We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Stony Creek Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Stony Creek Lodge to your Saves list
Stony Creek Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633   |  
Hotel amenities
A TripAdvisor Member
“Not worth the price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2006

We just returned from a vacation and stay at Stoney Creek Lodge (6-7-06). From the one picture we saw that is listed in the brochures, it looks very nice, but note that the picture is only the front of the building. The Lodge lists a restaurant which we found was only open two nights a week, and served only pizza. The outside patio looked appealing with the patio tables and chairs, but we quickly found that they were very used and dirty. We were not able to get dinner because the restaurant was not open on the night we arrived. The room was somewhat clean but the bathroom was not in the best shape. Mold in the shower and on the floor, some of the white towels were gray looking, broken lamp in the room, and a window that would not properly close, so it was cold at night. The strange thing is that the management of the lodge closed the building down around 7:00 p.m. and left keys to the front door with the guests. What an odd feeling it was to be left alone in a building with no one at the registration desk. Also, it was an uneasy feeling knowing that you hoped the other guests closed and locked the front door after hours. Anyone could have come into the building if the guests did not properly lock the front door. If I were to give this lodge a rating from 0-5, it gets a -1, which is less than Okay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    24
    11
    15
    18
See reviews for
23
39
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos
Top Contributor
338 reviews 338 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 164 cities Reviews in 164 cities
258 helpful votes 258 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2005

Spent 3 days at the John Muir Lodge and then three days Stony Creek. Our room at Stony Creek was worn, but clean and fairly roomy. The TV was ok for catching up with the news. The free morning continental breakfast was a bonus and had enough options to give us a filling meal to start the day. The adjoining store gave us the opportunity to replentish our ice supply daily. A good location between Grant Grove (20 minutes) and Lodge Pole (30 minutes). The small restaurant in the lodge was just reopening from winter damage. We did experience the fan noise but it was more like ambiant noise than a major bother. Our room had three windows which really helped create good ventilation. This helped cool the rooms down rather quickly at night.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pflugerville, TX
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2005

The lodges at Kings Canyon and Sequoia National Parks are acceptable but not as nice as the lodges at the Grand Canyon, north and south rims. Stony Creek Lodge lies within the Sequoia National Monument. The lodge sells gas and they have satellite TV's in the rooms. Further, they provided a free continental breakfast.

The rooms are old but moderately clean. I would stay there again especially for the TV as neither the John Muir Lodge nor the Cedar Grove Lodge had televisions. When you’re in the park for a week, you’ll love having a television.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh, Stoke on Trent
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2005

This place is a good point to stay if you are going into the Sequoia area. There is no restaurant there but there is a shop and the staff are very helpful. Two restaurants area a short drive away. We decided to just have snacks from the shop and the staff provided paper plates etc for us and were happy to open wine for us too! Continental breakfast is available which is plntiful. The rooms are pleasant too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2002

Management scheduled cleaning of kitchen fan after hours. The cleaning of ventilation system took place from 9:30pm - midnight. It was extremely loud and irritating. Complaints were made and no apologies were forthcoming. "We have to clean the fan, and we have to do it after restaurant hours." EXCUSE ME but we are paying guests. Don't we have rights?

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park hotels

mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Stony Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stony Creek Lodge

Address: General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stony Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stony Creek Lodge is a modest lodge on the Generals Highway between two National Parks, conveniently located to explore both the Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Stony Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stony Creek Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stony Creek Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.