We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Grove Lodge

Save Saved
You added Cedar Grove Lodge to your Saves list
Cedar Grove Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cedar Grove Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633   |  
Hotel amenities
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This lodge takes a while to get to, but is very worth it. The accommodation is simple but clean, the food is basic but palatable and the location is out of this world. It's like another planet, so if you're looking for a real getaway, then this should be on your list. We met honeymooning couples, seasoned hikers and an amateur astronomer while we were there :). It is in the wilderness, so please be aware that you are in bear territory.

Room Tip: There are rooms on the ground floor which have their own private area, the rooms upstairs share an u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    12
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

If you want to stay right in the park and experience the quiet of the wilderness, then this is a great place! The accommodations were clean and comfortable, and the food at the snack bar was surprisingly good considering it was called a "Snack Bar". The store was also reasonably well-equipped considering the location. You could stay here for a few days without bringing a lot of food. The scenery on the way there is wonderful, so plan a leisurely drive there on the day you are to arrive, so you have lots of time to stop and take photos. In the evenings, you can walk right out to sit by the river or take a stroll around one of the nearby campgrounds.

Room Tip: Lower level rooms have a walk out to the river, on the other hand upper level rooms have a better vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My husband and I checked into our room and found old food in our fridge and leftover coffee in the coffee maker. It's one thing to have a basic dated room but it's something else when it's obviously not cleaned. We complained to the manager who was friendly and apologetic and she offered us another room but that one had unclean toilet. This completely put us off that we decided to leave and stay elsewhere. On a 2 week tour in Utah/Arizona/California National Parks, this is the only place that let us down. The standards are very low and the food in the sister King's Canyon Lodge is also really bad. It's such a shame because the setting is beautiful so either camp if you go there or stay in Sequoia or outside the park. I have no clue how this place got such good rating, we would not recommend it.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This lodge may not be very fancy, but it more than makes up for that in its gorgeous setting RIGHT NEXT to Kings River babbling past your window. On top of that, the staff are ever so friendly and believe it or not, even out at Road's End they make some REALLY great food at the lodge! The picnic-style grilling they do in the afternoons down by the river was probably the best meal I had during my two weeks in California. We really enjoyed our time at Cedar Lodge. Just don't expect to do much driving or coming/going after you arrive; the time and effort to leave the canyon make it difficult to use Cedar Lodge as a hub for your park visit. Cedar Lodge has a real vintage feel to it. Wifi was available, but not strong.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Two nights at the Cedar Grove Lodge provided a wonderful opportunity to enjoy camping in Kings Canyon without having to sleep in a tent. The rooms are clean and comfortable with just the basics. There is no TV, cell phone service, or useable WiFi. Scenery is spectacular.Prices are reasonable. There was one incident which, while not serious, was mildly annoying. The room was not made up after the first night. The Front Desk said they do not make up the rooms for guests staying over unless they ask by hanging the "Service Requested" sign on the door. They said many guests like to go out very early to hike and then return to the room to sleep and they don't want to be disturbed. I have never experienced this "policy" in any other hotel. Ever. Housekeeping is usually knocking on the door in the morning, whether the Do Not Disturb sign is out or not. Nothing was said at check in, nor was there any notice in the room, to let the guests know that they have to ask to have the room made up.

Room Tip: It's a small hotel and all of the rooms are good. Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond Bar, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We found a slice of heaven. This place is amazing. We were treated so well. The staff were amazing. They offered tri-tip right from the BBQ that was so good we ordered seconds. The views and proximity to Incredible vistas was breath taking. I wish I never had to leave.

Room Tip: They offer a few rooms with private access that face the river. Nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If I were to rate the experience of Cedar Grove and not just the lodge, I would give it five stars.This remote lodging outpost is near the end of Rt 180 is deep in the canyon and an oasis for the serious hiker and backpacker. Getting there entails an exhilarating winding drive along the mountains edge with magnificent views of the canyon, finally dropping about 4000 feet before reaching Cedar Village. The property is throwback to another era and is nicely situated along the Kings River. The village offers a variety of services for lodgers and campers including rooms, camp grounds, ranger station and visitor center, laundry, showers and a store for provisions. The lodge is dated but adequately maintained and clean. We were told by management that this past spring of 2014, the lodge was taken over by a new management company and perhaps improvements are on the way. For our purposes (a hot shower and comfortable bed) it met our needs. There is no restaurant per se, instead there is the snack bar counter with menus for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The food is good and the portions are large. There is no TV and the wifi is horrible (as they describe it, “we barely have wifi”) so don’t forget to bring a good book and a deck of cards or games. The rooms over the outdoor deck can be noisy; if you like to retire early ask for rooms at the opposite end of the building. The basic room with 2 queen beds is a little cramped but comfortable; the pillows are a little flat but that is my only complaint. The staff is friendly and always helpful, they’ll feel like family after a day or two. I thought the price for the room was very fair. This is a special spot to visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cedar Grove Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Grove Lodge

Address: General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cedar Grove Lodge 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a glaciated mile-deep canyon, Cedar Grove Lodge is located in the heart of Kings Canyon National Park at Cedar Grove Village. Open May through October, this quaint lodge is an ideal location for travelers looking to explore some of Kings Canyon’s most alluring wilderness attractions, including North Dome, Grand Sentinel and Zumwalt Meadow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Cedar Grove Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Grove Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel Cedar Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Grove Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.