We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the staff was very helpful and friendly. The restaurant was plentiful when items were available. It was very pretty.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Grove Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cedar Grove Lodge to your Saves list
Cedar Grove Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633   |  
Hotel amenities
Glendale, Arizona
1 review
“the staff was very helpful and friendly. The restaurant was plentiful when items were available. It was very pretty.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Our grandkids enjoyed running around looking for Big Foot. Very scenic drive. The grandkids got sick from the drive. have some Dramamine on hand. The river running near by was beautiful would be very pleasant to just sit and watch.

Room Tip: didn't have a TV. no phone reception either. which is fine for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    35
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
22
30
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Seagrove Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We loved our stay here. This hotel is at the end of the park road. Beautiful scenery! It was definitely the prettiest drive in the park. The hotel was very clean and simple, but the walls were extremely thin. The best thing about the hotel was the river running right along side. It was great to sit by and have a picnic at the tables. At night we left our window open to listen to the roaring sound. The building runs with its end to the river instead of the rooms facing the river. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Get there early, the rooms are given out on a first come basis. They start assigning them on the end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western Nebraska
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Cedar Grove is in a very unique area and also very remote. Considering the remoteness, it was a lovely surprise. The scenery driving to the motel was spectacular. We enjoyed several hikes including Mist Falls, Lookout Mountain and the Hotel Creek/Lewis Creek Loop.

Room Tip: We always choose the upper floor to cut down on noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Scenery driving to hotel and at hotel breathtaking. Many hiking trails available to satisfy different levels of fitness. Food acceptable but basic. Hotel clean and staff friendly and professional. Bring games to play at night if hiking hasn't worn you out. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This is the second time we have stayed here in 2 years and we stayed in room 21 - Patio room both times. We love the location and that's why we chose here over the actual accommodation. The room is perfectly fine but they need to attend to the little things like the lights above the bed missing the glass screen so the bulbs are exposed and on top of your head. It would really improve overall impressions if things like that were attended to.
We couldn't get a wifi signal as that was out but that didnt concern us too much, it might others.
The food from the fast food counter was surprisingly nice and much appreciated after a long day. We forgot that there was a microwave as we could have brought our own healthier food.

Room Tip: The Patio room is nice but sitting out will mean you get eaten by the mosquitos!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culpeper, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Wonderful experience! Really out of the way. If you find yourself staying at Cedar Grove in Kings Canyon, you were really trying to have this type of experience, as it is not one of those places you stumble upon easily. If you enjoy the challenge of getting to the end of the road and appreciate nature, go for it! The glacier formed canyon is similar to Yosemite, without the crowds and the amenities. If you prefer gourmet dining, I would recommend the nearby Sequoia Wuksachi Lodge, instead.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yosemite
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Cedar Grove Lodge is the only non-camping accommodation in the actual canyon of Kings Canyon National Park. While it was built along the magnificent Kings River, it was situated so that only 4 of the rooms face the river - a real design error. The accommodations are clean, but minimal. There is a small restaurant and a store where you can purchase food, some camping equipment, and Kings Canyon t-shirts. The hotel was just taken over by the Delaware North company which I understand is planning to make improvements in the property. The Delaware North employee that we met was courteous, helpful and professional. Kings Canyon is a gem visually and a wonderful place to camp, hike, horseback ride and relax.

Room Tip: Pay a little more when you book your room and ask for a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
13.1 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 431 reviews
16.7 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
13.3 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Sequoia High Sierra Camp
Sequoia High Sierra Camp
#1 of 19 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
12.9 mi away
Stony Creek Lodge
Stony Creek Lodge
#16 of 19 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
3.0 of 5 stars 86 reviews
22.4 mi away
Silver City Mountain Resort
Silver City Mountain Resort
#7 of 19 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Grove Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Grove Lodge

Address: General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cedar Grove Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a glaciated mile-deep canyon, Cedar Grove Lodge is located in the heart of Kings Canyon National Park at Cedar Grove Village. Open May through October, this quaint lodge is an ideal location for travelers looking to explore some of Kings Canyon’s most alluring wilderness attractions, including North Dome, Grand Sentinel and Zumwalt Meadow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cedar Grove Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Grove Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel Cedar Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Grove Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.