We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“August Visit to see the Sequoias” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Grove Lodge

Save Saved
You added Cedar Grove Lodge to your Saves list
Cedar Grove Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cedar Grove Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“August Visit to see the Sequoias”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Our family trip to see the giant sequpia trees was a wondeful experience and glad we stayed at Cedar Grove Lodge. The lodge is very family friendly and a great place to get away from everything (including internet). The trails are easily located and the guided tours very educational.
We found the food at the lodge convenient and not too costly. The store has all the supplies any visitor may need.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    7
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boom, België
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Affordable place to stay in the middle of Sequoiapark. Rooms are small but comfortable beds. What I liked most was the quietness -sleep with the window open and hear nothing but the river running... WiFi did not work but I did not expect it to work in such a remote place.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautiful setting by the river. However arrival was quite confusing with a peculiar scramble by the staff on check-in. The cafeteria is definitely limited and the food a bit of a "last resort." The place is basic and aged, with thin walls and worn fixtures, but the beds were comfortable and the staff were mostly earnest if quirky. Nonetheless, I would definitely stay there again for the setting, the location, and the reasonable price.

Room Tip: I think they're all about equal. Corner rooms might have less noise from adjacent rooms (we wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here since this is the only lodge in kings canyon national park.
The lodge definately needs some maintenance. Old can be charming, but in this case it means dirty and not taken care off. We don't want luxury when staying in the wilderness, but we do expect some level of quality when paying 130USD per night, even in a national park (we had some far better experiences for the same or even less money in other national parks during our 3 month trip in the southwest of the us).
The lodge definately has some potential to be a great wilderness lodge, with a beautiful and peaceful location and nice patio, but than they need to take more care of their rooms and dining facilities.
The room wasn't clean, the beds aren't comfortable, you can hear your neighbours talking, snoring or whatever, ac barely cools the room, no toilet didn't flush well.
The food at the snack bar was really aweful. No need for a first class restaurant, but again some level of basic quality would be nice.
It's not because a lodge is in a national park, they don't have to take care off the quality deliverd.
I would recommend people, wanting to visit kings canyon, to camp and bring and cook their own food.
Really a pitty I can't be more positive about this place.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee R, General Manager at Cedar Grove Lodge, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Good day -

Sorry to hear that you had such a poor experience at Cedar Grove. You are correct it is such a lovely location and we just took over as the management company of this property and have some great plans for remodeling for the 2015 season.

While remodeling is always a good thing- cleanliness and good food should be a given and clearly we fell short here.

I will share your comments with our team at Cedar and use this as a learning tool moving forward.

Yours in service -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north lincolnshire. uk
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely peaceful area within earshot of the river passing by, the buildings/rooms do require updating however the staff and in particular Catherine the manageress and the food assistant Wyatt ? (apologies if spelt wrong ) really know how to make you feel at home and relaxed ...wonderful people a credit to the lodge and the USA itself !!

Room Tip: The patio rooms are simple but once stepped outside all is worth the sacrifice :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We slept in a patio room and could hear the river at night. Very soothing and very relaxing. The hotel manager really understands hospitality and she was a delight. While the menu is limited, we enjoyed our meals at the restaurant. A great stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a patio room to enjoy the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buena Park, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Very old lodge that definitely needs some upkeep and updating. AC was off for a day and spotty at other times. They did give me a credit for the inconvenience. We had a bottom room which had a patio and fridge and micro which is good to have. One day we did not have maid service by 4:30 and had to request it. Only one person at help desk and they may be on break or attending to other problems. Another time we got no soap and the bed spread was just thrown over the sheets. Very poor job of cleaning if done at all on a few of the days. Because the restaurant and stairs to other lodging is on top of the room it is a little noisy at times, but quiet for sleep. Loved the location and the fantastic view of the river and again the price was right for a NP.

Room Tip: There are only three patio rooms so try to request a end room. All three rooms face the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cedar Grove Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Grove Lodge

Address: General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cedar Grove Lodge 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a glaciated mile-deep canyon, Cedar Grove Lodge is located in the heart of Kings Canyon National Park at Cedar Grove Village. Open May through October, this quaint lodge is an ideal location for travelers looking to explore some of Kings Canyon’s most alluring wilderness attractions, including North Dome, Grand Sentinel and Zumwalt Meadow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Cedar Grove Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Grove Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel Cedar Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Grove Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.