We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Outdated and Overpriced” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Stony Creek Lodge

Save Saved
You added Stony Creek Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stony Creek Lodge
General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633   |  
Hotel amenities
Bradenton, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Location, Outdated and Overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2006

1 Night Stay 9/29/06. The online photos look better than hotel. So I am glad I was traveling alone and not with my family. There is a comfortable lodge with fireplace so you don’ t need to stay in the room. The restaurant was not operational and only a continental breakfast was offered. They do sell gas so filler up. I had dinner 3-4 miles down the road a Montecito-Sequoia Lodge. The buffet style dinner had a wide Varity of everything and hit the spot 'Good Eats, Friendly Staff". The owner "A little old lady" welcomes everyone and tells a little story now and then while you are eating. The rooms back at Stony Creek are like something out of the 70's, but it was in fact very clean. I felt the $148 dollars paid was to much, however accommodations in the area are limited in the area. I would not recommend this for families, and would suggest the Montecito-Sequoia Lodge which also had a terrific breakfast. Other hotels if they have vacancies. The bed was comfortable, and room had gas heat that keep me toasty.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Everything Else
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    19
    7
    12
    15
See reviews for
16
32
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Napa Valley CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2006

We stayed at Stoney Creek Lodge for three nights in August. The Lodge is in a great location if you want to visit the western area of the parks. It's between Grant Grove and Giant Forest. The lodge could use some updating, but was clean and comfortable. There is a nice continental breakfast included in the room fee from 7-10 AM every morning. The little restaurant also offers pizza and salads (extra modest charge), with the hardest working staff. All things considered, we enjoyed our stay very much. "Wildwood, MO guy" needs to realize that he's at 6,500 ft. elev. and the resort is run by diesel generators. If you want luxury, fork over $175. per night at the beautiful new John Muir Lodge in Grant Grove.
Be sure to buy gas in the valley, because it is $3.85 in the park.
If you're lucky you may get to see the black bear that cruises through the Stoney Creek area on a regular basis.

  • Liked — Location and the bear
  • Disliked — All rooms upstairs
  • Tips/Secrets — You have to go see "Tharp's log" in Crescent Meadow near Moro Rock!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2006

After a night at Wuksachi, this place was a huge disappointment. The motel is actually on top of a general store. We checked in a little early and asked what time the restaurant opened. It didn't. So we had to drive down to Grant Village to eat. Before we left, we asked for a rollaway bed, since we were travelling with two kids and had a room with a Queen and a twin. When we returned from dinner, the store was locked up, there was nobody available to help us, and there was no rollaway bed. When I mentioned this to the staff on check-out in the morning, they said, "Oh, sorry." Our room was tiny, the bathroom was microscopic. The towels were small and thin. The television didn't work until we unplugged several other things in the room.
We were surprised to find a nice continental breakfast in the morning! We paid way too much for this room... the worst room of our eleven day trip.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Front desk closed up and no help available
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay somewhere else
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2006

We just returned from a vacation and stay at Stoney Creek Lodge (6-7-06). From the one picture we saw that is listed in the brochures, it looks very nice, but note that the picture is only the front of the building. The Lodge lists a restaurant which we found was only open two nights a week, and served only pizza. The outside patio looked appealing with the patio tables and chairs, but we quickly found that they were very used and dirty. We were not able to get dinner because the restaurant was not open on the night we arrived. The room was somewhat clean but the bathroom was not in the best shape. Mold in the shower and on the floor, some of the white towels were gray looking, broken lamp in the room, and a window that would not properly close, so it was cold at night. The strange thing is that the management of the lodge closed the building down around 7:00 p.m. and left keys to the front door with the guests. What an odd feeling it was to be left alone in a building with no one at the registration desk. Also, it was an uneasy feeling knowing that you hoped the other guests closed and locked the front door after hours. Anyone could have come into the building if the guests did not properly lock the front door. If I were to give this lodge a rating from 0-5, it gets a -1, which is less than Okay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2005

Spent 3 days at the John Muir Lodge and then three days Stony Creek. Our room at Stony Creek was worn, but clean and fairly roomy. The TV was ok for catching up with the news. The free morning continental breakfast was a bonus and had enough options to give us a filling meal to start the day. The adjoining store gave us the opportunity to replentish our ice supply daily. A good location between Grant Grove (20 minutes) and Lodge Pole (30 minutes). The small restaurant in the lodge was just reopening from winter damage. We did experience the fan noise but it was more like ambiant noise than a major bother. Our room had three windows which really helped create good ventilation. This helped cool the rooms down rather quickly at night.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pflugerville, TX
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2005

The lodges at Kings Canyon and Sequoia National Parks are acceptable but not as nice as the lodges at the Grand Canyon, north and south rims. Stony Creek Lodge lies within the Sequoia National Monument. The lodge sells gas and they have satellite TV's in the rooms. Further, they provided a free continental breakfast.

The rooms are old but moderately clean. I would stay there again especially for the TV as neither the John Muir Lodge nor the Cedar Grove Lodge had televisions. When you’re in the park for a week, you’ll love having a television.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh, Stoke on Trent
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2005

This place is a good point to stay if you are going into the Sequoia area. There is no restaurant there but there is a shop and the staff are very helpful. Two restaurants area a short drive away. We decided to just have snacks from the shop and the staff provided paper plates etc for us and were happy to open wine for us too! Continental breakfast is available which is plntiful. The rooms are pleasant too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stony Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stony Creek Lodge

Address: General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 Specialty lodging in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Stony Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stony Creek Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stony Creek Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.