We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and location make this a perfect national park base camp” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stony Creek Lodge

Save Saved
You added Stony Creek Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Stony Creek Lodge
General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633   |  
Hotel amenities
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Excellent service and location make this a perfect national park base camp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Our family of 5 stayed at the lodge in August 2013. The room had two queen beds and a twin which aptly accommodated us and the kids. The room was very clean and while it overlooked the parking lot, it was quiet - even with folks coming in and out of the lodge. A continental breakfast was included - coffee, juices, cereal and packaged muffins. The lodge is located in the national forest and roughly 20-25 minutes drive from Lodgepole and Grant Grove villages. The rest of our group stayed at the Stoney Creek Campground, so this lodge was the perfect base camp to spend the day with them and visit the two parks. The staff at Stony Creek were phenomenal. They were cheerful at check in and throughout our stay. They even went the extra mile to trek to Grant Grove Village in order to overnight a camera we left behind. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    18
    7
    12
    15
See reviews for
16
31
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, LA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We booked Stony Creek Lodge via the internet. We received an e-mail with directions to the lodge Nowhere did it say that the lodge office closed at 7:00 PM and the pizza restaurant (the only food in MILES) closed at 7:30. We drove for over an hour on climbing switchback roads in the dark. The directions were very poor,but we finally made it! It was closed up tight! Our key was taped to the door. We wandered around and finally found some outside stairs to our room. We are on a 30 plus day trip to the west and have stayed in hotels/motels/lodges/B&Bs for 3 weeks. This was absolutely the worst! There was a double bed and space around it to walk. Everything was very spartan and dated. There was a note apologizing that if you got up early, it took 15 minutes for the water to get hot for a shower. There was,of course, no air conditioning and the day had been very hot. We got up in the morning and decided to get breakfast and drive to the General Sherman tree. The office and restaurant were STILL closed at 7:45 AM. They didn't open until 8!! If we had paid $50 for this room, we wouldn't be complaining so much, but we paid $119!! It was certainly not worth the money. Stay away!!!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bernardino, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We just returned from a trip to Sequoia/Kings Canyon Parks, and stayed at Stony Creek. I read so many negative reviews about the lodge, I was really scared when we pulled in, that I had made a horrible mistake. I was pleasantly surprised to find such a comfortable and inviting place to stay. Our room was tiny but clean. The pizza was great, and being able to take our own food and drinks to eat on the patio was just awesome. I had read someone's comment that there was nowhere nearby to hike, and I just can't figure out what they could mean. We hiked across the street, and also down the hill from the parking lot. It may not be the Ritz, but it is a perfect place to rest your head at night in the middle of the beautiful mountains. Seeing the people lined up for hours to take a shower made me very grateful for the clean shower and toilet we had. I think of it as "glamping". The staff were very friendly, and gave us some great tips about the area. They knew I was really wanting to find a bear, and they were very excited for me, when I came back and told them we had found one, (high 5's and all). Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We just returned home, after atwo day stay at Stony creek lodge. Had a nice experience . The room though basic was clean and quiet. The pizza parlor had some very good thin-crust pizza. Plenty for leftovers the next day. The gift shop also had a nice selection of wine. The hotel staff was very helpful, maybe a little overworked, but still very nice. The location of the hotel is centered in park which is nice.If your looking for a hotel to hang around all day, this is not the place. If your looking clean quiet room to rest up after a day of hiking this is the place.P.S. Had dinner at Watsuchi Lodge. 100 dollars. Nice. The pizza parlor 25 dollars. Wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here on our way back from a hike before getting to our campsite in Lodgepole. We saw they had pizza. So we thought we'd treat ourselves and save cooking on the grill for one night. There was only 1 table seated, eating. A couple in from of us waiting for a cashier. After 5 minutes, I told them to ring the bell (they were German I think). They did. Up until this point I was fairly patient. I'm on vacation. I'm relaxed. And I realize there can be staff shortages. So a few minutes later a very disgruntled employee comes from the back. She rings up their order (just a beer and a water!!!). She hastily took of the bottle cap from the beer, handed it to the guy. Three the cap in the floor in disgust and went to the back. Yes, we were in line. We would have liked to order pizza. After 7 more minutes, we just left. No one wanted to take our order!! Ridiculous! As we left, the lady at the cash register for the store said everything ok? I said the lady never came back to take our order. She said what? She left?! We said yes, and left. AVOID THIS PLACE!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Extremely loud! The rooms are small and have no fridge or microwave. The showers are always cold. Front desk staff treated us very poorly and didn't bother to look at their paper work to verify our reservation and gave us the shoulder shrug. Extremely unpleasant. It is filled with screaming kids that will not let you sleep at night.

The drive is very far also from the nearest attractions.

Room Tip: Do not even think about going here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We would strongly advise anyone to save their hard earned money and avoid this overpriced dump. Either rough it and camp or stay at the infinitely superior Watsuchi Lodge down the road. Sequoia National park is stunning but everything else sucks about the grandly and misleadingly named Stony Creek Lodge. The staff at reception were utterly bored and managed to check us into the wrong room later incurring the wrath of an outraged customer. There seems to be no one in charge. The décor and furniture are tired and shabby. The staff are disinterested. The price is grossly inflated for the little you get. On one night an inconsiderate employee decided to use an incredibly noisy leaf blower till 8pm. The so called restaurant sells pizza, nothing else and closes at 7.30 pm. The whole place looks and feels past it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stony Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stony Creek Lodge

Also Known As:
Stony Creek Hotel
Stony Creek Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Address: General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 Specialty lodging in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Stony Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stony Creek Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.