We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good basic hotel with great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stony Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Stony Creek Lodge to your Saves list
Stony Creek Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633   |  
Hotel amenities
Benicia, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Good basic hotel with great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Nice basic hotel in the beautiful Sequoia National Park. Very friendly staff! Went above and beyond to make our stay very pleasant! Great continental breakfast, more variety of breakfast items than most.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    27
    12
    15
    19
See reviews for
24
42
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Stony Creek is ideally situated for visiting Kings Canyon and Sequoia Nat Parks - as it's mid way between the two. The rooms are mainly upstairs, have large screen TVs and there is WiFi. They also have en suite shower rooms, which are modern and there was no problem with the water heating up on the three days we were there. This is not a 5 star luxury hotel, so don't expect it -but we found it more than comparable to accommodation in the other National Parks (eg Yellowstone Canyon or Xanterra at Grand Canyon), and the staff was friendly, helpful and informative. The continental breakfast is good, with a wide selection of cereal, breads, yogurts, teas etc. There is an on site pizza restaurant, and as other reviews have noted this does close at 730. However, guests do qualify for a discount at some of the other restaurants in Kings Canyon/Sequoia, including the one at Grant Village, which is reasonably close, has a good selection of meals on offer and is open later. There is also an on site shop with souvenirs and supplies of food and beers for campers/picnics etc. so, ignore the negative reviews, we would happily stay here again, especially as we saw some bears at nearby Moro Rock, and enjoyed Grant Grove, Stump Meadow, and Hume lake - and after all, it's the spender of the parks you come for.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Our family of 5 stayed at the lodge in August 2013. The room had two queen beds and a twin which aptly accommodated us and the kids. The room was very clean and while it overlooked the parking lot, it was quiet - even with folks coming in and out of the lodge. A continental breakfast was included - coffee, juices, cereal and packaged muffins. The lodge is located in the national forest and roughly 20-25 minutes drive from Lodgepole and Grant Grove villages. The rest of our group stayed at the Stoney Creek Campground, so this lodge was the perfect base camp to spend the day with them and visit the two parks. The staff at Stony Creek were phenomenal. They were cheerful at check in and throughout our stay. They even went the extra mile to trek to Grant Grove Village in order to overnight a camera we left behind. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, LA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We booked Stony Creek Lodge via the internet. We received an e-mail with directions to the lodge Nowhere did it say that the lodge office closed at 7:00 PM and the pizza restaurant (the only food in MILES) closed at 7:30. We drove for over an hour on climbing switchback roads in the dark. The directions were very poor,but we finally made it! It was closed up tight! Our key was taped to the door. We wandered around and finally found some outside stairs to our room. We are on a 30 plus day trip to the west and have stayed in hotels/motels/lodges/B&Bs for 3 weeks. This was absolutely the worst! There was a double bed and space around it to walk. Everything was very spartan and dated. There was a note apologizing that if you got up early, it took 15 minutes for the water to get hot for a shower. There was,of course, no air conditioning and the day had been very hot. We got up in the morning and decided to get breakfast and drive to the General Sherman tree. The office and restaurant were STILL closed at 7:45 AM. They didn't open until 8!! If we had paid $50 for this room, we wouldn't be complaining so much, but we paid $119!! It was certainly not worth the money. Stay away!!!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park hotels

San Bernardino, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We just returned from a trip to Sequoia/Kings Canyon Parks, and stayed at Stony Creek. I read so many negative reviews about the lodge, I was really scared when we pulled in, that I had made a horrible mistake. I was pleasantly surprised to find such a comfortable and inviting place to stay. Our room was tiny but clean. The pizza was great, and being able to take our own food and drinks to eat on the patio was just awesome. I had read someone's comment that there was nowhere nearby to hike, and I just can't figure out what they could mean. We hiked across the street, and also down the hill from the parking lot. It may not be the Ritz, but it is a perfect place to rest your head at night in the middle of the beautiful mountains. Seeing the people lined up for hours to take a shower made me very grateful for the clean shower and toilet we had. I think of it as "glamping". The staff were very friendly, and gave us some great tips about the area. They knew I was really wanting to find a bear, and they were very excited for me, when I came back and told them we had found one, (high 5's and all). Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We just returned home, after atwo day stay at Stony creek lodge. Had a nice experience . The room though basic was clean and quiet. The pizza parlor had some very good thin-crust pizza. Plenty for leftovers the next day. The gift shop also had a nice selection of wine. The hotel staff was very helpful, maybe a little overworked, but still very nice. The location of the hotel is centered in park which is nice.If your looking for a hotel to hang around all day, this is not the place. If your looking clean quiet room to rest up after a day of hiking this is the place.P.S. Had dinner at Watsuchi Lodge. 100 dollars. Nice. The pizza parlor 25 dollars. Wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here on our way back from a hike before getting to our campsite in Lodgepole. We saw they had pizza. So we thought we'd treat ourselves and save cooking on the grill for one night. There was only 1 table seated, eating. A couple in from of us waiting for a cashier. After 5 minutes, I told them to ring the bell (they were German I think). They did. Up until this point I was fairly patient. I'm on vacation. I'm relaxed. And I realize there can be staff shortages. So a few minutes later a very disgruntled employee comes from the back. She rings up their order (just a beer and a water!!!). She hastily took of the bottle cap from the beer, handed it to the guy. Three the cap in the floor in disgust and went to the back. Yes, we were in line. We would have liked to order pizza. After 7 more minutes, we just left. No one wanted to take our order!! Ridiculous! As we left, the lady at the cash register for the store said everything ok? I said the lady never came back to take our order. She said what? She left?! We said yes, and left. AVOID THIS PLACE!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Stony Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stony Creek Lodge

Address: General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stony Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stony Creek Lodge is a modest lodge on the Generals Highway between two National Parks, conveniently located to explore both the Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Stony Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stony Creek Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stony Creek Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.