We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stony Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Stony Creek Lodge to your Saves list
Stony Creek Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633   |  
Hotel amenities
Montgomery, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This facility really doesn't have that much going for it other than its location. It IS located between Sequoia National Park and Kings Canyon National Park, that should be your main reason for deciding to stay here. We stayed here for two nights and had a nice oppurtunity to explore both National Parks without the long drives back and forth from Visalia or Fresno. The lodge itself is clean generally, the staff was friendly enough and the pizza from the restaurant was actually delicious. I recommend ordering your pizza a little earlier than you might think neccessary because it takes almost an hour to get it and one night we were there, they closed the restaurant earlier than its posted hours to the disappointment of some guests. The room was small but adequate. The bed was comfortable enough but nothing to write about. The heat in our room was virtually non-existant. It definately got cold at night and with the heat at full blast it felt pretty much like a mouse breathing on your foot. The water is cold only. Claims of letting the water run for ten or fifteen minutes to get warm water are, in our experiance, unfounded. (Although, one morning we found a window of about fifteen minutes where we briefly had warmer than cold water.) Ice is difficult to get after hours as there is no ice machine available for guests. The tv is a small 16 inch antiquated analog box set which gets only limited channels. During our two night stay the electric went out four times although never for more than fifteen minutes at a time. So there are some distinct inconveniences to deal with if you stay here but again the location is great and they have a gas station on site. Other reviewers have commented on the high price to stay here and it is true that this establishment is NOT a good value for the money. But if you book here knowing that you are going to be somewhat roughing it you can turn the experiance into a bit of an adventure and again it IS a great location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    27
    12
    15
    19
See reviews for
24
42
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The most disappointing stop-over during our 15 day trip and we were expecting more for the price we paid. The lodge accomodation was severely lacking with poorly furnished rooms with paper thin wall - we could clearly hear every word, sneeze and snore from the guests in the next room! The dormatory style set-up was totally inadequate and not too clean. Our TV was not working and we only had one small side light which made night-time reading impossible. Staff were poorly trained and surprisingly were unable to provide us with adequate information on the area. We were informed by the staff that the "restaurant" closed at 8pm. This served pizza. We tried to use this facility on our second nights stay and was told that the wait would be over an hour (there were only six people in front of us!) ... I could go on. Stay somewhere different.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park hotels

Nevada City, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We spent so much time out and about in the park we only needed a comfortable place to stay the nights during our 4 day trip, and this was just perfect. I just had to use the extra blanket to make the bed comfortable enough for me, but my husband slept fine without the extra padding.

Room Tip: Our room was on the parking lot side, second floor, nice view of the forest out the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
163 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

I'll start off by saying that I preferred the nearby Montecito Sequoia Lodge, but if you aren't into the kid/family dynamic, then this is your place for a comparable price. If this place was not where it was and so convenient to Kings Canyon and Sequoia, it would be in the 2-3 star range. Having said that, it is a good choice for visitors to those parks. Also be warned that one you start heading east out of Fresno on 180, there are virtually no places to stay as you make your way into the parks. The place is a little old and needs some updates, but the staff was very courteous and helpful and the room more than adequate. We worried about the lack of A/C, but even on a hot August day the room was very comfortable for sleeping once the sun went down. The bed and bathroom were nice, but the TV reception was poor. Having the store and gas pumps right there are a huge bonus, and the food at the pizzeria was far better than you might expect. Breakfast was a little below average, but was made up for by the view out the windows.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We travelled down from yosemite. Room was OK. There was in ice machine but no fridge. Continental breakfast was included in the price and we ate pizza in the evening. Catering was pretty basic but OK. My kids were pretty impressed to see bear poo in the car park when we left for L.A.. There is a short trail down to Stony Creek and it was really pleasant to bathe in the pools which were still quite deep but safe in August. The kids really enjoyed this

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at Stony Creek lodge three nights at the end of July 2012. The room was large (for two persons we had two queen beds plus one small bed) and clean; the only thing we missed was a fridge. The stuff was helpful and kind. The breakfast basic but food eatable. We visited restaurant to eat pizza once.

Many people here complained about furniture etc. We found rooms comfortable and perfectly adequate for several nights. I recommend to take a room facing north in the summer because the south facing rooms were hot at the end of the day.

The Lodge is an easy and enjoyable 30 minutes drive to both Sequoia Lodgepole and King's Grant Village. The location is perfect but staying in Wuksachi Lodge would be better as most of attractions are near Lodgepole. We once ate dinner at Wuksachi lodge.

The Lodge's small store has basic supplies but is expensive (as in other national parks). Thus, a fridge would be very useful. That's our only serious complaint in addition to the room price which was high in the summer, but there really is not much choice in Sequoia. Staying in Grant Village would place you 1 hour drive from Lodgepole which is too far. The same for the Three Rivers.

We would also appreciate a possibility to walk near the lodge after the diner. As it is, there are no trails in the immediate vicinity that we know of and the only possibility was to walk along the main road, which is not a good idea, or toward the camping site.

We saw several deers nearby and on the parking lot of the lodge. The nights were quite and we felt safe.

We would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Stony Creek Lodge is really just a few rooms over the general store next to the gas station. They do have a small comfy lounge with sofas and a fire place. Continental breakfast was adequate. We didn't try the pizza (the only other hot food for lunch or dinner). Room was comfortable and clean, although as others have stated, hot water was an issue at times. I realize that it was high season, but the price I paid for this room was about 3x more than it was worth (compared to a Motel 6)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Stony Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stony Creek Lodge

Address: General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stony Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stony Creek Lodge is a modest lodge on the Generals Highway between two National Parks, conveniently located to explore both the Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Stony Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stony Creek Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stony Creek Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.