We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A typical campsite lodge in a park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stony Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Stony Creek Lodge to your Saves list
Stony Creek Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633   |  
Hotel amenities
Oslo, Norway
1 review
“A typical campsite lodge in a park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed for one night in early July. We had two days to burn through the park and we wanted to enjoy as much of the outdoors as possible. We didn't have camping gear with us, so we stayed at the lodge for a place to sleep. We arrived late (but in time for pizza) and left early in the morning.

This is not a 4 star hotel and it doesn't try to be one either. Amy, the manager, and the rest of the staff were superstars - friendly, helpful, courteous. They helped us map out a good route and gave tips and ideas of what to do in the park. The rooms were clean and safe. The location was perfect. We had pizza and beer for dinner while chatting with other guests. Then in the morning we enjoyed a simple "Super 8" type breakfast, filled up the tank in the car and headed out.

The lodge is not fancy, but I also didn't expect it to be. Honestly, it reminded me of many of the 'lodges' found in various parks across the USA. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    27
    13
    17
    21
See reviews for
27
43
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bodegraven
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

In the middle of Kings Canyon and Sequoia very convenient location to stay. Room had a small bathroom, bed and tv and that's it. Mainly young staff, but kind. Small supermarket on the ground floor for supplies. Had great diner at Montecito, buffet style with lots of choices. Mention your stay in Stony Creek and you will receive discount.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We booked this lodge last minute with the park reservation, ok it is a little rustic but you are in the middle of a park and it is an experience, the room was cosy and warm. I must admit I was a little surprised that they only served pizza as the leaflet we were given stated a family restaurant but the staff were so accommodating it was fine we sat with other guests by the big log fire and we even had a snow shower! Breakfast was fine to set you up for the day, the best thing about this place were the staff they were helpful and friendly, don't go expecting luxury but it was fun.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Considering that we were in the middle of Sequoia Park, we should be happy with this accommodation. But in reality the hotel is kind of depressing, at least at the mid of September. The room was very tiny, not very clean and the restaurant is in fact a very simple pizza place closing at 6.30 PM. The "general store" is closing at 7PM and there is no much of items to buy. The hotel is located a few feet away from the park main roadway (General's Highway) and it ruins feeling of being inside the park. The room service was very limited and practically only thing done was emptied the garbage baskets. In our room there was still remnants of the previous guests in coffee maker when we moved in. It is probably better than staying in the tent but I would prefer higher price and better service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park hotels

Benicia, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Nice basic hotel in the beautiful Sequoia National Park. Very friendly staff! Went above and beyond to make our stay very pleasant! Great continental breakfast, more variety of breakfast items than most.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Stony Creek is ideally situated for visiting Kings Canyon and Sequoia Nat Parks - as it's mid way between the two. The rooms are mainly upstairs, have large screen TVs and there is WiFi. They also have en suite shower rooms, which are modern and there was no problem with the water heating up on the three days we were there. This is not a 5 star luxury hotel, so don't expect it -but we found it more than comparable to accommodation in the other National Parks (eg Yellowstone Canyon or Xanterra at Grand Canyon), and the staff was friendly, helpful and informative. The continental breakfast is good, with a wide selection of cereal, breads, yogurts, teas etc. There is an on site pizza restaurant, and as other reviews have noted this does close at 730. However, guests do qualify for a discount at some of the other restaurants in Kings Canyon/Sequoia, including the one at Grant Village, which is reasonably close, has a good selection of meals on offer and is open later. There is also an on site shop with souvenirs and supplies of food and beers for campers/picnics etc. so, ignore the negative reviews, we would happily stay here again, especially as we saw some bears at nearby Moro Rock, and enjoyed Grant Grove, Stump Meadow, and Hume lake - and after all, it's the spender of the parks you come for.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Our family of 5 stayed at the lodge in August 2013. The room had two queen beds and a twin which aptly accommodated us and the kids. The room was very clean and while it overlooked the parking lot, it was quiet - even with folks coming in and out of the lodge. A continental breakfast was included - coffee, juices, cereal and packaged muffins. The lodge is located in the national forest and roughly 20-25 minutes drive from Lodgepole and Grant Grove villages. The rest of our group stayed at the Stoney Creek Campground, so this lodge was the perfect base camp to spend the day with them and visit the two parks. The staff at Stony Creek were phenomenal. They were cheerful at check in and throughout our stay. They even went the extra mile to trek to Grant Grove Village in order to overnight a camera we left behind. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
2.8 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 440 reviews
6.2 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,532 reviews
8.6 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#6 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 stars 209 reviews
12.9 mi away
Cedar Grove Lodge
Cedar Grove Lodge
#4 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 76 reviews
17.8 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stony Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stony Creek Lodge

Address: General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stony Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stony Creek Lodge is a modest lodge on the Generals Highway between two National Parks, conveniently located to explore both the Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Stony Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stony Creek Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stony Creek Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.