from most of the attractions of the parks.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cedar Grove Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Grove Lodge

Address: General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cedar Grove Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a glaciated mile-deep canyon, Cedar Grove Lodge is located in the heart of Kings Canyon National Park at Cedar Grove Village. Open May through October, this quaint lodge is an ideal location for travelers looking to explore some of Kings Canyon’s most alluring wilderness attractions, including North Dome, Grand Sentinel and Zumwalt Meadow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cedar Grove Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Grove Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel Cedar Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Grove Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.