We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's about the location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Grove Lodge

Cedar Grove Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Irvine, California, United States
1 review
“It's about the location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Accommodations at CGL are adequate given the stunning beauty of Kings Canyon, but cosmetic updating of the lodge would be appreciated. Spent one night and found the staff to be welcoming. The food choices at the snack bar were quite tasty and served its purpose: nourishment to get out and see more of the surroundings. Rooms are quite dated and could use some freshening, but appeared clean. AC units are quite loud though and made restful sleep difficult. Water pressure in the shower was nonexistent. But this is all nitpicking; outside is where it's at and where all my memories of Kings Canyon will linger.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    14
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
California, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Our arrival was great as we were met by a helpful gal named Diane who made us feel welcome and appreciated. We'd raced the clock to get to the hotel by 9:00pm, but Diane said that she'd always wait for everyone to arrive before she headed out for the night - which showed us immediately that the Cedar Grove had some heart!! The room hadn't seen many updates in the past 20 years...but the towels and sheets were new and nice and clean, Overall, we enjoyed our one night stay but it was the staff we encountered that tipped the scales favorably! Location is beautiful, but quite a ways from most of the attractions of the parks.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This lodge is located deep inside Kings Canyon. Had a room facing the river and the staff was positive and helpful. It is "rustic" but comfortable. There are many trails nearby. It is located about an hour from Grants Grove and another hour to Sequoia National Park. Spent 4 days here and did lots of hiking. Would recommend bringing some of your own food...as the snack bar does offer some hot food (free coffee for guests) but the food is mediocre.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Don't set expectations too high! Cedar Grove Lodge is decent value for money, I suppose, when compared to other options in the parks system. It has a wonderfully tranquil location next to Kings River, though, it does need an overhaul & a deep cleaning.

Request a river-view deluxe room, which happens to have a mini-fridge unlike our parking lot view, no-fridge unit (at least ice was available - bring a cooler!). Walls (and comforters) have smudges of I-don't-want-to-know-what and corners/details of room/bath have not had attention since the Carter administration. When we arrived, toilet appeared to be recently used, which begged the sanitary-level question. At least linens were near-new and/or clean (only a very few hairs not ours). Our heat/AC was broken & rigged w/duct tape (scary), but I was told new HVAC may be installed for next season. Temp swings quite a bit, so during a very hot September (90F, 32.2C) we experienced an overnight hail storm. And only one electrical outlet for the entire room (and one in bathroom) makes battery & electrical management a small issue (cameras, phones, white noise machine, etc). The adjoining door between our room and next door had paper towels shoved into the large gap between the frame and the top of the door, so I could actually see the ceiling in the unit next door and hear most of what went on (white noise machine helpful at night). The only restaurant meal that was really enjoyable was breakfast, though it was still slightly hit and miss, but staff were more than happy to rectify if requested.

Staff was delightful! Special thank you to Christine for late night necessities (much ice, pack & play and linens for our 4 month new baby, etc), Adeline for always wearing a smile (like most staff here tend to do!), and the very kind and helpful lady managing the store. Made our stay so much more enjoyable than it might have been otherwise.

Other highlights were the common area balcony, which is great for enjoying beer, wine, coffee, cocoa, or just for kicking your shoes off and watching nature to the river's delightful soundtrack. There is free WiFi, which worked well for me during our off-peak season stay in late September. The lodge seemed to court a wide variety of visitors from serious backpackers, large and small families, couples (young and not-so), random family groups, and bikers. A good vibe. Prices in the general store are not out of the expected norm, so you can enjoy a local bottled brew for $1.5 (but generic big beer labels will run closer to $4+), buy a T-shirt for $20-25 or T-shirt/hat combo for $21, and you can buy your very own giant sequoia seedling if you have room to plant it (maybe the neighbor's house won't be there in 2,000 years, so go ahead and plant it in their yard)!

Proximity to hiking was nice, but it is a long way in and out to see sights within other areas of the parks. Was a good stay, but would not do so again unless there are slight renovations and I hear the cleanliness improves. Willing to pay more for it if so! A beautiful place to get away.

Room Tip: Get deluxe room if available as they include a mini-fridge. We had no fridge (bring an ice chest oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at Kings Canyon Cedar Grove Lodge - August 15th, 2014and had reserved the room for the 16th as well. The room is very small, somewhat dark and to our total dismay it was uncomfortably hot.

The electricity was out when we arrived around 5pm and so the a/c was not available. We were told it would be on around 6pm. Thankfully we had food stuffs with us, as the choices at the snack bar were very limited also due to the power outage. As the lodge manager explained they had to prioritize what amenities to funnel the power from their generator to.

We heard the compressor kick in around 6:30pm but it remained uncomfortably hot in our room. I called the office and was told that the fans that were supposed to push the cool air into the patio rooms had not been turned on. She said they had been turned on now and we would be much cooler shortly. It didn't get any cooler. It was an uncomfortable night.

The next morning I went to the office to express our dissatisfaction and asked if we could cancel our reservation for the 17th without penalty. Dianne Bland, the manager was quite nice and said of course we could and that we would get a full refund for the night they had already billed us for.

I tried to call the number Diane gave us for the manager, Brandon McCarter about 3 weeks after as we never heard from him but got an answering machine at one number and no answer at the other. Then Katherine called the 8th of September I believe it was and took care of the refund. She and Diane were so gracious and kind we feel like we would like to give Cedar Lodge a try another time. Kings Canyon is so very beautiful, we definitely want to go back and spend several days in the area. Mr. McCarter called a couple of days later and I told him that Katherine had taken care of us. I tend to talk too much... imagine that... but I tried to tell him that overall we're impressed with Cedar Grove. Cedar Grove has only recently been taken over by these folks and if they follow through its an awesome property.

The room does have a small kitchenette which is very convenient. The patio area outside our door was beautiful. I have to say that because of; Diane and Catherine, the patio, the lovely creek and the location I would put up with the small room dark room. We would love to stay there in the future if we felt confident the a/c would work. I am marking service very good because of Katherine and Diane... I'd have marked it excellent but I consider a/c a necessary part of service so just can't... Please do give this place a try. I do think they're going to get things fixed and while Cedar Grove is almost at the end of Kings Canyon... its just an awesome location.

Room Tip: I loved our patio room. There are only 4 rooms I think that open to the patio... so I'm loath t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumberton, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a wonderful view of the River. Great to sit out by it and enjoy a cup of coffee. Snack bar was very handy. Gnats were a problem at night. Our room had great view but ac didn't work. Some great trails in area. Make sure to see all the trails to the end of the road. Else wise it is an hour to Grant Grove and 2 hours to the Giant Sequoia Forrest.

Room Tip: Stay upstairs, not near water. You can still enjoy a nice deck to view the River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This lodge takes a while to get to, but is very worth it. The accommodation is simple but clean, the food is basic but palatable and the location is out of this world. It's like another planet, so if you're looking for a real getaway, then this should be on your list. We met honeymooning couples, seasoned hikers and an amateur astronomer while we were there :). It is in the wilderness, so please be aware that you are in bear territory.

Room Tip: There are rooms on the ground floor which have their own private area, the rooms upstairs share an u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cedar Grove Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Grove Lodge

Address: General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cedar Grove Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a glaciated mile-deep canyon, Cedar Grove Lodge is located in the heart of Kings Canyon National Park at Cedar Grove Village. Open May through October, this quaint lodge is an ideal location for travelers looking to explore some of Kings Canyon’s most alluring wilderness attractions, including North Dome, Grand Sentinel and Zumwalt Meadow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cedar Grove Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Grove Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel Cedar Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Grove Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.