We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely riverside accomodations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Grove Lodge

Save Saved
You added Cedar Grove Lodge to your Saves list
Cedar Grove Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cedar Grove Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633   |  
Hotel amenities
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely riverside accomodations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We slept in a patio room and could hear the river at night. Very soothing and very relaxing. The hotel manager really understands hospitality and she was a delight. While the menu is limited, we enjoyed our meals at the restaurant. A great stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a patio room to enjoy the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    5
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Buena Park, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very old lodge that definitely needs some upkeep and updating. AC was off for a day and spotty at other times. They did give me a credit for the inconvenience. We had a bottom room which had a patio and fridge and micro which is good to have. One day we did not have maid service by 4:30 and had to request it. Only one person at help desk and they may be on break or attending to other problems. Another time we got no soap and the bed spread was just thrown over the sheets. Very poor job of cleaning if done at all on a few of the days. Because the restaurant and stairs to other lodging is on top of the room it is a little noisy at times, but quiet for sleep. Loved the location and the fantastic view of the river and again the price was right for a NP.

Room Tip: There are only three patio rooms so try to request a end room. All three rooms face the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our grandkids enjoyed running around looking for Big Foot. Very scenic drive. The grandkids got sick from the drive. have some Dramamine on hand. The river running near by was beautiful would be very pleasant to just sit and watch.

Room Tip: didn't have a TV. no phone reception either. which is fine for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We loved our stay here. This hotel is at the end of the park road. Beautiful scenery! It was definitely the prettiest drive in the park. The hotel was very clean and simple, but the walls were extremely thin. The best thing about the hotel was the river running right along side. It was great to sit by and have a picnic at the tables. At night we left our window open to listen to the roaring sound. The building runs with its end to the river instead of the rooms facing the river. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Get there early, the rooms are given out on a first come basis. They start assigning them on the end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western Nebraska
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Cedar Grove is in a very unique area and also very remote. Considering the remoteness, it was a lovely surprise. The scenery driving to the motel was spectacular. We enjoyed several hikes including Mist Falls, Lookout Mountain and the Hotel Creek/Lewis Creek Loop.

Room Tip: We always choose the upper floor to cut down on noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Scenery driving to hotel and at hotel breathtaking. Many hiking trails available to satisfy different levels of fitness. Food acceptable but basic. Hotel clean and staff friendly and professional. Bring games to play at night if hiking hasn't worn you out. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is the second time we have stayed here in 2 years and we stayed in room 21 - Patio room both times. We love the location and that's why we chose here over the actual accommodation. The room is perfectly fine but they need to attend to the little things like the lights above the bed missing the glass screen so the bulbs are exposed and on top of your head. It would really improve overall impressions if things like that were attended to.
We couldn't get a wifi signal as that was out but that didnt concern us too much, it might others.
The food from the fast food counter was surprisingly nice and much appreciated after a long day. We forgot that there was a microwave as we could have brought our own healthier food.

Room Tip: The Patio room is nice but sitting out will mean you get eaten by the mosquitos!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cedar Grove Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Grove Lodge

Address: General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cedar Grove Lodge 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a glaciated mile-deep canyon, Cedar Grove Lodge is located in the heart of Kings Canyon National Park at Cedar Grove Village. Open May through October, this quaint lodge is an ideal location for travelers looking to explore some of Kings Canyon’s most alluring wilderness attractions, including North Dome, Grand Sentinel and Zumwalt Meadow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Cedar Grove Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Grove Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel Cedar Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Grove Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.